good pc build?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dragoon87, Jul 31, 2009.

  1. dragoon87

    dragoon87 Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS A9550 Series 256mb
    please check my PC build

    Processor: Intel Core i7 920 (P14,500)
    Motherboard: MSI X58 Pro (P9,999)
    RAM: 6GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz Triple Channel Memory Kit(P9,420)
    HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 500GB (P2,800)
    OPD: LG 22X DVD Burner SATA(P1,200)
    Casing: CoolerMaster RC-690 (P4,300)
    PSU: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W (P7,000)
    VC: PowerColor Radeon HD4890 1Gb GDDR5 (P12,000)
    K/M: Logitech Gaming G1 (K/M) (P1,250)
    Monitor: LG 24" W2442PA LCD Monitor (P14,500)

    is triple channel is better than dual channel?
    plz explain further thx
    coz im newbie:)

    is this good enough for hardcore game?
     
  2. Jae-So

    Jae-So Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX1070
    decent build but I'd go with the Gigabyte UD3R board if they are the same price in ur country (they are here)
     
  3. Mega_Death

    Mega_Death Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7870
    +1 The MSI has 4 phase power while the UD3 has 8, and the NB on the MSI gets hot due to poor manufacturing.
     
  4. mitzi76

    mitzi76 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    MSI 970 (Gaming)
    i would choose the xfx 4890 over the powercolour and go for an asus or gigabyte mobo.

    other than that looks fine what u have chosen.

    you will need an aftermarket cooler if you want to overclock decently.
     

  5. dragoon87

    dragoon87 Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS A9550 Series 256mb
    what about the ram?
    8gb dual channel or?
    6gb triple channel?
     
  6. Jae-So

    Jae-So Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX1070
    better to go 6GB triple channel
     
  7. dragoon87

    dragoon87 Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS A9550 Series 256mb
    why?
    can you explain to me?
    coz im newbie about this
    >_<
     
  8. biggerx

    biggerx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,588
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
    Triple channel sets have 3 channels. :D

    i7's have an integrated memory controller on the die which allows for them to take advantage of the faster triple channel memory. Lower latencies, faster performance, more available RAM.

    You wouldn't put dual channel memory on an i7 board.
     
  9. dragoon87

    dragoon87 Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS A9550 Series 256mb
    but it is just 6GB ram?
    and in dual channel it can upgrade to 8gb?
     
  10. biggerx

    biggerx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,588
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
    You may want to do a little more reading. Most i7 boards have 6 memory slots. So you would be maxed @ 24GB with 4GB Triple Channel sticks. I don't think they are making them yet, but they will.

    Again, you're not suppose to pair dual channel memory with the i7.

    *edit: they do make 4GB Triple Channel sticks. Nothing special yet except for the Kinston Hyperx's for $1200!!!!!!!.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820161337

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820609459

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104114

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220408
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2009

  11. dragoon87

    dragoon87 Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS A9550 Series 256mb
    some say my proc. is not compatible w/ my Video card
    is that true?
     
  12. biggerx

    biggerx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,588
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
    The one you have listed? That would be un true. I don't think they said it was incompatible I think they said that you should get a better brand. Powercolour is not even in the top 3 brands. You won't see many Gurus caught dead with a Powercolour card. But if it's in your budget then it's fine.

    An xfx 4890 would be much better. What country are you in because the biggest factor in buying a video card is usually how fast you can RMA it & the customer you receive during that process. If PowerColour has good customer service & they will do RMA's in your country then go for it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2009
  13. dragoon87

    dragoon87 Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS A9550 Series 256mb
    i'm here in Philippines
    but what is RMA?
     
  14. biggerx

    biggerx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,588
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
    Return Merchandise Agreement.

    Anyone in the Philippines have a good brand suggestion for Dragoon?
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2009
  15. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    Don't go with the "HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 500GB (P2,800)" they are prone to failure. I have had to replace them twice in 3 months(failed after only two months of use). Plus they have a horrible RMA system. Cost $20.00 to have an advanced replacement. Just google it. You'll see the complaints.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2009

  16. biggerx

    biggerx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,588
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
    So True.

    Buy Western Digital Caviar Blacks.
     
  17. dragoon87

    dragoon87 Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS A9550 Series 256mb
    how about my ram?
    should i change it to ddr3 1600?
    and also should i change my mother board?
     
  18. LinkDrive

    LinkDrive Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Toaster
    You won't see much difference between DDR3 1333MHz and DDR3 1600MHz due to the fact that most motherboards don't have native DDR3 1600MHz support without overclocking the FSB. Even then, the Cas and timings on the modules are almost never detected properly. So, unless you plan on tweaking your hardware, it might be easier to just stick with the DDR3 1333MHz.
     
  19. dragoon87

    dragoon87 Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS A9550 Series 256mb
    how about my video card
    should i replace another video card from it?
     
  20. Omagana

    Omagana Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Rubbish, I have a powercolour 4870 with a Thermalright T-Rad2 on it.

    ATI cards are pretty different from Nvidia in the sense that their "mostly" all the same reference design. Only difference between alot of them is the cooler.

    If I was upgrading I'd go with a 4890, or if I could afford it I'd get a gtx 285 for the cuda support.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009

Share This Page