GTX 980 Club - Overclocking - Benchmarks!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Veteran, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Nice nice, see how much you can push your cards, now you have the blocks you need to find away of increasing the voltage.

    Dont bother, hang onto what you have and wait couple months. You can thank me later.:)
     
  2. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,019
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Radeon VII

    Congrats! I love this thing. I've had to spend some time getting my OC stable compared to the GTX 780, but it's been totally worth it.

    I've just one GTX 980 and it rips through games in 1440p maxed out. Even games like Crysis 3, it holds 60FPS in BF4 upscaled to 4k with low post AA and 2x MSAA @ Ultra. I could only imagine two. Maybe down the road.
     
  3. BUFDUP

    BUFDUP Guest

    thanks dude! what score did u get for firestrike with ur OC GTX980/4790K???

    Edit: i got 2 because there is really no point buying just one when my 2 x 770 Lightnings were on par with one 980, so i got 2 and im running a Dell U2711 1440p @ 60hz.
    Gonna get The Asus ROG Swift next week to make use of my new 980's haha
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 13, 2014
  4. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,800
    Likes Received:
    3,790
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Wow... that sounds pretty awful... SLI driver bug, or where does that come from?
     

  5. stigbeater

    stigbeater Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 msi gaming X
    i'm running my 980 with +50mv
    +217 core
    +400 memory
    nice and stable at this since release day.
     
  6. evo161

    evo161 Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 GAMING 4G
    not any res. 16:10 on DSR , why ?
     
  7. Zaytas

    Zaytas Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0
    980 owner here :)
     
  8. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    New to the 980 club :D

    Looks like my card boosts to 1405MHz stock

    73.5% ASIC

    It's not clocking down to idle speeds though, seems to enjoy 1012/1752
     
  9. BUFDUP

    BUFDUP Guest

    isnt it only for 144hz?

    ive read ppl stating that their card would stay on 3d clocks @ 144hz... even at the desktop
     
  10. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    No, 60Hz, but I am using Surround 3 LCDs, maybe that's it

    I am getting checker-board effect on the render test of GPUz though, but not in games or full screen render test though
     

  11. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    1,942
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
  12. mahanddeem

    mahanddeem Master Guru

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Asus GTX1080Ti StrX
    Hello guys
    I have 2 Gigabyte 980 G1 Gaming in SLI.
    When I had only one G1 980, temp never exceeds 70C.
    After I put the 2nd, first card reaches 80c (at full load when benching 3dmark and unigine and stressed bf4 battles) 2nd gpu is around 65C (again at full load)

    Should I be worried about 80c for gpu 1(especially for a Gigabyte 980) ?
    My case ventilation is very good as I see it. 2 intake fans,back and top exhaust.
    Side door has grill(fenestrated), I used 140mm on it(as intake) but HATED the noise and worried about too much crap and dust collection as I imagine in the long run.

    It would be more convenient for me not too mess with fan curve profile(and getting rid of the stupid side fan) if 80c is acceptable and doesn't hurt gpu durability and stability.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2014
  13. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    327
    GPU:
    GTX
    ^ your good 80c is fine but you can get lower temps if you wanted using a fan curve profile
     
  14. Ragingun

    Ragingun Master Guru

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    295x2
    This has always been to my experience. The first ever available SLI setup(6600gt)I had that issue and I also had that issue with my 8800GTX SLI setup. I could OC the crap outa both of the cards individually but when it came to SLI OC it wasn't even half of the OC.
     
  15. D4rKy21

    D4rKy21 Banned

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 SLI

  16. mahanddeem

    mahanddeem Master Guru

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Asus GTX1080Ti StrX
    /\
    Congrats and please share you load temp with your cards.
     
  17. mahanddeem

    mahanddeem Master Guru

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Asus GTX1080Ti StrX
    Thanks mate:)
    I made a custom fan curve in AB, 20% till 35C, 50% at 50C, 60% at 60C, 80% at 70C
    Now my max temp in BF4 for GPU1 is 71C, much better than 80+
    I guess I'll stick with it.
    BTW, in AF how can you know what exact default(vBIOS) fan curve points ?
     
  18. D4rKy21

    D4rKy21 Banned

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 SLI
    With Metro Last Light Redux GPU1 69c GPU2 65C i like the cards very much, i cant hear them either under load, what i think is weird for some reason xD
     
  19. Reddoguk

    Reddoguk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    Guru3d GTX 980 G1
    I was just wondering if anybody knew the difference between the G1 Rev 1.0 and the 1.1 edition. I can't find any info on why there's a 1.1 which is what i got from Guru3d/Giga.

    What i do know with the Gigabyte Mobos is that it's usually either an updated bios or something as simple as a box change or what's extra in it.

    If you have a G1 can you please check if it's a 1.0 or 1.1.

    I heard maybe that the Rev 1.0 came with an 8 pin adapter plus a 6 pin one, which obviously was Gigabytes bad. Just wondering if that's the change in 1.1 because mine came with the correct adapters 2x8 pin.

    So 1.0s please check ya box and see. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2014
  20. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    327
    GPU:
    GTX
    not sure ^

    new MSI gamer card right out of the box quick tests
    I had it boost to 1582 when clocked but throttles to 1555 when power limit is met .....its nothing a little solder cant cure:)

    [​IMG]

    low volt card 1.235 max
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2014

Share This Page