GTX 970 VRAM allocation bug

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Milan, Jan 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Master Guru

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    I have pagefile disabled, but I don't get that error.
    I do have 16 GB of ram.
     
  2. xardas228

    xardas228 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB
    #1 Yes
    #2 Yes MSI Gaming 3 Z97
    #3 Hynix
    #4 idk its MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
     
  3. nanogenesis

    nanogenesis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390X 1178|6350
    So, I put memory allocation policy aggressive in NVinspector and shifted a 2gb pagefile onto my ramdisk. Skyrim's stuttering at 3.5gb is much more tolerable now.

    Note: might be placebo.
     
  4. wtbarms

    wtbarms Member Guru

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    rx 580
    Ah, yes, the error went away when I disabled SLI and tried with each card alone.
     

  5. TheWahoo

    TheWahoo Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1080 Hybrid
    So I finally got Shadow of Mordor and its Ultra texture pack downloaded and ran some more tests. First I ran it on my laptop with a 6GB 870M at 4K resolution (2x 1080). Keeping in mind that the 870M is limited to 192-bit memory bus, it consumed 5GB+ vram and ran without hitching at a respectable framerate of ~20FPS.

    I then ran it at the same resolution (1.5x 1440) on my 970 SLI desktop. It consumed nearly the entire 4GB framebuffer (within a few MB) and ran at ~60FPS but with noticeable hitching. This of course, makes perfect sense since at that resolution, my previous test proved that it needs considerably more than a 4GB framebuffer to run ultra textures at 4K resolution (when considering the rest of my graphics settings).

    When I reduced the resolution to native 1440 on my desktop rig, it consumed ~3.9GB and ran at 60FPS (vsynced) without a hitch; silky smooth. Combining this with my previous tests in Crysis 3, I believe that the issue must be specific to certain flavors of the 970 or perhaps, specific overall system hardware configurations.

    Conclusion; my rig is not capping vram usage so I don't believe it's a global issue with all 970s.
     
  6. VultureX

    VultureX Banned

    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLI
    @TheWahoo, that is nice to hear.

    What drivers did you use on your desktop rig?

    There seem to be no reports of EVGA users with this issue yet.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  7. bwat47

    bwat47 Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Yeah I'd doubt its a global issue. I'd guess either some kind of hardware bug with certain 970 variants, or some kind of software/driver issue with certain configurations.

    I did just check mine and I do seem to be effected, I ran shadow of mordor at all ultra settings (incl texture pack) 1080p, and it consumed 3.5gb according to gpuz but ran well around 60 fps. bumped it up to 1.5x resolution scale and performance took a huge dive down to at least 30 fps and vram usage didn't go up at all, remained steady at 3.5gb.


    1. PCI-E x16 2.0
    2. Yes (slightly older board though biostar tz68a+)
    3. Samsung
    4. no idea

    MSI GTX 970 (the blue one not the gaming 4g), windows 8.1 64-bit, nvidia 347.09 driver.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  8. TheWahoo

    TheWahoo Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1080 Hybrid
    347.09
     
  9. demise

    demise Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI RX 580 ARMOR 4G
    I'm pretty sure other SLI setups have posted similar results (nvidia forum), it's the single card setups that are having trouble getting past 3.5GB usage.
     
  10. disco

    disco Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX 970
    Here are my FC4 screenshots:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

  11. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    disco what settings? page file on or off?
     
  12. disco

    disco Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX 970
    Everything ultra, 2x msaa, 1080p.
    On the upper pic it's the same settings except i used 4k trough DSR to max out VRAM.
     
  13. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    Thx, and what about swap file? It is important because if ran games or benchmarks with page file = 8GB my gtx970 pass kombustor 3072 mem test and in games my vram usage is above 3,5-3,6GB. Swap file off = out of memory error on win 7x64 HP in kombustor and games with DSR.

    I dont understand why...

    gigabyte gtx 970 G1 rev 1.0 - samsung memory - bios 84.04.1F.00.60 - drivers 347.09 WHQL - windows 7 HP x64 - MSI_Kombustor 3.5.1.0_x64

    AC unity, FC4, WD, ME SofM - all games with latest updates
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  14. disco

    disco Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX 970
    PF is on. Sorry I didn't mention it in previous post.
     
  15. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    please test with off if you have some time ;)
     

  16. disco

    disco Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX 970
    Kombustor can allocate only 2,6gb without PF. Didn't try any game.
    Will do when I get home from work ;)
    But somenoe mentioned that it didn't had any problems even without PF, but he had 16gb of system RAM.
    Maybe Sys RAM is used in some way to fill VRAM?
    Can someone with 980 and 8gb of sys RAM test this without the PF?
     
  17. FrAnTiC

    FrAnTiC Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX GTX1070 OC
    1 yes PCI-E 16x 3
    2 yes
    3 Samsung
    4 Not sure there are four mem chips on the back of the PCB and I don't know if that's all of them
     
  18. lamparcicho

    lamparcicho Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga 980Ti sc+
    I only have above 4GB vram usage in Mordor benchmark when PF is ON = 8gigs, max seettings in game, HD Texture Pack and insane resolution 150%= 5760x3240 (all DSR NVCP active)

    proof: [​IMG]

    Everything under with PF on or off gave me ~3500 megabytes vram usage

    Kombustor 3.5.1 x64 error out of memory with PF off

    with PF ON: [​IMG]

    Edit1:

    MENU FHD [​IMG]

    MENU 150% [​IMG]

    Benchmark 150%

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  19. toncij

    toncij New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    I have tested this with a simple DirectX texture loading.

    YouTube video: bDCqYO-6HQ0

    On my machine it all works as expected.

    Note that on your machine it may not.

    Tested on 15th of Jan 2015 11:05 EST
    Testing video memory consumption on Nvidia GTX 970 (Maxwell) chip. Gigabyte G1 model. Driver 347.09, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit.
    Testing application: DirectX 11_1/11_0. 32-bit. 640x480.
    Testing texture: 1024x1024 DDS 8.8.8.8 ARGB 32 bpp UNSIGNED

    GPU-Z: /gpuz/hah6w/
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  20. Dorlor

    Dorlor Banned

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x evga 780 ti sc acx
    It would be good if everyone could note both OS, driver, and gpu bios version
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page