1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Grand Theft Auto 5 Thread Pt. 3

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by WhiteLightning, Apr 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,856
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    GPU:
    .
    When you start the game, the vsync behaves as if you've set it to half, ie., game runs at 30 fps. An alt tab or cycling the setting back to On will fix it.
     
  2. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,216
    Likes Received:
    406
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Same here, got a 1.2Gb one for The Evil Within as well. :p
     
  3. Stone Gargoyle

    Stone Gargoyle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,744
    Likes Received:
    400
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 G1
    Well I for one am certain that the patch caused a pretty noticable drop in performance. The game doesn't feel as smooth for me as it was prior (in the exact same area) and my average fps has most definitely seen a reduction. Anyone else noticed the same?
     
  4. TR2N

    TR2N Master Guru

    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    AMD

  5. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming 8G
    The values fix the bug where the shadows look low-res until you get close, then they do a weird transition to high-res. I haven't really tested it for performance but I don't think it impacts fps much.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
  6. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming 8G
    Another option for people who need to save fps is disable High Resolution Shadows and use Softer Shadows. Still looks decent. I've also found that the Extra Shadow Distance can be maxed out and Long Shadows enabled with minimal performance loss.
     
  7. dshramek

    dshramek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Fuu******k....The patch screwed up the Social Club files on my pc. Only ways to fix is to uninstall Social Club, which says I have to uninstall ALL ROCKSTAR APPS, meaning the whole game..... another 60gb download.......
    The only version of Social Club installer is v.1.1.5.6. When I try to install, it says I have newer version 1.1.5.8 & it exits.....ARRRRGGGGHHHHH
     
  8. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,347
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    *Remembers not to open 2 pages back at work.....too late

    :)
     
  9. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,987
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    why most sites when recommending nvidia cards
    they mention

    660

    760

    980 or 970

    TITAN X



    why not list the 780?

    I feel left out when reading the sites

    if system has enough memory, you can run the game at 4k with everything max except for AA settings. and still get good fps.

    my system commit charge has been running around 17gb with the game.
     
  10. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,216
    Likes Received:
    406
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Check out that side boob!

    :D
     

  11. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,605
    Likes Received:
    899
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti Gaming X
    nVidia really act like cretins regarding MFAA for SLI -.-

    Not that I've felt the need to OC yet but I can try to throw +100 on the core and +250 on the mem and see what happens :p
     
  12. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    2080ti watercooled
    flawlesswidescreen guy released a ptach for weird aspect ratio's like 17:9 or 21:9

    it works pretty good
     
  13. Keesberenburg

    Keesberenburg Master Guru

    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 TI sc
    Pffff even with advanced options off i still have fps drops to low 35-40 fps on a gtx 980 i7 3820 4500mhz. FXAA and all options to the max (not MSAA). The framdrops are only in the north east to north on the highway.
     
  14. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,678
    Likes Received:
    314
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    I see more than side boob. :)
     
  15. Forceflow

    Forceflow Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1060
    Hey there,

    I've finished a little tool, the GTA 5 settings.xml parser. It's an easy script to convert your settings.xml file to a readable, pastable settings block. No more taking screenshots of your settings, or tediously typing everything.

    It's live on http://www.forceflow.be/gta5settingsparser/

    For example, this is my settings block:

    Thought it might come in handy!
     

  16. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    27,817
    Likes Received:
    821
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    i think it needs some work as i get this message

    UNKNOWN SOFT SHADOW QUALITY

    its this setting ? <Shadow_SoftShadows value="5" />

    also the sliders from advanced graphic options are missing ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
  17. Dorlor

    Dorlor Banned

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x evga 780 ti sc acx
  18. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    27,817
    Likes Received:
    821
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
  19. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    The game has some color banding issues in some places.
     
  20. Danwillysxi

    Danwillysxi Master Guru

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Zotac 1080 FE
    Why did we require a patch? I have a 21:9 monitor and all seems fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page