GTX 680 Owners Check-In

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Xtreme1979, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    Roughly 2 weeks. I'm totally new to it.

    I got myself the 2nd 680 for Christmas.

    I am trying to learn.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
  2. Uncle Dude

    Uncle Dude Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Pretty much bone-stock Nvidia profile:

    [​IMG]


    And be sure to have SLI enabled:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    @ Uncle Dude

    My nVidia Inspector matches yours exactly. I definitely have SLI turned on; my screen is the same as yours, I get great performance in other games, and when I run 3DMark 11 I get scores between 13,500-14,400.

    Uncle Dude and I both have 2 EVGA 680's, the same CPU, 8 GB of RAM, and apparently we both play on HDTVs.

    Even with settings quite lower than his, I cannot EVER even get an average of 45 FPS on the Hitman: Absolution benchmarking tool. Yet he gets crazy high numbers. ???

    This really is driving me crazy...I don't understand. :bang:

    Uncle Dude, which drivers are you running? I am using 310.90.

    Thanks in advance for any help or tips.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
  4. Uncle Dude

    Uncle Dude Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I'm using the same drivers. I'm at a loss as to why your gpu usage is so low. Is your copy of the game legit and updated to the latest version (1.0.444.0)? I hate to go there, but if your problems are specific to this game, I have to ask.
     

  5. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    Yep, it is legit. I bought it from Green Man Gaming and activated it on Steam. Steam is set to auto-update the game. Yes, it is only this game I have problems with.

    I am completely stumped and so is my more knowledgable PC gaming friend. :3eyes:
     
  6. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    Try adding 'farcry3_d3d11.exe' to the nvidia contro panel @ manage 3d settings > program settings.
     
  7. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    farcry3_d3d11.exe? I will try this, though I admit I'm too newbie to know where this is headed.

    Thanks for the help with this, fellas. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
  8. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    In the nvidia control panel you have global settings and seperate settings for particular programs and you can manually add games to that list too.
     
  9. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    I have Hitman Absolution loaded into nVidia Control Panel. I need to add farcry3_d3d11.exe to it?
     
  10. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    Oh you have hitman loaded in already that's fine then, nevermind the Farcry3 comment, today i woke up without my brain, probably lack of sleep i had just been reading the fc3 thread.
     

  11. D1RTYD1Z619

    D1RTYD1Z619 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080
    Looking for Someone that owns this card:GV-N680OC-2GD

    If you own a Gigabyte GV-N680OC-2GD graphics card, can you please list your Clocks, Volts and Power Target @ stock. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
  12. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    Still same issue; similar system to Uncle Dude, WAY less performance on Hitman Absolution with lower settings. :bang:

    This is incredibly frustrating. I am learning some stuff along the way, though. Just installed PrecisionX and am playing with that.

    Anyway, if it helps, here is my nVidia Control Panel settings for the game:

    [​IMG]

    The screenshot below is during the Metro 2033 benchmarking tool, showing high GPU usage on both cards.

    [​IMG]

    ^^ So I guess my SLI is set up OK?

    @ Uncle Dude: Do you own The Witcher 2? I get somewhat low GPU usage on that game also. I do get 60 FPS anyway though:

    [​IMG]

    ^^ That is with everything maxed except Ubersampling=OFF
     
  13. Uncle Dude

    Uncle Dude Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Yes, I have The Witcher 2, and SLI performance is excellent. Your low usage in that game is attributable to v-sync. 53% usage is apparently all that's required to maintain 60 fps in that scene. If you turn v-sync off, your 680s will render all the frames they can, along with more noise, heat, and power consumption. Some guys feel v-sync introduces unacceptable levels of input lag, but I always use it as I can't stand screen tearing.

    BTW - Your 680s are not at full 3d clocks in the Witcher 2 shot. I generally set all my games to "prefer maximum performance" in the control panel to stop this throttling. It shouldn't cause problems, in theory, but I like to eliminate that variable in the quest for smooth gameplay.
     
  14. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    Same here, I can't stand screen tearing either.

    Thanks for the tip. :) I set it in my Global Profile so it will apply to all games.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013
  15. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    At this point I am now pretty convinced that my Hitman Absolution problem is related to my CPU, either not being OCed or not working properly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

  16. RPGgamesplayer

    RPGgamesplayer Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI EVGA XC
    hitman absolution is pretty cpu demanding it could possibly be the root to your problem it could be why your minimum fps is low, possibly a bad overclock
     
  17. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    indeed it also used CPU based nvidia PhysX.
     
  18. Uncle Dude

    Uncle Dude Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I'll try and run the bench at stock clocks later on to give you a baseline. I'm currently installing hybrid gpu coolers. One down; one to go.
     
  19. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    Uberness. :)
     
  20. TwoPlusTwo

    TwoPlusTwo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX Titan SLI
    Holy crap!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    :banana:

    Well now I know the problem, gonna have to try and fix it...
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

Share This Page