GTX 560 TI help!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by mc2m, Feb 29, 2012.

Tags:
  1. mc2m

    mc2m New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia geforce GTS250 1GB
    so I have an i7 870 2.93 Ghz, and a 8 GB of RAM, I currently have GTS 250 1GB and a 600 watts cooler master PSU. I'm considering to buy a GTX 560 TI. My question is do I have enough PSU to run a GTX 560 TI?
     
  2. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    I would say yes, is the PSU too old?More than 2 years?
     
  3. mc2m

    mc2m New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia geforce GTS250 1GB
    Nope, it's gonna be 1 years old when march hits :) thanks
     
  4. Lukc

    Lukc Master Guru

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI gtx970
    i'm using 560ti oced to 1000/2000/2200mhz @ 1.1v and i5 2500k cpu 4.5ghz @ 1.3v on 620w psu. but make sure you have enough amp on +12V
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012

  5. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,870
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    Can you give us a link to the PSU model?
     
  6. Silverfox

    Silverfox Master Guru

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 560ti
    More then enough for a single 560ti ! :)
     
  7. 200+club

    200+club Banned

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga gtx580 cl-ul 3072
    my ups has a digital display for all readings including load wattage. on my rig with a pretty decent oc and many fans and hdds i never go above 350w.
    the big factor is psu quality and actual psu load wattage. the manufacturers always lie, especially cheap psu mfg's.
     
  8. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,870
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    Wattage isn't the issue. The issue is AMPERAGE. It doesn't matter if the PSU produces 550watts or 5500watts. If it doesn't produce enough amperage, it will do nothing but damage components.
     
  9. 200+club

    200+club Banned

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga gtx580 cl-ul 3072
    certainly, you definitely need to know how many amps the 12v rails put out and what the card needs. the card only needs 30amps and could most likely run perfectly fine on a little less.
     
  10. ShadowWolf555

    ShadowWolf555 Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX770 Gaming 2GB OC
    +1

    Now, if you're going to OC the gpu or cpu then maybe you'll need something more powerfull.

    Cheers.
     

  11. Kingfish

    Kingfish New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD6850 1GB
    I have a question about the 560 Ti...

    I am a long time user of nVidia, recently tried an Radeon HD6850 and was pleased with the overall results. However, I want to run a three monitor setup and was told for the money I am dedicating to the graphics card(s), about $500, that i was left with really only two choices;

    a single HD7950
    or
    a pair of 560 Ti 2gb version.

    I have to say I am leaning towards the nVidia cards just due to loyalty.

    Anyone have any thoughts...and yeah, I've been posting this kind of question around many boards and threads...I have the cash in hand now and its burning a hole in my pocket!

    Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated!
    K
     
  12. The Chubu

    The Chubu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
    Me says HD7950. I think you could even CrossFire two HD7870s or HD7850s if you want something like that. Better performance, lower power consumption, DX11.1, etc.
     
  13. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    That psu will be OK for a 560Ti but cooler master is kinda junk.
     
  14. mc2m

    mc2m New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia geforce GTS250 1GB
  15. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    thats a crappy psu tbh. 70% efficiency, cmon. cooler master also overates their psus half of the time. the 500watt version of this is actually a 400watt psu, and this one you chose is actually a 500watt psu.. ripple and noise also goes out of spec when drawing high loads, and also not so good voltage regulation.doesnt get much worse than that

    any chance you could return it?
     

  16. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    check out this review, it cant deliver 600 watts, and above 500 watts voltage regulation goes out of spec, which is very bad for components. when they loaded it at 600watts it fried the psu.
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/arti...e-Power-Plus-600-W-Power-Supply-Review/1034/7

     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2012
  17. angmar

    angmar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI Founders
    Your PSU is fine...I run a heavily overclocked GTX 480 and i5 2500k both heavily oc'd on a 600 watt psu and it works perfectly fine.
     
  18. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Yeah but your psu isnt A piece of $hit like that coolermaster. Which is an actual 450watt
     
  19. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    wow thats a bad psu
     
  20. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    You can't just make a general statement like that.
    Yes some of CM's units are junk but Cooler Master don't make their own PSU's, they are manufactured by about 6 different OEM's so the quality varies depending on the model.

    The OP's Extreme Power is made by Seventeam......prob not the best.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012

Share This Page