GTX 980 Club - Overclocking - Benchmarks!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Veteran, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,289
    Likes Received:
    4,526
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
  2. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,198
    Likes Received:
    1,938
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    If you OC that cpu to 4.6ghz you will get physics ~ 13100 and that will give you extra points to break 14k


    I get ~ 13450 @ 4.7ghz.
     
  3. styckx

    styckx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    164
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    Joined the "980 club" a few days ago.. Coming from SLI MSI Twin Frozr GTX 680s (2GB)

    Got a straight Nvidia reference 980.. Very first reference Nvidia card I've ever bought. I usually always went with the various other makes.. Nice to have a Nvidia branded version...

    So far.. Very impressed.. Did a quick +250/+500 OC and adjusted my fan curves and it out performs my previous SLI setup.. + the 4GB of VRAM.. Single card.. I'm loving it.

    980 Vs SLI Twin Frozr 680s...

    3DMark 11 Extreme test. My 680s were poor poor poor overclockers so I kept them at stock speeds.. Can't wait to add a 2nd card in a few months

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2015
  4. hansje

    hansje Master Guru

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 980GTX OC
    ASUS GTX 980 STRIX DC II OC Video Card

    Hi,

    Just bought this card...love it so far !!

    I am overclocking at this moment...so far :

    GPU boost at 1500 mhz, rest default also Power Target at 0100.
    Fan at 70%

    Tried running Unigine Heaven several times, no artifacts and a temp. of 63C
    Any good ??

    FPS 150.0 and score 3777.

    In most reviews I saw you have to pump up the power target at 0125 ??
    to get 1500 mhz boost...not me.

    Forgot, PC running at 4.6 (stable)

    EDIT : max stable seems Memory 8064 :) without overclocking GPU.

    So :)

    Hansje
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2015

  5. Halfmead

    Halfmead Master Guru

    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    GigaByte 2070 Super
    Congratz on new toy :) they are nice indeed.

    Most people have power target/core Voltage set so the card is allowed more juice when needed (this will also raise temps if card needs the voltage to keep up)

    Regarding your results, to thoroughly test your stability in heaven, run all at max/ultra , judging by your score that has not been done ;)

    Note: even when you get no arti's/strange behaviour in heaven, you'll need some hours of actual game testing also.

    I did 2 runs just now to illustrate (1 at my resolution all maxed and 1 with 1920x1080 not all maxed:
    [​IMG]

    As you can see, quite the difference ;) and most important, you WANT TO STRESS that F**** for artifact hunting hehe :nerd:

    Lastly, my card run at 75 degrees when doing heaven for an hour, and the reason my mem isn't clocked higher is that if i do..i loose performance, this was the setting that yielded best for me.
     
  6. hansje

    hansje Master Guru

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 980GTX OC
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply :)

    So back to my drawing-board so to speak.

    Its a great card thats for sure !!

    I also noticed a big difference with my CPU set at default or 4.6 !!
    This mean this card needs a lot of headroom, default the difference with my GTX580 wasn't that great but with 4.6 GHZ :thumbup:

    So your MEM is set at 7600 mhz ?? gives better performance then higher ??
    So higher is not always better.

    Nice day !!

    Hans
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2015
  7. hansje

    hansje Master Guru

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 980GTX OC
    Hi,

    Did heaven 5 times...later on longer.

    Mem > 8064 GPU default...also POWER TARGET and so on.

    Heaven with 8xFSAA and ULTRA quality !!

    FPS 90.7 and score 2285

    TEMP. third time 69C after five also 69C ...not bad :)

    I want artifacts ;)

    I forgot TESSELLATION > EXTREME !! 70.1 FPS / 1766...no problem, 62C.

    Hans
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2015
  8. hansje

    hansje Master Guru

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 980GTX OC
    I have done some GPU only tests...rest default.

    GPU > 1500 no problem > MAX 63C

    GPU > 1510 no problem > MAX 61C

    GPU > 1520 no problem > MAX 61C

    GPU > 1530 no problem > MAX 62C

    GPU > 1540 no problem > BUT suddenly 70C :3eyes:

    ALSO 5 FPS less in end-score HEAVEN ????

    Any idea, why lower score ?? a lot more heat.

    Hans
     
  9. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,289
    Likes Received:
    4,526
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Did you check if you hit power target? vrel target? Also, those cards start to step down from their full boost at around 68°C as far as I've read, so you might be getting the occasional downclock for split seconds. Hard to tell without readings and pics of those :)
     
  10. hansje

    hansje Master Guru

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 980GTX OC
    Hi,

    Using GPU tweak (asus) ...it gives MAX power target (monitor) 100 %.
    Maybe the max is 1530, not bad :)

    Also gave GPU max 1580.0 during Heaven, is that a good thing ?

    Hans
     

  11. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,289
    Likes Received:
    4,526
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Well 1530 isn't a bad clock if it's stable for gaming, espacially if you're having the vram at 8GHz+. If you're hitting power target at 100% you see why the card does not clock higher: It would need more power to do so. Try raising the power target with the GPU tweak slider, that's what I'd try then.
     
  12. hansje

    hansje Master Guru

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 980GTX OC
    I will give it a try :)

    I have been running Heaven for half an hour...TEMP MAX 70C

    Both GPU 1530 and MEM at 8064 seem time.

    FPS 75.7 / score 1906

    TEMPS are fine ??

    Good result....or good it be better ?? I red somewhere that guys who hit 1500 with the GPU already were the Lucky ones.

    Hans
     
  13. viper_911

    viper_911 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    msi 980 gtx ti 6g
  14. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,289
    Likes Received:
    4,526
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    gpu at 1500 isn't all too uncommon with the right settings, whereas vram at 8064 isn't bad! Fortunately, the Strix cards seem to have Samsung memory I believe, which makes it easier to overclock than Hynix chips.

    Also, have you taken a look at Shamino's Lair? There's special tools and BIOSs there, capable of working around the voltage limit on the Strix cards. See [here] for further information.
    Of course, use at your own risk, and be safe and edit your own card's BIOS just to be safe.
     
  15. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,289
    Likes Received:
    4,526
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    I've got a question: Does anybody here have one of those 'pro sli bridges', the hard ones from nvidia, EVGA or Asus?

    Because I was wondering if I should get one of those, or just run with the 'soft' bridges that came with my Rampage 5 Extreme. Mind you, I'll try running 1440p + SLI 980s (2way) plus up to 144Hz.
     

  16. shafat777

    shafat777 Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gtx 980 SC 4GB SLI
    I am running the new PRO SLI bridges V2 and they are running great. Also used the V1 that came out couple months ago. Quality products from EVGA
     
  17. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,289
    Likes Received:
    4,526
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Did you buy them after having troubles, or did you just get them for the looks / a 'hard' bridge?
     
  18. LastNightMare

    LastNightMare New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 Gamin
    What do you think about my performance?

    http ://abload.de/img/valley2015-05-0922-38yeuc5.jpg
     
  19. shafat777

    shafat777 Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gtx 980 SC 4GB SLI
    Nope. Never had any problems with any sli bridge from EVGA. Used the V1 for about 5 months, then I saw EVGA released V2 and bought them mostly for the looks. Been running V2 for couple of weeks now. All running great.
     
  20. mahanddeem

    mahanddeem Master Guru

    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Asus GTX1080Ti StrX
    Hello 980ers :)
    I have Gigabyte 980 G1 Gaming with BIOS from January this year(I updated to that myself), so stock gigabyte BIOS.
    In MSI afterburner I see the option for power limit and voltage are greyed out!
    How do you guys bump the voltage a little bit ? my card is not getting stable more than 50-80 MHz on the core and I guess it's a voltage shortage that I need to increase. My card never exceeds 60C when gaming so cooling is not an issue for me.
    Thanks
     

Share This Page