Goodbye Catalyst Control Center :D

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by shankly1985, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. mysteriously

    mysteriously Guest

    When I tested Omegas 14.12 vs 15.10 I had an average 2-3 FPS more with Omegas in NFS Carbon, NFS U2, Serious Sam HD: The Second Encounter and Serious Sam 3: BFE. The biggest problem for HD6320 is the blacklisting in web browsers due to unresolved driver issues. Hardware H264 decoding in Firefox, Chrome is blocked... Did not yet try driver mod to workaround this.
     
  2. FunkyMike

    FunkyMike Master Guru

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
    I hope so too! Maybe it will be out with the new Windows build.
     
  3. passenger

    passenger Master Guru

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX580 8GB
    Same here, everyone knows about this...and AMD didn't said this with no reason in their new Crimson preview : "10x faster startup times".
     
  4. WarDocsRevenge

    WarDocsRevenge Master Guru

    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury-x Crossfire
    with a fresh boot it takes 1 second to open you just got to optimize
     

  5. Clocknut

    Clocknut Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit 750Ti StormX Dual
    I did not ask AMD to completely stop supporting pre-GCN GPU, but simply have AMD only make new Radeon Software use for GCN.

    And use CCC to support the legacy GPU.

    I would much prefer the new Radeon Driver to be a clean sheet, not bloated with pre-GCN support. Leave that job to CCC, instead of retiring it completely.

    Radeon Software = GCN only
    CCC = HD5000/6000.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
  6. Jackalito

    Jackalito Master Guru

    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 5700 XT
    I believe some of you are confusing the time CCC takes to open its GUI with the time it needs to load during startup.
     
  7. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,176
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Yeah. Those that have theirs startup almost instantly probably have it starting processes at Windows startup. I don't, so it takes about 3 seconds inititally, half a second after.
     
  8. Dreamcream

    Dreamcream Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 280 Dual-X
    Still have "opengl tripple buffering" :bang:

    I want directx tripple buffering, adaptive vsync.. Nvidia control panel has it but amd still not doing it :bang:
     
  9. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    I believe a while ago AMD said they wont put it in CCC because they follow MS recomendations, which states it should be implemented by the game to avoid DLL hooks.
     
  10. TheDukeSD

    TheDukeSD Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    MSI GT 1030 2GH OC
    that's the reason they don't even have some optional dx11 specifications, that's the reason they broke something regarding dx9 in 13.4, that's the reason they broke something regarding dx11 after 13.12. i assume the dx9 specifications have changed in march 2013 and dx11 specifications have changed in november 2013... both are not fixed and i doubt they will bother to fix them...
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015

  11. Garwinski

    Garwinski Member Guru

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    XFX Fury X
    But how does Nvidia do it then?
     
  12. Dch48

    Dch48 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
    I have the startup entry enabled and CCC still takes 40-90 seconds to show up after a fresh boot.
     
  13. Tree Dude

    Tree Dude Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Radeon R9 270X 2GB
    Then split the driver and have a small team fix bugs. Keeping it bundled in the current driver isn't helping anything. Basic functionality should be there (and currently is), but you cannot expect game optimizations for 5yr old hardware, especially when they did an architecture change.
     
  14. doom5

    doom5 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    What in particular is broken?
     
  15. progrox

    progrox Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 270X 2GB OC
    I don't care about the new branding either way. If it means the program will be leaner, better to navigate and offer a couple more options, I'm all for it. I've always preferred NVidia Control Panel, but CCC is *just fine*.

    I also think they've been doing okay with fixing bugs, though a couple of nasty ones remain. "Turn off the display" in Power Options is still *unusable* because it can kill video completely until you reboot. OpenGL performance on 7XXX and beyond is still terrible (CPU overhead, LWJGL for example).

    This is not black and white. I'm rooting for AMD. They've done good things. Omega was great. 15.7 has been working great. But they need to tackle these issues.
     

  16. Keno34

    Keno34 Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    R290 1150/1600
    The problem i've got with AMD is,they allways annonce stuff,a delivery date,then screw everything,and allways late and half ****ed....PLEASE AMD stop!!!
    Do your thing and annonce it when it's ready !!!!
    I love Amd hardware,but please STOP telling us we got an amazing driver you gone get it in 2017 LMAO!!!
     
  17. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,083
    Likes Received:
    164
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    So it is OK for NVIDIA to give Fermi DX12, but the 5000/6000 series that were out at the same time period, don't even get to get driver support? Are you ok in your head? Do you have any concept of market competition? Any concept of value?

    It would be a travesty to drop support for them. The 5970/6970 are still as fast as a PS4, they should be able to play EVERYTHING coming out the next year. And now they should drop support to focus on what exactly? You realize that whatever the CCC does, it can do for all cards, right? They had to PULL OUT support for VSR for the 5000/6000 series, and nobody even complained. What's wrong with you?

    The requirement of Windows 10 is WDDM 1.0. There is no "spotiness" about that.

    All the companies that don't follow MS recommendations, are doing bad I guess? Steam, Origin, the NVIDIA driver, MSI Afterburner, they all use DLL hooking. If that's the only way, AMD should do it too.
    (To be honest, I'm not even sure that they should use DLL hooking, since the games themselves send the frame/pipeline data to the driver. It's not like John Matauri or the ReShade guys are forced to do).
     
  18. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    spottiness was referring to no dx12.

    yes, RP uses hooking.

    AMDs frame limiter is at GPU level avoiding hooking. Im guessing this is the reason for the rather odd arbitrary frame limits.

    I'm just paraphrasing what AMD has said in the past, im not making a judgement call either way.

    However, it is becoming harder to hook the dls without issues (w3 and GTA5 for example)
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
  19. TheDukeSD

    TheDukeSD Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    MSI GT 1030 2GH OC
    in dx11 case it's the way 14.x/15.x drivers handle the shader, the same behaviour is happening with nvidia starting from a particular driver (i forgot the number)

    in dx9 i don't know what exactly is broken in gcn case (it's only gcn case, pre gcn cards are not affected no matter what driver you use), to be honest dx9 code for gcn looks to be broken since release (flickers up to 13.1 inclusive, 13.1 adds a nasty bug (it display stuff that it shouldn't display), 13.2 fixes the flickers and don't show up the nasty bug from 13.1 but it has some problems with geometry (some stuff is moved a couple of pixels compared to how they supposed to be), 13.3 has the same nasty bug that starts in 13.1 and is never fixed, 13.4 fixes the geometry issue present in 13.2). i don't know why it renders stuff that is not send by the code that's why i have no clue what is broken (it's like a buffer that is never refreshed and when it's used it display what was store there, ofc wrong because it supposed to be refreshed and it's not, but it doesn't happen always, it happens from time to time; when it first showed up it was insane the problem, it happens less in last drivers but it's still there, they only made it to show up less often and stay less on the screen but they never fully fix it).
     
  20. Tree Dude

    Tree Dude Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Radeon R9 270X 2GB
    The difference between Fermi and Kepler is much smaller than TeraScale and GCN. I would have required far more work on AMD's part to get DX12 working for TeraScale cards (if it is possible at all). You can't simply look at it from one point of view.
     

Share This Page