GTX 460 performance issue

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Saifz, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. Saifz

    Saifz Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    460 Zotac 1gb 800/2000
    GTX 460 performance issue help?

    I know there has been a lot of talk about gpu usage about gtx 400 series but i wanna know a few things.

    1st is my cpu bottlnecking my gpu performance

    2nd is my card defective or something cause usually i get about 60% usage man on all games (except mafia 2 and benchmarks where i get around 99% but sometimes it drops or so) Driver 260.99

    3rd Also note that my gpu is running at core and shader 800/1600 and 2000 memory at 975mv and my cpu is o.ced to 3.5ghz

    What can i do to solve this

    Just ran 3dmark06 and got 16406 at default everything

    im using win7 64bit with 4gb of G skill memory at 1333 and 1TB WD blue 7200rpm with 32mb cache

    <=========Also how do i change the specs lol
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
  2. Sever

    Sever Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy 3GB 660TI
    1. most likely.

    2. depends on what game youre running. if it has an fps cap or if you have vsync on, then it wont run at 100%. it will vary its load to maintain the constant framerate (60fps with vsync on or 90fps in cod games). but if its doing it for games without framerate caps and your cpu usage is at 100%, then its linked to the first question, your cpu is a bottleneck.
     
  3. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,029
    Likes Received:
    929
    GPU:
    1080Ti + Xtreme III
    Leave task manager running while you play games.
    If any core gets to 90% occupancy (not necessarily the whole cpu), you are running out of cpu power.
     
  4. ravageuk

    ravageuk Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 580 SLI
    CPU definately bottlenecks.
     

  5. Raptor5150

    Raptor5150 Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA GTX460 SC EE
    My whole system bottlenecks my cards lol, but games stilll run great....saving for upgrade atm :)
     
  6. Saifz

    Saifz Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    460 Zotac 1gb 800/2000
    what processor should i choose in the am3 socket range that will completely eliminate it?
     
  7. maleficarus™

    maleficarus™ Banned

    Messages:
    3,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX460 800/1600/4000
    Hi I just ran out today and upgraded my video card to a Asus GTX460 1GB DirectCU model that has a factory clock of 675MHz core, 1800Mhz memory (3600 effective) and 1350MHz shaders. I overclocked my card using Asus smart doctor to 725MHz core, 1900Mhz memory (3800 effective) and 1450MHz shaders. I scored in 3dmark06 16920 points so as you can see our results are on par with eachother athough I am on a dual core 3Ghz chip overclocked to 3.6Ghz.

    My BF2BC2 frame rate has a much better minimum frame rate but not really better average rate over my GTS250, but I do not have any stuttering issues. What I have noticed is the first few seconds after a map loads it takes several seconds for my frame rate to smooth out, then it is fine no problems. I am wondering if this is a GTX issue or what?

    To update specs click on "usercp menu above...
     
  8. Sever

    Sever Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy 3GB 660TI
    one of the quads should be decent. a 965be should be dirt cheap. if youre up for a hexacore, the 1090t has dropped into the $200-300 range in some countries in preparation for the launch of the 1100t.
     
  9. Saifz

    Saifz Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    460 Zotac 1gb 800/2000
    Im just thinking sinc ei dont have any money for an upgrade as of now do u think i can o.c my cpu to 3.8ghz from 3.5ghz to reduce the bottleneck ? Thats the max i can oc this chip

    i just checked in windows task manger while playing bc2 with everything turned up 1080p (no AA) my gpu usage is around 55% mark and my cpu usage is around 60% or so
     
  10. ravageuk

    ravageuk Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 580 SLI

    Overclocking your CPU an extra 300mhz wont change how it performs at its current clock, you'd be lucky to even see a 1FPS difference... all your doing is increasing the risk of messing your CPU up unless you 100% know what your doing?

    Personally id wait untill i had enough to buy a more upto date CPU.
     

Share This Page