GTX 680 pre rendered frames 0?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by krojf, Apr 11, 2013.

1. krojf

krojf Guest

GPU:
    corsair vengeance duo 8gb
    So, I tried to follow the guide: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=377158

Downloaded some of the quadro 29x.xx driver's... Unpacked as described.
    Open the INF. file.

Added "NVIDIA_DEV.1180 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680" to the [Strings] -

And.

"%NVIDIA_DEV.1180% = Section002, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1180" -

to the "NTamd64.6.1" section as I have Win7 64bit, I close and save it.
    Run the setup.exe as administrator, though it fails and shows the "Failed to install etc" screen

Am I doing something wrong here? Yep I'm a newbie to modding drivers.

2. rewt

rewt Guest

GPU:
    Yes
    Try basing your mod on GeForce drivers rather than Quadro drivers. It's kind of important you choose the correct Section###

3. Prophet

Prophet Master Guru

GPU:
    Msi 680
    The earliest I managed to install was 297.03. I prefer the 297.16 though.

Inf: https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=96b6875a64fe5c5a&id=96B6875A64FE5C5A!118&authkey=!AAxoIZZ9_GMwwgs

4. krojf

krojf Guest

GPU:
    corsair vengeance duo 8gb

5. rewt

rewt Guest

GPU:
    Yes
    NVIDIA claimed over and over again that maximum pre-rendered frames 0 didn't make any sense. All I can figure if this is true, the increase in latency perceived @1 must be balancing the latency caused by the reduction in FPS @0.

They've recently invested resources in FCAT, perhaps something similar will come for input lag analysis.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  6. Rapyer

Rapyer Guest

GPU:
    1080ti
    zero frames to rendeer ahead you get a lot of screen tearing on a slower card. leaving it at 1 is much better, plus more performance. zero has no mouse delay, but overall the fps suffers and it lookes really bad and feels bad