gtx 295 weird temp problem

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by youngestlinton, Feb 8, 2010.

1. youngestlinton

youngestlinton Member

GPU:
    GTX295
    Hi,

I'm having a strange problem with my 295. I've been running it fine now for 4 months, but last week I started getting random freezes. To begin with a thought it looked like a hard drive problem, but no. I then realised I'd updated my drivers about 4 days before. So I uninstalled all my nvidia drivers and left the PC running without any for 4 hours, and no freezes! I then went back to the 190 drivers (from 195) but I was still getting crashes.

The freezing leaves everything on the screen but the computer is completely unresponsive. Yet, sometimes, my music continues to play.

After some thinking I thought maybe it was a temperature problem. So I played a little CoD MW2 and temperatures didn't go above about 75oC which should be fine, but STILL it froze. :bang: However, I still had the nagging feeling it was the card. I set the fan to 100% and now I'm getting no freezes... But it's not really a solution, it sounds like a jumbo jet :p

Am I dealing with a dying card? :( It'd odd because I've always been careful and it's never gone above 80oC. Shame.

2. ibitato

ibitato Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
    hello
    i guess you nead to open and clean it up
    also,you might want to replace the thermal paste with new one

all 2-in-1 gpus owners ,we are coursed by the temp issues

also, make sure the airflow in the case its good

3. ---TK---

---TK--- Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    psu make and model? amps on 12v rail.?

4. youngestlinton

youngestlinton Member

GPU:
    GTX295
    Hiper 580w

I understand this is below the minimum but I checked out reviews and they all logged well below that with better hardware and overclocks.