GTX 970 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by ScoobyDooby, Sep 19, 2014.

Tags:
  1. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    hold left ctrl button and scroll your mouse to make the post fit.. why should any one have to learn anything because your monitor is to small for your use ? try buying a monitor that suites your needs ?
     
  2. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    MSI 2070 Gaming Z
    Thank you very much for your lesson! Uhm wait, why should we have to learn anything because someone else doesn't know how to make proper screenshots? :bang:
     
  3. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    don't moan about it then lol
     
  4. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    MSI 2070 Gaming Z
    lol no hard feelings ;)
     

  5. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    no at all fella made me laff.
     
  6. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,863
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080 TI
    For the GPU? That's either a typo, the wrong sensor or something in between :D
     
  7. Trolle

    Trolle Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    KFA2 1070 sniper
    aye for the gpu,the sensor doesnt seem to be faulty tho :)
    i gotta admit that the gpu is very very loud when i put the fans on 100% thru AB.
    people underestimate these gpu's tbh....
     
  8. bigcid1

    bigcid1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    ROG-STRIX-RTX2080
    Hi,
    I just upgraded my r9 290 to a gigabyte gtx970G1 card and It's stuck
    in PCIE 2.0 mode .I only have one other card and that is my stxII 7.1 in slot pcie_16-4
    I don't see in the bios any options for pcie 3 only 2,1 or auto
    I have it on auto
    gpu-z and nvidia control panel both say 2.0
    am I missing something?,thanks

    MB: Asus X99-deluxe
    cpu: Intel Haswell-e i7-5930k
    16GB gskill ddr4 2400
     
  9. bigcid1

    bigcid1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    ROG-STRIX-RTX2080
    nevermind ,figured it out
    changed the generation from auto to gen 3
    in bios,thanks
     
  10. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,151
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    1080 FE +200/+430
    I got a Coil free GTX 970 FTW as well whch i was glad, because that had me worried. I didnt know if i would get one or not. So far doing 100+ core on stock voltage.
     

  11. antonyfrn

    antonyfrn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW ACX3.0
    Did you get yours directly from EVGA? As I noticed it has an extra label, that looks like it is to do with quality control as it was signed. Also the card was sealed when I received it with the back plate.
     
  12. Icanium

    Icanium Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080ti GamX
    What extra label?
     
  13. paulonone

    paulonone Master Guru

    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    New member to the club:)

    Also got the EVGA 970 FTW, from EVGA Europe. So far so good, no coil whine problems.

    Still messing around with final overclocking settings.

    Now waiting for my backplate and pick your path promotion to be approved.
     
  14. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,944
    Likes Received:
    1,310
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Got one yesterday, no coil whine either.
     
  15. brutlern

    brutlern Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 X Gaming
    Got my MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G last week.

    Upgraded from an Asus GTX 760 DirectCU II.

    The reason I went for MSI was mainly it's size. I have an Antec 300 case so the longest card it can officially fit is 27 cm. Asus Strix is 28 cm and Gigabyte is huge with over 30. My second option would have been Gainward Phantom.
    However based on the reviews it saw it was fairly cool and quiet so I went for it.

    I can confirm it's dead silent both in idle (well duh, it shuts the fans down) and full load. I had to put my hands next to the card to check if the fans were spinning at all. :)

    The LED Logo looks great and can be controlled fully with nvidia's LED Visualizer from Geforce Experience (omg, I finally have a reason to install Geforce Experience)

    The only benchmark i've done was Sniper Elite V2 Benchmark (the standalone bench): my old 760 got 95.2 avg fps (with a slight OC), my new 970 (stock, no oc yet) got 142.5.

    Also tested Far Cry 4, smooth 60 fps with vsync on, 1920*1080, all maxed out except AA set to SMAA (TXAA causes strange artifacts on certain objects and it hurts performance a bit).
     

  16. H83

    H83 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    408
    GPU:
    MSI Duke GTX1080Ti
    I also got my MSI GTX 970 Gaming today, i´m so happy!:D

    I wasn´t expecting the card to be so big but it just fitted on my case, so i got lucky because i didn´t measure the case to see if it had space for the card...
    And yes the dragon logo is a beauty!

    One question, to be eligible to win one of the Ubisoft´s games, does it need to say in the boxe that the card gives the game or i just need to insert some other code of the gpu?

    Thanks!
     
  17. brutlern

    brutlern Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 X Gaming
    Regarding the ubisoft game you should have received a coupon or something that has a special code on it when you got the card, if you didn't you are out of luck. (As far as I know, not all countries and not all shops are eligible, I think the shops decide whether or not they include the card they sell in the promotion)
     
  18. H83

    H83 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    408
    GPU:
    MSI Duke GTX1080Ti
    Yea it must be something like that and i think Portugal is not one of the countries eligible for the promo.

    Still i´m gonna register my card at MSI and ask them if they can spare a code. If they do it, cool, if not then no problem.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  19. UZ7

    UZ7 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,496
    Likes Received:
    49
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    LOL thanks for this... now time to mess around... :) I usually don't install geforce experience

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D-c6jxoraAQ
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hi5-J83IHwo
     
  20. Icanium

    Icanium Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080ti GamX
    I purchased my card online and the store emailed me a code to redeem at GeForce.com. For comparison, walkin stores put the game code on the receipt.
     

Share This Page