GPU running at 8x on pci-e slot

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by death_samurai, Feb 16, 2015.

  1. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    i agree with that comment, i have done loads of testing at x16 and x8, no difference between the two that i could notice.
     
  2. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Strange, when I had an issue with my PCIe slot stuck @ x8, I only realised there was a problem because I noticed the performance was suffering for some reason

    And that was with either a 7870 or a 290, was a while back

    Games were stuttering, frames were worse than normal, checked GPUz, stuck @ x8

    Fixed it, performance returned to normal
     
  3. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,800
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    Two things. He only has PCIe 2.0 as he is using a sandy bridge CPU. Second the number two slot on that motherboard is only physically wired for x8.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    365
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    Like I said. You have 2 x16 slots but only the first one will run at that speed.
     

  5. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,531
    Likes Received:
    6,367
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    PCIe2.0 x8? I wouldn't trust PCIe 3.0 x4 for my main GPU either :)


    I didn't check on that, sorry. But yeah, that seems about right :)
     
  6. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream
    I wonder if it's the same for me.

    I don't think i ever encountered your kind of problems though.

    OK so i guess it's just that my mobo only runs 2nd pci e slot at x8 so i guess that's solved.
     
  7. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Why does the boards manufactures site say otherwise?

    Manual and images say x8, manufacturers site says x16
     
  8. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,800
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    That is because it is a PCIe x16 socket physically not a x4 or X1. It's a full size slot just not "wired" to x16. This is common especially on intel boards as the consumer level CPUs only have 20 PCI lanes.
     
  9. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream
    is this only for my board or for all boards? I understand mine is an mATX form factor so may not have as many features as the ATX boards.

    Mine is an enthusiast board and i'm just surprised it has such limitations.
     
  10. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,800
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    You have an enthusiast level motherboard but the z68 chipset only supports 20 PCIe lanes.
     

  11. mykledw

    mykledw Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi RTX GT 2080
    I always wondered that too. Never occurred to look at the bottom of the mobo and see the physical layout.....
     
  12. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream
    I switched it back to the 1st slot and it runs at x1 speed now?

    WTF is this?

    Seems like my mobo has entered the twilight zone.

    screenshot from gpuz using it's screenshot function while running the test it doesn't screen shot the test

    [​IMG]
     
  13. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream
    All right i took it out resat it 1st time nothing shows on screen. I do it again and this time it shows, check the mobo and it shows it running at x16.

    I do the cpuz and gpuz and both show the correct setting.

    Did you know cpuz showed my card's memory at 2ghz when it's supposed to be 4ghz.

    This is just crazy who knew that resetting in your damn gpu into a slot would create so much problems.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream
    I ran benchmarks while it was at x1 speed and only half the memory was detected. RE6 was pretty bad below 60fps which i didn't record down.

    Valley bench was still ok. This proves that even if you slot in your gpu, rams you need to check on them. The dust inside the pc casing for example or maybe improper slotting of these components might cause problems.

    Valley bench at x1 pci-e

    [​IMG]

    At x16

    [​IMG]
     
  15. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,531
    Likes Received:
    6,367
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Pretty much looks like there's some minor problems with this, since I'm surprised you didn't see x16 at the first try putting your card in. I hope it stays at x16 for now, but good you found out what the problem was.
     

  16. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream
    How would i know?

    Like it doesn't immediately announce it's x16 or x8 when you slot it into the sli-e slot unless you check on the mobo or use software right?

    Anyway my issue here initially was that it was at x8 on the 2nd pci e slot which has already been explained. Previously i slotted it into the x16 slot which btw didn't have a problem and was running at x16 but the dvi cable sort of got into the way with the speaker wires plugged into the jacks so i decided to move it back to the 2nd slot and it was solved and it was just by coincidence that i checked one day and found out it was at x8 hence this thread got started and of course now that i know all of this i will be checking in future.
     
  17. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,531
    Likes Received:
    6,367
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    That just sounded you were aware of it running in x1, not x16 mode, so I thought that's what you meant.
     
  18. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Misleading specs I say, if it's not capable of x16, they shouldn't advertise it as such
     
  19. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,531
    Likes Received:
    6,367
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    PCIe lane gate? :D
     
  20. rflair

    rflair Don Coleus Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,403
    Likes Received:
    942
    GPU:
    5700XT
    [​IMG]

    It has always been like this.

    Like Tj said Intel consumer grade chips/chipsets have 20 lanes, the last 4 usually being used for the integrated graphics or other simple/less bandwidth devices.
     

Share This Page