GTX 970 Overclock results

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by deadpool790, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. evilos

    evilos Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gtx 970 G1
    hi guys, my gtx 970 g1 overclocks only 120mhz more, 150mhz is no go even with +87mv, but today strange thing happened to my pc, i have non-K sku i5 and my mainboard changed bclk strap to 144mhz... this is my result

    ttp://i.imgur.com/gLzYeqc.jpg

    i cant post links because this is my new acc..


    valley benchmark 1.0

    FPS 88.7

    Score 3710

    Min FPS 43

    Max FPS 170
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014
  2. Calmmo

    Calmmo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    189
    GPU:
    3080
    huh, im actually getting 1500 stable without +vcore. From my limited testing 1500 and 7800 - 0 crashes. Tested skyrim/TombRaider/BioshockInfinite/ShadowofMordor for about 1-2 hours each. That said im actually not OCing unless im not getting a solid 60, and i dont think im gonna go above 1450/7400 for my "regular" full time OC.

    Maybe you just got unlucky with the silicon RNG. Same thing happened to me and my 660ti. Mine couldnt OC for beeeeep. (also i guess unsurprisingly that card last~ barely over 1 year)
     
  3. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Alex, have you benched with those settings? I get artifacts in 3dmark11 with those settings, even with increased vcore at 1500mhz. Tried some games and didn't see any artifacts, but didn't test the games thoroughly because when I see artifacts in benches I won't run that 24/7. Just curious.
     
  4. evilos

    evilos Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gtx 970 G1
    i saw some strange behaviour of gpu voltage on my g1, when i tested valley benchmark without AA my 120mhz oc boost voltage to 1.256, but with 8xAA my voltage sits on 1.212
     

  5. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti
    MSI 970 with NO coil whine!
    1500/7900 @ 24/7 gaming
    autofan for now
     
  6. Calmmo

    Calmmo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    189
    GPU:
    3080
    yeah, well, if you can call 10ish mins of valley and a couple Firestrike runs extensive testing. I didnt get issues at ~7900 either. I get driver crashes if i push 8k and 1530+ gpu tho. Frankly ill be perfectly fine with a 1400/7400 for life type oc as I don't plan on upgrading again any time soon aside for maybe going SLi if the prices actually drop in the coming months (who knows, with a new top end gpu gm200 or w/e it may happen)
     
  7. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    170
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    Several people here mentioned "default" voltage... is there a fixed default? I thought there was as much variation as with CPUs nowadays. I'm just curious as that could be interesting also (and would explain several weird differences between some reviews).

    My card runs perfectly fine at 1505MHz boost and 4000MHz memory (both according to Afterburner), without raised power limit, at its default voltage of 1.206V.
     
  8. Wolf9an9

    Wolf9an9 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 6800XT
    My "default" voltage is 1.218V for the same card. Don't know if there are different voltages for different Vbios or pcb revisions.

    Mine runs fine at 1552 and 4000 at default voltage but have power % set to 110. Have not tried it with power at 100%
     
  9. MXVZ

    MXVZ New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    G1 GTX 970 SOC
    Hey guys, Im new to this forum I just created an account because of this very topic.
    I want to know what you mean by 1500/8000. Yesterday I tried to OC my G1 970 SOC and I managed to put in 150+ and 350+ without moving any voltages, but my drivers started crashing, I don't know what I'm doing wrong. the 8000 in the memory means that you have a 3 way card ? because mine doesn't get up 2000. Is there a exact guide or a guide mean specifically for the 970 ? Thank you all.
     
  10. SpecChum

    SpecChum Master Guru

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Vega 64 - Acer XR34
    1545/8000 is highest stable I've found that doesn't artefact.

    I have run FireStrike at 1575/8000 and got 11k but it artefact so not stable.

    Might try lower memory to see if that's maybe holding the core back.
     

  11. Booyaah

    Booyaah New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA GTX 970 FTW 4 GB
    I could get up to 1500 stable on stock BIOS. Anything higher was like, hello black screen after 15 seconds. Unless I want to run the fans at 100%, I'm pretty much temp limited. Really hurting for $$$ after dumping the money for 2 of these cards. I do a lot of triple monitor stuff, and I still feel like the gpu tech just isn't quite there yet for this resolution for some games (I'm looking at you Arma 3 and Star Citizen)

    Here are some random benchmarks:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    ^^ That's 29 FPS if you can't read it :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014
  12. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014
  13. MXVZ

    MXVZ New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    G1 GTX 970 SOC
    I'm scoring 11,760 on firestrike with 1 g1 gtx 970 and i7-4790k

    processor @4.7
    gpu +135 / +450
     
  14. bigcid1

    bigcid1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3080 FE
  15. moparbjt

    moparbjt Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga Ref-GTX980 in SLI

  16. Ragingun

    Ragingun Master Guru

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    295x2
    I'm at 11,3xx but my processor is really holding that score back. Same with adding a second card, getting 16,1xx but similar rigs work the 5xxx series CPU are getting 19,xxx. So......I should be receiving my X99 board and CPU on Tuesday! I will post both single and SLI results here when up and running.
     
  17. Shayne

    Shayne Master Guru

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Hi

    Had to mod flash this card to get rid of the power throttle but now I just love it. Best gpu upgrade for awhile:). 1580 rock solid with no (blue moon) throttle. Running pretty much on stock voltage (+ 10mv) and drivers may bring even better. Great card.

    For comparisons

    [​IMG]

    Regards
     
  18. Shayne

    Shayne Master Guru

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    On a giga maybe, that is not the case for MSI.

    Regards
     
  19. Shayne

    Shayne Master Guru

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    I found that you do not need voltage or it isn't adjusting and only +10mv was need to stabilize when dialing back. This card OC pretty decent at stock voltage and I would see what it can do without any voltage increase prior to jacking the voltage.

    Regards
     
  20. Deathchild

    Deathchild Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    How's the card shayne? Thinking of getting a 970, tired of crossfire. :D

    Not sure if I should go gigabyte or MSI, or maybe a phantom is good lol.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2014

Share This Page