GTA IV messed up in 10.7

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by tomb18, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. tomb18

    tomb18 Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x8800GTX SLI
    Try running grand theft auto. Crossfire gives you maximum 800x600. If you disable crossfire it works but there is massive artifacts, missing textures (heads for example! only teeth show). This is on a 2x5960 system. Tried it with xfire and non-xfire.
    I went back to 10.4 and GTA works flawlessly.


    Can someone else confirm? It seems that once it starts messing up, then it gets worse. If you go into the menu and change something in the graphics section then it improves for a short while and then goes right back.


    I am using the cards at stock speeds.
     
  2. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    791
    GPU:
    AsRock RX 6700XT
    I suggest you to go back to 10.4a, they are sweet for GTAIV
    Wait for other suggestions, of course. But, i tell you, those where the best drivers for this game, for me at least.
     
  3. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,774
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Missing textures = out of video memory. Reduce video memory use or try a different driver that uses less memory (if that turns out to be the issue).
    I dont use stock ATI drivers any more because they are released hosed.
    TwL un-hoses them, I suggest trying his driver mods.
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=322616
     
  4. jskyg

    jskyg Master Guru

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    powercolor 5850@775/1125
    it runs really good on single card configs (or at least on my pc) cant say if it's as good or better than previous drivers.
     

  5. isidore

    isidore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,276
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI GamingOC
    you don't wanna now how gta 4 was running on my system with 10.7, it was like i had 512mb of ram..it was stuttering like ****.
     
  6. tomb18

    tomb18 Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x8800GTX SLI
    Fixed

    Well I did a bit of experimenting. In the 10.4 drivers, the graphics settings gave a maximum of 1024M of memory. IN the 10.7 drivers, it showed 2048M (crossfire).
    Now in reality, there is not 2048M available for xfire, but rather 1024 per card right? So if something new in the driver makes GTA think it has 2048M of memory for textures, things are going to be really messed up.
    So I tried putting a commandline of -availablevidmem 0.5, effectively telling it that 1024M was available.
    That fixed it! No more problems. I can play completely maxed out at 2560x1600 and do the benchmark at 55 fps.
    Pretty sweet. performs better than the 10.4's
     
  7. The Chubu

    The Chubu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
    Yeah, the data on the memory in one card is mirrored to the other card. So the memory limit of one card is the memory limit on the another card. If GTA IV uses more than 1Gb in your case, it will pool the memory in the hard drive, effectively causing stuttering. So, thats it xD.
     
  8. dshramek

    dshramek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Episodes from Liberty City is running great in xfire 5770s. I get around 45-50 fps @ 1920*1200. My old GTX275 barely broke 30fps.
     
  9. crushilista

    crushilista Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 670
    TwLs works fine for me, but then again stock 10.5 broke it for me horribly. All depends on the individual card.
     

Share This Page