GTX 680 Owners Check-In

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Xtreme1979, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    you must have had an unstable oc
     
  2. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,009
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    XFX RX 470
    850mhz@1.050v results in certain WU's failing. I could successfully fold at 950mhz@1.050v until I started having issues with my UEFI freezing. Haven't been able to fold OC'd without receiving errors since. I'm sure it's a coincidence, but this board is getting replaced with an ASRock Z77 Pro4 or Z77 Extreme4 when they're released....as long as I'm not forced to do it sooner.
     
  3. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,801
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX
    It seems cb came at -22c for me
    I started off at +210 on core since @stock air the other card was ok for +170 i tried power from 100% to 132% in testing vantage and d311 3d03
    I did not even see if this card worked,right out of the box and prepped for cold :) went back to 480/470 t6 screws btw. i did not want to deface the cards(yet) so maybe later i will cb mod but not now.
    It was pita tbh with the cb so low i took a chance if i got it over a temp "bump" so i went -51c ,nah it did not work
    got alittle wet by the time it was back down with my torch so i went back to stock air cus my 2500k was on dice too and wanted something for my efforts..heck i got some learning to do with these cards yet anyway so i need to mess around wth them more.
    The boost clock novelty has worn thin already too.
    :wanker:

    drivers are alittle all over the place and feel they lack the grunt,in other words my 448 on dice put up just as good of marks in dx9
    for some dx9 benches xp disk drivers 300.83 were better for some tests crap for others
    i got awhole lot of nothing to show when on dice.
    But i just put a good sized pice of dice covering the whole fan intake on a shop towel max temps in any bench was 44c load 10c idle
    Just seeing if could keep watch of clocks in osd but idk
    shtty scores my 7980 would run way better o3 160k clocked @1250 cpu 5.4

    2500k 5.6 and 680 clocked i'd say they got a long way to go on drivers w7 no better.
    [​IMG]/

    in 3d 06 was faster both same 5.6
    [​IMG]

    vantage 2k points slower then 7980
    [​IMG]
    hwbot settings
    same as my 7980 with tess
    [​IMG]

    I dont know i hope they get better drivers for a few other older benches,but 03 and 06 dont sell cards like 3d11 :wanker:
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  4. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,939
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Another problem I have is that F1 2010 and F1 2011 both start windowed and I have to press Alt-Enter to make them go fullscreen. Again, this didn't happen with my GTX 580. Do you think these are driver bugs and/or issues caused by the game not recognising my graphics card? Other than the visual glitch in F1 2010 only, both games play fine.
     

  5. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,801
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX
    its always going to be tough with new arc and drivers.
    -
    Putting a h70 on the card i had on dice now,think thats all i will need for pussy footing it.
     
  6. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    how bout a 3d mark 11 p or x single sli? looks like a killer card gino. needs more mature drivers me thinks
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  7. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,816
    Likes Received:
    62
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    im talking about my massive oc though :infinity:

    man cowie, those 680s are memory bandwidth starved. my 580s have 230gb/s at 4800mhz.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  8. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,801
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX
    i went p10700 on stock air just ran it once
    [​IMG]

    i dont even want to bother with sli now for what? vantage and 3d11 big deal.
    I will get them both in sli tommorrow on my x79 and 3930k @5.0 thats all there are good for too.
    lost 10c idle with h70 and loud fan normal temp air 59f ish going to see load temps now.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  9. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    256 bit bus vs 384 bit bus thats why:). they do not looked that starved to me lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  10. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,799
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
    They do look memory bandwidth starved on paper, but in reality it's not like that makes much if any difference to games, or benchmarks.
    Saying that i did see it hit near 500GB/s on that 1900mhz OC.

    Card is looking good, notice that the 1264mhz that HH got on stock volts with the review card doesn't seem to be that common.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012

  11. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    cherry picked review samples is my guess. my 2 launch 580`s need more voltage and seem to oc less as time went by lower voltage cards and higher clocks seemed more common place. sometimes you get that being an early adopter. I need 1.113v just for 875mhz lol
    EDIT the stock volts are decent 1 is 1.025v and the other 1.0v
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  12. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,816
    Likes Received:
    62
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    look at crysis.. huge difference from ocing memory.
     
  13. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,799
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
    Crysis is old, nothing else seems to be that sensitive to it.

    If i considered it a huge thing i would of bought a 6970, or even a 6950 rather than the GTX570 as that is lower than both of them.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  14. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,816
    Likes Received:
    62
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    yeah but they have significantly higher speed rated chips but 256bit. a 570 at 4400~ghz would be pretty good.
     
  15. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,801
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX
    Smoke and mirrors speed for games thats it
    good tess thuogh if you like that sorta thing.
    Honestly the 7980 gave my 448 ti's in sli a better run in old guy benches.the 448's swamped this card.no dought because 5xx has been around and matured this card driver wise makes amd 's drivers look good.
    I know they dont have the ram size but did seem to have the core power to push right thuo anything i threw at them.Thats 440 usd at amason for two.

    Thats just mho about old guy benches thuo if it plays ss3 like a fiddle it would be nice.
     

  16. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,816
    Likes Received:
    62
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    ^ do you purposely misspell 7970 for 7980? or do both 7 keys on your keyboard fail to work? lol
     
  17. pimp_gimp

    pimp_gimp Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
    Here are some heaven 3.0 benchmarks I ran this afternoon @ 1920x1200 @ both Normal and Extreme settings.

    Normal
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    Extreme
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  18. warrior-kid

    warrior-kid Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3 x 980
    That's an amazing score but could you repeat the "extreme" run in a more standard 16xaniso and 8xAA setting used by the OP?

    Tempted...but are we going to have Compute fixed on these cards?
     
  19. pimp_gimp

    pimp_gimp Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
    Here you are 1920x1200 @ 8x AA 16x AF @ Stock

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  20. warrior-kid

    warrior-kid Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3 x 980
    Thanks! Wow at the cost of AA and Aniso, can anyone really see a difference at speed?
     

Share This Page