GTX 680 SLI Battlefield 3 Low GPU Usage..

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by qgshadow, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    Hey guys,

    I just tried battlefield 3 with my gtx 680 sli and i get an average of 60% GPU load on both GPU.... with everything ultra... i just dont get it. why wont it use more gpu power to get a stable 120fps?
     
  2. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,621
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
    Did you overclock your CPU, put the game on a fast drive?
    Typically there's a bottleneck somewhere if your utilization won't go to 100%.
     
  3. fsn1977

    fsn1977 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 980 ti sc+
    Same problem here , but I have a lower ranked Cpu than you.
     
  4. zedundead

    zedundead Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 680 SLI
    I have the same problem on 301.42 WHQL drivers. Might be a driver issue as my cpu isn't even maxing out. Kind of frustrating. I was playing on ultra usually around 60+ fps on most maps but now its dipping into the 30's every now and then. Had to drop it to high @ 1080p
     

  5. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    yes i am overclocked to 4.8ghz and my cpu is far from being maxed out
     
  6. MoDeM

    MoDeM Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX 680
    got the same here. even with 3770k@4.6ghz
     
  7. fsn1977

    fsn1977 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 980 ti sc+
    Have you tried to lower the settings to low/medium too see if the fps increases?
     
  8. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    sounds like a driver problem for the 680
     
  9. ..VeNoM..

    ..VeNoM.. Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 690
    Set the profile to Prefare max performance?
     
  10. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti SC
    I get full utilization here with the 300.83 driver!

    1920x1080 / 70Hz
    [​IMG]
     

  11. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    Where do you see full utilization in this screenshot ? i think your gpu usage is the middle number in % ??
     
  12. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,983
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI @2.025
    It's never going to use almost 100% of your cards...it doesn't need to...
     
  13. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    ??? it needs too if it dips in the 80-90fps when my cpu isnt even capped and my video cards are at 60%.... its a driver problem for sure :\
     
  14. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti SC
    I don't run with VSync off, i get 70fps at all times which is my fresh rate on this monitor.
     
  15. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    Yeah i got a 120hz monitor
     

  16. deluxe

    deluxe Master Guru

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti G1
    Uh, you have ~50% GPU usage on both cards, 1 card would give the same FPS.
     
  17. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti SC
    Hmm yah something is up... It seems to be always forcing VSync no matter what setting I use. I set it to 640x480 60hz and it was capped at 60fps with VSync Off.

    I forced VSync off in driver and game and it made no difference.

    BF3 was patched last night, maybe they missed a bug?
     
  18. bishi

    bishi Master Guru

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI
    i get this with 680 sli in windows 8 on the 301.42 whql
     
  19. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Twin Frozr GTX 680SLI
    Try forcing V-sync off and see if that spikes the GPU usage upwards.
     
  20. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti SC
    I already tried this both in game and in the driver. Forcing VSync off and the game is still locked to my refresh rate.

    I even tried 640x480 with VSync off and its locked to 60fps.
     

Share This Page