GTX 970 VRAM allocation bug

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Milan, Jan 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cyenz

    cyenz Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970M
    COD:AW have this problem, then i turn on shader cache option (the games warns that you need a 4gb for that, if not it loads low res textures) combined with supersampling the game consumes more than 3.5GB of ram and turns the game to low textures, this is happening to me on a 970. Nvidia must explain this
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2015
  2. Headd

    Headd Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX970
    Its same what i have in moded skyrim when i enable 8xMSAA.But i have even worse lags.
    its because not enough vram.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2015
  3. wtbarms

    wtbarms Member Guru

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    3080 fe
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2015
  4. Headd

    Headd Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX970
    I have Gigabyte G1 gaming rev 1.0 Bios 84.04.1F.00.62
     

  5. cyenz

    cyenz Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970M
    Same
     
  6. wtbarms

    wtbarms Member Guru

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    3080 fe
    Feel free to fill out the spreadsheet. You shouldn't need to log in or anything.

    Edit work book > Edit Online.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2015
  7. cyenz

    cyenz Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970M
    Done, will update with more games as soon as i play them.
     
  8. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,723
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    hmm... I was sceptical at first,
    but that does look like a memory management issue

    can this be reproduced every time 3.5GB is filled?
    with DSR it should be easy to go over 3.5GB in handfull of games and test this
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2015
  9. nanogenesis

    nanogenesis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390X 1178|6350
    @ OP, update the main page with the video by aufkrawall2 and all other findings, people coming here should not have to dig through posts to figure out whats going on.

    I hope Hilbert can reproduce it on his end and spread awareness.
     
  10. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    6800 reference UV
    Without AA or just FXAA, I have around 3.5GB used in AC: U and mostly no stuttering. With 2xMSAA it rises to ~3.6-3.7GB and performance is still ok. But when I enable 4xMSAA and it needs ~3.8GB, I often have severe stuttering.
    When I set resolution to 720p and enable 8xMSAA, VRAM usage is well below 3GB and there is no stuttering at all.
     

  11. Dorlor

    Dorlor Banned

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x evga 780 ti sc acx
    Honestly, it does sound like a Nvidia move, to make the 970 "less" of a Card than the 980, by limiting the amount of vram it can access.
     
  12. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,250
    Likes Received:
    4,294
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    After Kepler drivers sabotage now this? Oh, my... :D
     
  13. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,072
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    Kepler sabotage?
     
  14. wtbarms

    wtbarms Member Guru

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    3080 fe
    After the release of the Maxwell cards the Kepler ones seemed to "magically" lose performance in new drivers.
     
  15. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,072
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    I'm going through my benchmarks and can say I haven't experienced this.

    aufkrawall2 video's are concerning. Can we get other video comparisons in here, might be better to reproduce this issue in scenarios the GPU has enough power.
    Maybe Shadow of Mordor with ultra textures because it's hard to tell if the stutters are coming from tanking FPS or VRAM usage.
     

  16. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    I cant match my futuremark scores post maxwell drivers, ie gpu scores went down roughly 2000ish points I think. Do not know if it was intentional or not.
     
  17. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    That's quite a lot. do you have any old game benches where you could compare old vs new drivers?
     
  18. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,723
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    AA or just FXAA, it doesn't matter.
    The working theory is that 970 is unable to fill all 4GB without performance loss past 3.5GB.
    And thats needs to be investigated - just like you did with Hitman.
     
  19. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,072
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    pretty crappy if it was intentional. I only have records of some games, not the benchmarking tools.
    Metro for example before 980 release was avg: 25.85, post 980 avg: 31.38
     
  20. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Heaven and valley seem uneffected, games run great as is regardless if they are nerfed for kepler or not. Tbh I dont think my cpu can handle any more suicide runs anymore. I need 1.455v just for 4.6ghz nowadays
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page