GTX 970 VRAM allocation bug

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Milan, Jan 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toncij

    toncij New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Forum denies me links, but I've posted GPU-Z code here and link in the YT video description.
     
  2. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    toncij thx but I get error: d3dcompiler_47.dll is missing

    Interesting simple test, try it: restart computer, after that turn on msi afterburner and check gpu memory usage. For me it's 324mb. Next turn on Chrome and check again. 4096 or 3500? :p
     
  3. AMN3S1AC

    AMN3S1AC Guest

    Been having this vram problem too.

    Games tested - Far Cry 4, Shadow of Mordor, Assassins Creed Unity

    Results with page file enabled

    The games happily sit at 3530MB vram usage. Never go above this value unless I turn on a stupid amount of AA and a really high resolution using DSR. Now, when I do push it higher...even when it is at 3.7 - 3.8....i get stutters and terrible performance.

    With Kombustor, I can load 3965GB and I see the test running, albeit with a noticeably low fps.

    With page file turned off

    Again, the games at 1080p sit at 3530MB vram usage...but when I crank up resolution or AA even just a little bit that would exceed the 3530MB, the game crashes and I get a windows error saying I am out of memory.

    This time with Kombustor I get a message during the loading that I don't have enough memory for the test. Then the test starts with only 2350MB vram loaded.

    I have 8GB system RAM and it never exceeds 6GB during these tests.

    My system is as follows -
    i5 2500K 4.2Ghz
    8GB Kingston HyperX
    ASUS Strix GTX 970 "4GB"
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 15, 2015
  4. toncij

    toncij New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    LOL, yeah, Chrome might fill it all in :D

    gamedev.net/topic/655705-d3dcompiler-47dll

    seems I need to precompile the shader for you guys, will do. :)
     

  5. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    I don't think it's a matter of bios version.

    Yesterday I updated my GTX 970 G1, from the 84.04.1F.00.B4 bios, to the 84.04.28.00.4D

    It made no diference.
     
  6. CRi5T

    CRi5T New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    I also flashed the bios and I didn't notice a difference.
     
  7. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    toncij page file ON or OFF ? If off how many Ram U have?
     
  8. xardas228

    xardas228 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB
    Shadow of Mordor pagefile enabled
    3549MB

    RAM:6GB
    pagefile:12588 (below this value kombustor crash in 3072 test)
    Win 7 64bit
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    BIOS(gpu-z info):84.04.2F.00.F1
    BIOS(msi liveupdate info):NV316MH.182
    I checked on MSI forum and there is .185 BIOS version but not available yet for LiveUpdate.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  9. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    turn on all DSR in NVCP and change resolution in game for 150%, after that check is everything else on ultra/max (hd textures too) then run benchmark and check ;) slow motion but 4GB usage
     
  10. xardas228

    xardas228 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB
    I checked on 100% and 150 % of DSR with ultra textures pack.
    When i set 3840x2160 in nvidia experience
    100% is 3840x2160 ~20 fps nad
    150% is 5760x3240 ~2-4 fps

    My native resolution is 1920x1080
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015

  11. AMN3S1AC

    AMN3S1AC Guest

    Try with page file turned off.
     
  12. xardas228

    xardas228 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB
    With pagefile off shadow of mordor benchmark crash on loading.

    1920x1080 with pagefile off ~60 fps 2320 vram usage. RAM usage 4.7 GB
    Other resolution try to use more than 6GB of ram and benchmark crash with info about "memory could not be written"
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  13. AMN3S1AC

    AMN3S1AC Guest

    Same as me.....seems like any time I try to exceed 3.5GB vram usage....the game crashes and windows tells me I did,t have enough memory.
     
  14. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    edit1: apologize all for my mistake with chrome test ;) 3500 is memory freq not vram usage

    [​IMG]

    FC4 downsampling 4k msaa x2 rest settings ultra/max:

    [​IMG]

    msaa x4:
    [​IMG]

    PF always ON. I dont know what thinking about my results. When PF off games crashing if settings too high or GPU use only ~3.5 Vram. More AA/downsapling crash and winblows error out of memory.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  15. AMN3S1AC

    AMN3S1AC Guest

    Is this problem exclusive to one OS?

    I run W7 Ultimate 64....anyone have this problem on Win 8.1?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 15, 2015

  16. CRi5T

    CRi5T New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    I am currently using Windows 8.1 and I've got the same problem.
     
  17. FrAnTiC

    FrAnTiC Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX GTX1070 OC
    Here we are :)
     
  18. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    with toncij procedure on win 8.1 x64 everthing is ok:

    PF ON= 16GB (for Watch dogs if I'm remember correctly)

    [​IMG]

    PF OFF

    [​IMG]

    So... Thanks very much Toncij :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  19. FrAnTiC

    FrAnTiC Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX GTX1070 OC
    How can I do this test I cant find it
     
  20. bwat47

    bwat47 Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    there's a link under his video description on youtube:

    youtube.com/watch?v=bDCqYO-6HQ0

    I just ran it on my 970, was able to fill vram: [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page