1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

gta 5 crossfire does not work properrly!!

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fullban, Apr 14, 2015.

  1. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I will take a look at crossfire specific options on CCC now that you showed your expertise on benchmarks i must leave the testings myself.

    I can't be up to par with such nice benchmark graphs so i have more time for tuning this game:)
     
  2. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Fwiw the PF graph in Afterburner is actually Committed Memory not pagefile..

    So he's using about 15GB same as you.
     
  3. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    We learn new things everyday, thanks. :)

    This is a good "shortcut" to see commited memory and with a graph!

    I can't understand why the AB dev labeled commited memory as pagefile they are diferent values...

    ???
     
  4. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,072
    Likes Received:
    49
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I don't know why it's named that but you can rename it yourself! :)
     

  5. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I know i can rename all graph titles in AB.

    I can even name "FPS" graph "MESS GRAPH" or "GPU1 temperature" as "Polar circle is here":D

    I simply remarks the nonsense of naming one values to a name not related.

    :nerd:
     
  6. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    MS incorrectly labeled the PF graph in XP Task Manager and never fixed it, Unwinder just kept the name..
     
  7. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    It seems the AB dev is not a friend of "fast" changes :D

    If you know more fancy labels names in AB please share....
     
  8. Sharoth

    Sharoth Master Guru

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2080 OC
    Ok. smart ass... So.. If a single 290x can't max out my games at 1080p @ 60fps, why wouldn't a 2nd 290x be the exact remedy to my problem? I've been into computers and gaming for around 30 years now.. I've built more systems for clients/companies than you have probably even seen in your lifetime. I am by no stretch of the imagination a 'noob' when it comes to computers and gaming. Just because I didn't shell out another couple hundred bucks on a 1440p monitor, which isnt cost effective since you are not even getting double the pixels as a 1080p, that makes me a noob? I chose to buy 3 new 24in 1080p monitors as I need them for my broadcoast studio that I stream from on twitch.tv. Another reason 1440p wouldn't be worth it, because I only stream at 720p and if you have a decent 1080p monitor with a good enough dot pitch, 1080p will look damn good. So go run along run your mouth on some other forum because for what I have seen here is no one is buying into your bs remedies or accusations. If one 290x can't handle what im trying to do, its pretty logical to throw in another one.. Knowing when I built the box 2 months ago that a single 290x wouldnt max everything at 1080p since I came from a 780ti which is much more powerful than a 290x. So I went with 2 right off the bat... got them for $300 a piece after the price drop.. Probably the smartest purchase of my new build to be honest.. Anyway.. Sorry for the rant but I'm tired of seeing these idiots come onto a site/forum I have been apart of for well over a decade now and talk **** when they clearly don't know wtf they're talking about..
     
  9. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Not telling the truth about the settings you use in GTA V doesn't make you smarter than anybody else or gives you the right to insult.

    Nobody can achieve the frame range you said you reach because it's simply imposible.

    That's a proven fact not my opinion.


    I don't say that you are lying.

    What you say it's simply false and proven false. :)

    Is posible that you are playing tetris BTW? :D

    The game is EQUALLY unoptimized for me and for anybody using it with crossfire.

    It doesn't matter if its my system, yours or the Pope system. :D

    You are the ONLY one posting this strangely high FPS range with crossfire and not ridiculously low in-game settings.

    Being the ONLY one makes you unique and special.

    You should be happy and not angry insulting people.

    Maybe you could make a fortune selling this uniqur pair of superpowa GPUs. :)

    I understand you have no idea about what you are trying to talk about.

    Your lack of evidence to back your proven false statements and the insults you called me shows it beyond any doubt.

    Maybe you think you are smarter or your arguments are stronger due to the number of post you wrote.

    Don't fool yourself:

    The amount of post you wrote doesn't matter in this case (i doubt it matters in any other case...), you are still wrong and it's proved.

    "offence is not caused by those who want to but by those who can"

    Thanks to never reply me again, i'm tired to being insulted by people who doesn't know how to count their own hand fingers.

    You can't help me or anybody else: you are lost in your fantasy.

    You can lower the range you get to "mostly 60-90" and still be plain wrong.
     
  10. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Erm I can...

    Everything maxed except MSAA, DoF (annoying) and Advanced Graphics. Locked at a solid 72FPS.

    Seems like you're the problem, not the game.

    "Fact", he says :p

    Always the same people with all the issues, I really wonder...
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2015

  11. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    You get it wrong.

    If i mutilate the in-game settings i can also achieve high FPS.

    This is not the point of discussion in this thread.

    The low GPU usage in crossfire setups is real.
     
  12. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Listen. Even people with Titan X's cannot run the game reliably with those settings jacked up.

    It's not called mutilating, it's called being reasonable.

    I can't do 1440p 72FPS with one card. Both GPUs sit around 75%-94% when I'm at a straight 72FPS, dipping to 70FPS with GPU usage maxed.

    If that isn't CrossFire working, then I don't know what is.
     
  13. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I (We) know it's not posible.

    It's a fact even if some say it's working for them (him).

    This thread is about the VERY low GPU usage problem in crossfire playing this game while using it with "expected" settings for....

    ....crossfire.

    you are right, call me unreasonable. :)

    My expectation is high from a couple of expensive GPUs: i would like to use them at their full or near full potential not at 45-75% range in this game in the City.

    I know that i'm not alone in this unreasonable expectation.
     
  14. Sharoth

    Sharoth Master Guru

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2080 OC
    Well.. new drivers didn't fix the stuttering issue with crossfire for me.. Back to playing on a single card... yay..
     
  15. seaplane pilot

    seaplane pilot Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2080Ti Strix
    I have 2x 290x game with high & some very high settings with 2x/ 16x / @ 1440p/ 100Hz vsynced & crossfire works fine, no stutters. But sometimes I get random frame drops in the 60 fps range for a split second & noticed it is mostly happening when I am in 1st person view while driving or as a passanger.
     

  16. XWolfGhost

    XWolfGhost Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 290x 4GB x2
    Yes, all it did was lower my fps and the stuttering remained. So far I've tried disabling core parking, overclocking my CPU to 4.8GHz, and installing Vbs'(1018.1) driver. The driver improved things slightly but it is still unplayable. I think these show the kind of stuttering I'm getting pretty well(limits are a little high but you can still see the difference).

    CF On
    [​IMG]

    Same settings, CF Off
    [​IMG]

    This is with the Vbs(1018.1) driver, driving along the same route in game.
    Ignore Suggested Limits : ON
    DirectX Version: DirectX11
    Screen Type: Fullscreen
    Resolution: 2560 x 1440
    Aspect Ratio: Auto
    Refresh Rate: 60

    FXAA: On
    MMSAA: X2 (tried X8, only a performance hit, stuttering remained in CF)
    VSync: On
    Population Density: 100%
    Population Variety: 100%
    Distance Scaling: 100%
    Texture Quality: Very High
    Shader Quality: Very High
    Shadow Quality: Very High
    Reflection Quality: Very High
    Reflection MSAA: X2
    Water Quality: Very High
    Particles Quality: Very High
    Grass Quality: Normal
    Soft Shadows: Softest
    Post FX: High
    Motion Blur Strength: 0%
    Anisotropic Filtering: x16
    Ambient Occlusion: High
    Tesselation: Very High

    Advanced Graphics - Video Memory: 6132/8192
    Long Shadows: On
    High Resolution Shadows: Off
    High Detail Streaming While Flying: On
    Extended Distance Scaling: 60%
    Extended Shadows Distance: 60%
     
  17. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Thanks to share your experience. :)

    The frametime showed in CFX case is really bad!

    What is the polling rate you use in Afterburner?

    Can you test if you get less stutter and better frametime (more stable frametime) disabling Vsync?

    Can you add GPU usage graph for non-CFX and the GPU 1 and GPU 2 usage in case of CFX use?
     
  18. XWolfGhost

    XWolfGhost Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 290x 4GB x2
    I was using 2000 ms, switched to 1000 ms for these. Settings are the same except for no Vsync.

    X2 MSAA
    [​IMG]

    X8 MSAA
    [​IMG]

    X2 MSAA
    [​IMG]

    Oddly my GPU usage with X8 MSAA CF has dropped slightly this time around. I'll have see what's going on.
     
  19. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Maybe but the FPS, frametime and GPU usage is more stable.

    If you take a closer look at GPU usage in CFX:

    At X2:

    The GPU usage goes from 40 to 70% and the frametime variance is HUGE.

    The FPS range goes from 36 to 84. (rounded from 10 "square" steps in the vertical axis from 0 to 120)

    The CPU usage and the load balance between cores is very good.


    At 8X:

    The GPU usage has a narrower range from 50 to 70% and the frametime variance is cut in half but not enough to solve the stutter.

    The FPS range is also narrow but suffers a big hit with this setting from 24 to 48 FPS.

    The CPU usage is the opposite of what is occuring with the GPU: the range is wider and the usage is lower!

    In you system i bet the best compromise will be X4 giving you a range of FPS around the 60 target with a better CPU usage than X8 and a frametime delivery (stutter) between what you get with X2 and X8..

    Try it with and without Vsync and get what is better for you . :)

    Are you using MSAA reflection settings in concordance with MSAA settings?
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2015
  20. b0uncyfr0

    b0uncyfr0 Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gaming XXX 1070
    This is not crossfire related but if anyone cold answer then i'd be happy. Is the Catalayst CCC working with GTA V properly? I seen a few threads on it as well but haven't confirmed it.

    Currently if settings are changed like Vsync and Anistropic = it doesnt do jack sh*t.
     

Share This Page