1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GPU accelerated and enhanced x.264 MKV movie playback [Guru3D]

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Guru3D News, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. johnnyxp64nd

    johnnyxp64nd Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 TOXIC 512mb
    wow i just checked yestarday for 9.2 but there was nothing and today here they are, to be honest i am afraid to test them yet, cause i have finally my mpc and 8.12 running smoothly (besides the sunch promlem) so i will wait for other trying it out in XP, i have desided to reformat propobly this weekend and move from xp x64 sp2 to vista ult x64 sp2.

    catalyst 9.2 should be working fine in vista right?

    currently i am reading the release note of catalyst 9.2 and trying to see if the team did anything about the problem...........
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009
  2. elrazor

    elrazor Master Guru

    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 970 1512/7400
    182.06 WHQL - GPU renderer broken for MPC HC, Photoshop CS 4.
    Too bad nVidia.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  3. johnnyxp64nd

    johnnyxp64nd Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 TOXIC 512mb
    what tha hell is going one here? WHQL my a** . they only care if the fix game bugs!? video h.264 isnt in their priority list?

    some sort of epidemic stupidness in both companies! :p

    elrazor whats your os?
     
  4. elrazor

    elrazor Master Guru

    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 970 1512/7400
    XP SP3, by the way.. GPU playback work only on 181.22 and lower =(
     

  5. applejack

    applejack Master Guru

    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 GAMING X
    your OS is broken, not the driver.
    MPC-HC and Photoshop CS4 works with GPU acceleration just fine.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  6. elrazor

    elrazor Master Guru

    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 970 1512/7400
    maybe your mind is broken.. otherwise your OS is Vista X64?
     
  7. applejack

    applejack Master Guru

    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 GAMING X
    it doesn't matter, you have your own "facts" to feed on.
     
  8. elrazor

    elrazor Master Guru

    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 970 1512/7400
  9. applejack

    applejack Master Guru

    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 GAMING X
    yea i've seen your post in the driver thread, looks like you don't understand what you'r talking about.
    or maybe cannot install a driver properly.
    at least vista 32 has no problems here. i'll wait for someone else to report broken GPU acceleration in XP SP3 as confirmation.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009
  10. elrazor

    elrazor Master Guru

    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 970 1512/7400
    How u explain that.. i was on 181.22 and EVR renderer was worked in XP SP3..:3eyes:
     

  11. lightzout

    lightzout New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800 GTS 640
    Great read, one question...

    3. 1080p capable monitor/TV

    I have a MCE2005 machine with a 6600AGP card which I love to use on my office monitor. Its not great but it does the main job which is recording shows I like. I realize this is a bottleneck for HDTV playback and I will also need to upgrade my MCE150 TV card too I think. So I am hoping the OEM OS will let me upgrade to my spare PCI-platform. I use VLC and the media center so I can follow directions well enough. One problem remains.


    I don't own the third requirement for 1080p playback, namely, a monitor or TV with said resolution. Right now we have a 30" sony wega CRT HDTV that I believe only plays up to 1080i and my biggest monitor is only 1680x1050 max resolution. BUT I am looking to get a new monitor soon. What are the best, reasonably priced options to get 1080p playback? Any specific models recommended would be appreciated since I want to upgrade soon.

    Thanks!


    L*Z
     
  12. Vali Carpati

    Vali Carpati Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward 7300GT Gs GLH
    Catalyst 9.2 does not work with XP.
    8.12 work's just fine, but with this one i get BSOD in Burtout :((
     
  13. johnnyxp64nd

    johnnyxp64nd Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 TOXIC 512mb
  14. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    35,911
    Likes Received:
    5,015
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  15. johnnyxp64nd

    johnnyxp64nd Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 TOXIC 512mb
    "Wow right infront of me the solution was"

    i Love you, i dont need the context menu, the timeline volume pause play all those needed are displayed just perfectly

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!:thumbup:
     

  16. dragoneyes001

    dragoneyes001 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI X1950 256mb
    good player needed a new alternative and so far the settings seem to work fine although haven't really tried any movies just H264 files.
     
  17. johnnyxp64nd

    johnnyxp64nd Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 TOXIC 512mb
    yes it is and if you just add the QuickTime Alternative and Real Alternative (who uses real player files thought anymore?) this player is the BEST!

    i wish microsoft could make MP 12 have all those options and abilities too for Windows 7!
     
  18. jed_tb

    jed_tb Master Guru

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 5870
    interesting article, i used to use bsplayer for 1080p content but might try this tonight aslong as my 5.1 works fine.

    i also like the fact that considering guru3d gets so up tight by pirates , this article has piracy written all over it lmao - heroes and dark knight ripped. good stuff guru3d!
     
  19. johnnyxp64nd

    johnnyxp64nd Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 TOXIC 512mb
    having recorded a tvshow for your joy or copy a blue ray disk for backup again or your joy only and not publishing arroung has nothing to do with piracy! what the guy tested is 100% legal, and after all they are advertise those tv shows and movies.

    also most of them are available for online view, no need to pirate them.

    they are know what they are doing not worry, and in the end if there is reference to piracy and torrents, well its part of the internet too and to be honest most of those people we cant avoid it and everybody at least once has download 1-2 of those. but i repeat the article is clean, and doesnt not promote piracy on the other hand it promotes movies, players, technology, and everyday needs, i think this is the best article Guru3d ever wrote in years!
     
  20. Vali Carpati

    Vali Carpati Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward 7300GT Gs GLH
    C'mon ppl, a solution for catalyst 9.2 and XP?
     

Share This Page