GTX 570 Sli Problems

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by antboy6969, Oct 18, 2011.

1. antboy6969

antboy6969 Active Member

GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580
    hey guys let me start of by saying im new to sli, i was using a gigabyte gtx 570 card and i recently came across a new asus gtx 570 direct cu2 card for a cheap price.
    the next day i installed the asus card on the 1st pcie slot and my old gigabyte card on the second one and i attached the sli cable, then i went into nvidia control panal and chose whatever option you use to anable sli with both of them cards and set the physx to auto select.
    then i ran some 3dmark 11 and got like 10114 score on it.
    at this point i remembered that i used to get 6400 score with my overclocked gigabyte gtx 570 so i opened up msi afterburner and gpuz and started overclocking and this is where the problems started.

when i was using my gigabyte gtx 570 by itself i used to rech up to 900 core clock and about 2000 mem with no voltage bumps but with this new asus gtx 570 and gigabyte gtx 570 sli i could only reach up to 770 stable core clock anything after 770 mhz on core crashed 3dmark 11.

anyone know why i cannot overclock these cards any more than 770mhz core clock?

the most stable overclock i have had with these two cards are 770/1540/2000 on msi afterburner.

My rig specs
    asus gtx 570 (742/1484/1900)defaulthttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121432&Tpk=asus%20gtx%20570
    gigabyte gtx 570 (780/1560/1900) defaulthttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125384
    intel core i7 2600 (overclocked to 4.1mhz)
    thermaltake toughpower 875watt

2. SpajdrEX

SpajdrEX Ancient Guru

GPU:
    -----
    Asus card probably need to increase voltage on GPU to reach higher clocks.
    You can try Asus card alone if it can reach higher clocks with stock voltage on GPU.
    If it doesnt, then increase it via msi afterburner.

3. antboy6969

antboy6969 Active Member

GPU: