good upgrade for my 4850x2?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by the_4ork, May 9, 2013.

  1. the_4ork

    the_4ork Master Guru

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor HD4850
    Im thinking about upgrading in a few months, or this summer actually.

    Im also considering building an inexpensive apu, when the new fm2 stuff its the market the old stuff should see record low prices.

    just wondering how cheap i can build something with more performance than i have now, i can barely play DayZ on my current system with the graphics turned down WAYYY low, and to run the new shooters, i have to turn the graphics down so much they look like the old shooters. so an upgrade is def. needed, but im still running a 2.7ghz dual core as well...

    i dont even know what im asking. i guess im looknig for the best bang/buck performance for ~$400
     
  2. ToBbErT

    ToBbErT Member Guru

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x sapphire 7870
    I would start with a new motherboard,memory and a new cpu. Later add a new videocard when you got the money. Your not going to find a complete system for 400 dollars. Atleast not someting decent. The new chipset/cpu will allready make a huge difference.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2013
  3. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    400$ on Ebay may serve you well.Check some auctions like i5 750/860, 4gb/8gb, p55 motherboard and GTX5xx/HD69xx.
     
  4. airbud7

    airbud7 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,835
    Likes Received:
    4,759
    GPU:
    pny gtx 1060 xlr8

    Agree^....I went from an e8500/hd4890 setup to an i3/6870,and BOOM!!!!


    i7-4770+GTX 680 or HD7970 ....airbud would be Happy.......:)
     

  5. PNeV

    PNeV Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Armor
    With AMD releasing the FX6350, the FX6300 is cheaper now and coupled with a decent 990FX Motherboard would be a great little upgrade for not a lot of money!
     
  6. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,121
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    HD7950
    You could get a current gen i5/mobo/ram for that sort of money. If you live near a micro center they've usually got great deals on motherboards and cpu's. Reuse everything else and upgrade the GPU at a later date. That or take PNeV's advice and go AMD, you might be able to slip in a new GPU that way. If focus is playing Arma based games I'd probably lean toward Intel, they're very cpu intensive. That said, a 6300 with a decent OC should manage just fine.
     
  7. Mohammad.Taheri

    Mohammad.Taheri Master Guru

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070TI Nuke
    yes, thats a good idea.
     
  8. PNeV

    PNeV Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Armor
    Agreed, choosing the right CPU will depend purely on the applications it will be required to run. If the only two games you play are StarCraft II and Skyrim, go Intel :p. However, as the GPU becomes the limiting factor the bottleneck is placed mostly on the GPU.
     
  9. RS-X

    RS-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 super
    A few month ago my brother purchased similar configuration listed below .And I assure you that he can play most of the game in HIGH Detail. The game list include, battle field 3, Farcry 3, Crysis 3, Tomb raider, Anno 2070, DMC, Dark siders2, The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim, Max payne 3.

    I will not suggest AMD CPU, as in per clock performance Intel is way ahead. But the choice is yours.

    Processor Intel Core i3 -3220 3.3GHZ $129.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116775
    Mother board MSI Z77 ($84 after rebate $74)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130653
    RAM CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) $70
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145345

    XFX - HD 7850 ($174 but after rebate $149.99) $150
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150656

    There you go 130+74+70+150 = 428
    All you need to do is manage $28. You can sell your old parts and can manage some extra cash.

    If the HD 7850 is a bit expensive for you get HD 7790 which is almost 10% less performance
    Sapphire HD 7790 OC, $135
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202029
    With HD 7790 the total will be $413
    Happy shopping
    RS-X
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2013
  10. RS-X

    RS-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 super
    Last edited: May 26, 2013

  11. AC_Avatar100400

    AC_Avatar100400 Master Guru

    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    WC GTX 780
    RS-X Has some good info but if you really want to play Arma II on anything above low your going to want a I5 just to get good stable fps.
    I would suggest getting a Cheap Z77 board Asrock seem to be cheap and good quality.Also 8GB of any 1333 mhz ram and a i5 3570k it will be a huge upgrade.

    And a 4850X2 isn't far off a 6850s Performance from past experience.Also RS-X 3DMark is not that great for scaling Real world Performance.
    The OP wants to play a cpu Hog so i suggest a I5 3570k.Anything less is not worth it.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  12. RS-X

    RS-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 super
    right you are. Hope OP can arrange some extra cash to purchase core i5. selling some old parts might help.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  13. angmar

    angmar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI Founders
    You need preferable a modern intel cpu for DayZ....and if the stand alone is using the arma 3 engine you def will need a new cpu as that oldie but goody is simply not going to cut it for Arma 2 and def not 3 regardless even if you bought a Titan. You will get far more fps in dayz by upgrading your motherboard and cpu first and graphics later.

    edit: like someone else said...get a 3570k setup or save until you can. Cause your going to need to overclock it and even after that you will still be wanting in performance...atleast in Arma 3....arma 2 runs pretty good on my system but Arma 3 alpha is just terrible...I mean well it's totally playable but you would think with top end hardware also overclocked pretty heavily that you would be getting butter smooth fps....but no most of the time my gpu is at 30 percent usage due to EPIC cpu bottleneck.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2013

Share This Page