Gtx 1080 Unplayable stuttering. Help?!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Snucks, Sep 11, 2017.

1. Snucks

Snucks Guest

GPU:
    MSI R9 280x 3GB
    I'm pretty new to this. I just finished this build last night, first one i have built solo. I downloaded all the drivers, updated windows and when i load up GTA V and start the opening mission the fps is unplayable. I don't understand, help?

Specs:
    -Asus Strix 1080 OC edition (stock)
    -i5 7600k @ 3.8GHz (stock)
    -G.Skill Trident z 3000mhz (stock)
    -550w EVGA supernova psu
    -Corsair H100i v2 cooler
    -Asrock z270 Extreme4 mobo

I have not tweaked my system's hardware at all, everything is how it was out of box with me installing drivers.

https://imgur.com/a/awZv9

https://imgur.com/a/jog95

https://imgur.com/a/W5tI1

https://imgur.com/a/cRnDR

https://imgur.com/a/zVouW

Pics are from first ten minutes of opening level of GTA5 at very high settings. In the witcher 3 at ultra settings I get 90 to 120 fps with no stuttering and I get a solid 144fps in FFXIV with no stuttering either(I think those are good fps for a 1080 stock?...atleast there is no stuttering) Seems its only GTA when it comes to those three games I have tested. Please help GTA is totally unplayable.

(I don't know if it matters, but could it be cause i have a the gpu which needs a 8+6 pin connector and i only have one vga cable that has the 8+6 cable in it instead of two vga cables?)

Please help? If i need to add more info, let me know.

2. cryohellinc

cryohellinc Ancient Guru

GPU:
    RX 6750XT/ MAC M1
    Sounds like your PSU struggles.

3. tfam26

tfam26 Guest

+1

Also, as you said its completely "out of the box", I assume you haven't done any fiddling with your motherboard's bios. You might try to check your bios settings to see if your CPU is being drastically overvolted and is overheating or something along those lines.

4. alanm

alanm Ancient Guru

GPU:
    RTX 4080