GTX 280/260 overclocks thread

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by Rodman, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. Nato.dbnz

    Nato.dbnz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5870 Crossfire
    Currently running my XFX standard clock 280 at 671/1457/2500 which is about what the XXX version is released at. Haven't noticed any issues over the last few days and had a Vantage score increase of 1200 over stock clocks so I think I'll push it further soon.
     
  2. TRYJAY

    TRYJAY New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 280 (2) SLI
    =========================================================
    I have two gtx 280 (EVGA) in sli mode and wonder if they need overclocking at all
    What tool would I would have to use to overclock them both?
    And would it be werth it?
    =========================================================
    :banana:
     
  3. SS_FireHawk

    SS_FireHawk Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 280 @ 783/1566/2450
    q6600@ 4.0 ghz 1.6v @ -10c on (vapochill) jerry rigged 939 to 775 socket conversion. (probably better temps with right socket)

    gtx 280 @ 765/1535/2700 benching on WC. All on Vista 64 & 790i

    Vantage= 15322 single gpu/ 12424 gpu score / 45634 cpu score

    3dmark06= 19424

    Gaming, gpu frequencies @ 740/1530/2700. They wont run on bench frequencies. Crysis will get gpu 60c+ on water with a pa 120.3 rad, mcp 355 pump, and a 700ml radiator. I need a real Gtx 280 WB Using a big ass Koolance NB cooler that fits perfectly on gpu core.

    Installing MC
    MCP 452 Waterchiller as soon as I get another PSU to power it to add to GPU loop :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2008
  4. W@w@Y

    W@w@Y Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,145
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Oced my GTX260 to 700 core (linked w shader) and 1105 memory..

    pushed to 720 core and got artifacts.. a few days later my GTX 260 died (while playing warhead) :(

    luckily the distributor gave me on spot replacement
     

  5. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    479
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    Lol, what clocks it at now?
     
  6. W@w@Y

    W@w@Y Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,145
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    back to stock :D
     
  7. mokrejbandita

    mokrejbandita New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 295 (697/1530/1252)
    Asus GTX 260 756/1512/2400 177.41WHQL

    4h ATITool ( no errors, no yellow parts),2h FurMark v1.40 + games ( Crysis, Warhead, Clear Sky ) All without problems.. :)

    The card I have a two months overclocked and still stable, ROCK stable..I love this card..

    but maximum on mems is 1205 , 1206 and artifacts in ATITool, so i get down to 1193(1188 effective). Thats the limit by me Card, the mems:3eyes:

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    validation GPU-Z: http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/u7bdw/
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2008
  8. Jonny Manc

    Jonny Manc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3070 OC
    I got that too......tho atitool talked about delta information or something like that...yet it did not class it as an error :bang:

    I just dropped my shaders back to 1404 from ~1450 (core @ 675, mem @ 1188) and it was fine.......

    Anyone clear wtf this is?
     
  9. mokrejbandita

    mokrejbandita New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 295 (697/1530/1252)
    I dont have problem with this, no yellow parts, no errors...
    change multiplier core vs shaders...

    Try this 732/1484...
     
  10. d1fferent

    d1fferent Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    Were you get Warhead is it out?

    Thanks.
     

  11. Nato.dbnz

    Nato.dbnz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5870 Crossfire
    It's available on Steam and probably on the shelves by now too.
     
  12. burtethead

    burtethead Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    xfx gtx 260 naddu
    gtx 260 oc

    Alright, so i basically have my heat issue fixed, turned out i needed more intake and to run the gtx fan at 90% all the time, but now it wont break 70c under load. as opposed to the 105c it used to hit. anyway, using rivatuner, i got what seemed to be a stable overclock of 747/1590/2562 (human head, medusa, 3dmarks06, furmark 2 mins all worked fine) but when i tried ATItool i got billions of artifacts. so, not stable. now, im trying 769/1538/2562, which gives me no artifacts whatsoever, but crashes during furmark. should i ignore the artifacts since clearly my graphic intensive tests work fine regardless? what do you guys think?
     
  13. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    479
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    Reduce that oc until it neither artifacts or crashes.
     
  14. namklam

    namklam Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX 280 OCE2
    I'm at whatever the BFG GTX 280 OCE runs at, but getting some nasty heat issues with Crysis Warhead and S.T.A.L.K.E.R: Clear Sky. I was hoping there was an aftermarket VGA cooler of some type available, but I haven't seen anything so far..
     
  15. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    479
    GPU:
    RX Vega

  16. burtethead

    burtethead Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    xfx gtx 260 naddu
    got it stable

    no need to reduce, the issue was heat suprisingly enough. despite the fact that this card was once idling at 63 and hitting 90 regularly, its having heat issues with an overclock. I just had to give it a little more airflow and set the fan to 100%. now it has no errors for 10 mins with atitool, and furmark 1920x1200 4x aa for 10 minutes. now it doesnt pass 60c and it seems to like the OC better because of it. 769 clock, 1538 shader, 2562 mem. not bad right?
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2008
  17. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    479
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    Nice oc, but I find with gt 200 based cards that even if furmark finds no artifacts at 80c, playing games such as crysis or oblivion at high res can cause tearing/ artifacts at relatively lower temps.

    In my case running the shader clock at 1512 shows no artifacts in furmark until it is made to go past a core temp of 80c yet in crysis even 70c wil start to cause artifacts at the same clock rate, I was able to find a compromise between temps, clocks and fan noise by reducing clock rates from 738/1512/1350 and using rivatuner to setup my own low level fan control profile.
     
  18. supersym

    supersym Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI gtx 980
    hello everybody !
    is nibitor able to really modify the voltage ?
    If yes what is your experience (1.2 v 1.3 v ...)
    Thanks
     
  19. W@w@Y

    W@w@Y Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,145
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    actually got it the day of release (sep 16) as EA's Asia-Pacific HQ is in Singapore :D
     
  20. Kolt

    Kolt Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,652
    Likes Received:
    507
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    I can only manage to get my OC to 640/1107mem/1377 shader from stock (602/1107/1296). Anymore and my monitors shut off after a bit of play or I'll see artifacting. Temps go up to 80c under load, idle around 53c. I have fan set to 100% 24/7. Kinda disappointing. Was hoping to reach at least 700. I don't think it has anything to do with temps. With 650 temps were around the same, but got bad artifacting and the monitor outputs cut off (Dualview) after a little while. I can only manage a GPU score of 10787 in Vantage right now. I'm hoping BigBangII driver optimizations includes better overclockability for 200s if possible.
     

Share This Page