GTX 980 Club - Overclocking - Benchmarks!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Veteran, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. D4rKy21

    D4rKy21 Banned

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 SLI
    This is correct.
    Even 1333 vs 1600 is minimal.
     
  2. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,197
    Likes Received:
    1,938
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Not by cpu bound games, ie RE5, BF3,4, Hitman Absolution, LP2 and a like.

    Going from 2133 to 2400 I saw 5-7fps+ boost on avg & min fps in fixed RE5 benchmark.
     
  3. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    :rolleyes:

    Who said anything about doubling?

    Ive seen appreciable gains from 2400 at C9,10,10,24 1T compared to a marginal 1600mhz kit.

    Example, in tribes on a particular spot on drydock map, 96 fps, gpu usage is hovering at 70% usage, none of the cpu cores are maxed either, hmm whats the problem? Fix was higher ram speed + tight timings, i got a good 20+ fps in that spot.

    If gpu usage isnt 99% and none of your cores are maxed, memory bottleneck is likely
     
  4. Keesberenburg

    Keesberenburg Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 TI sc
    Heheh dankje, :)
     

  5. Keesberenburg

    Keesberenburg Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 TI sc
    My gpu hit utilization limit but what does it meen?
     
  6. Seithan

    Seithan Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 GTX980
    It means that GPU maxes out.
     
  7. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,037
    Likes Received:
    561
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    In a game that already runs at 150+ fps on maxed out settings!!! lol

    That is why I did not bother with faster memory than 1,600 MHz when I built my Haswell system. The extra FPS you get from faster memory is negligible for games and only useful for real-world applications such as compression or encoding movies, etc.
     
  8. Keesberenburg

    Keesberenburg Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 TI sc
    Mmm, than its a bug cause gpu use is 0% and still utilization limit-1
     
  9. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,197
    Likes Received:
    1,938
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    So? No need for that sarcasm :p

    There are other games that are heavy cpu bound, its just a rough example, DeadRising series also, GTA4 also , X3TC also and many more where you dont see maxed out gpu usage due to cpu/driver bottleneck.. But ok what ever, if you're happy with just 1600mhz no one is stopping you. :]
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2014
  10. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,084
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    Same here, shaved a few seconds off loading times also. Not a huge deal, but it is faster.
     

  11. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,037
    Likes Received:
    561
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I wasn't being sarcastic, -Tj-, just stating the obvious. Faster memory is great for iGPUs, which use system memory as VRAM, and application software that relies heavily on the CPU but it is less useful for games. You get a few FPS more in the majority of cases at best but whether that is worth the extra cost is really up to the individual. For me it wasn't and I did read up on it before I decided on what memory to buy. A faster CPU and GPU are in the majority of cases far more important than faster RAM for gaming. :D
     
  12. Emille

    Emille Master Guru

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Aorus Extreme
    I find it a bit upsetting that a gtx 980 still can't get 60 frame average let alone minimum in tomb raider with 4ssaa or 2ssaa +tress fx.

    1080p ultimate with 2ssaa is the best you will get on an overclocked 980. It is 60 frames in gameplay but with drops into the 40s in cutscenes/scripted non controlable sequences occasionally.
     
  13. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    So you're surprised it doesn't get 60 fps at 7680x4320 res? cmon

    GK204 isnt designed for that kind of res.
     
  14. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,197
    Likes Received:
    1,938
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    So was I.
    Well I bought 2133mhz for cheap back then and OC'ed to 2400, which me saved some extra €€..

    Im not persuading anyone to buy 2400 now, but there is a difference with faster ram (faster cpu<>driver<>gpu communications) where cpu becomes the limit because of poor game code & driver overhead, not just by igpu scenario. :)


    Anyway sorry for offtopic.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2014
  15. klown07

    klown07 Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 SC 4gb
    Hardware DOES make a difference. If you overclock, and don't do it right, you'll take a hit on score. I had to remove my 4.6 overclock, and go back to stock, it raised my score when I did. Also, RAM speed and timings and all that make a score difference too. I've confirmed this with my testing. And possibly SSD vs regular hard drive. Though I can't say for sure about that, because I don't have any SSD.

    Firestrike Overclocked (on Air): http://www.3dmark.com/fs/2852030
    Core clock
    1,351 MHz
    Memory bus clock
    1,783 MHz
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Cloud Gate(on Air): http://www.3dmark.com/cg/2124630
    Core clock
    1,241 MHz
    Memory bus clock
    1,753 MHz
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Sky diver(Air): http://www.3dmark.com/sd/2393596
    Core clock
    1,241 MHz
    Memory bus clock
    1,753 MHz
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ice Storm(Air): http://www.3dmark.com/is/2330662
    Core clock
    1,241 MHz
    Memory bus clock
    1,753 MHz
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Fire Strike not overclocked(Air): http://www.3dmark.com/fs/2847539
    Core clock
    1,241 MHz
    Memory bus clock
    1,753 MHz
     

  16. Xipe

    Xipe Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980GTX
  17. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Gonna be away for a few days guys so wont be around to update thread.
     
  18. Spartan_Hoplite

    Spartan_Hoplite New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x nVidia 8800Ultra SLi w/ 32" LCD
    Firestrike on Air: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/4212592
    Core clock: 1,377 MHz
    Memory clock: 2,003 MHz

    Not 100% stable, just for benchmark test. perfectly stable for 24/7 only at 1.327mhz Core and 1950 Mhz Mem.
     
  19. leopr

    leopr Member Guru

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti OC
    Terrible stock issues here in Israel, of the two i ordered last week only one i received today, looks like a good clocker:

    gigabyte 980 @ 1508/8000 (stock volts, 82.8% ASIC), 4930K @ 4.20Ghz

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Kolt

    Kolt Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    507
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    Loving my 980. I've been pushing 3-4k resolutions on all games and squealing with excitement as to how well games run and look now. Pushing 98+ utilization in most games (even old games) using DSR. Highest temps on stock seem to be around 81c. BF4 was a game that no matter what I did always had terrible aliasing, but with DSR at around 3k resolution (+40% smoothness factor) completely eliminates all jaggies and turns BF4 in a freaking movie. Best 500 bucks I've ever spent.
     

Share This Page