Getting black boxes-rectangles in Google Chrome after updating to the latest build

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by SlackerITGuy, Oct 15, 2015.

  1. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    So yesterday I updated Google Chrome to its latest build (v46), and now I'm getting these black boxes-rectangles when opening web pages, completely random.

    It goes away by minimizing Chrome (black boxes are not present in Windows desktop) and maximizing it again, also, scrolling somewhat fast seems to fix it as well.

    This is with hardware acceleration disabled.

    Anyone else getting this?
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2015
  2. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    I had issues with Chrome from day #1 with Windows 10 (not the issue above though). I went and downloaded Chrome Beta and it has been running smooth from day #2 until now with no issues whatsoever.

    Just Google: Chrome Beta and download and install it. It'll override the stable built.

    I also tried the canary builds (Chrome Alpha) and they were horrible. Beta versions have been the most stable for the last year or so for me.
     
  3. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    Yes. It's rare but I do, ever since the v46. HW acceleration off as well. It mostly happens when I switch between tabs.

    EDIT: it seems to happen on gmail.com most often.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2015
  4. shankly1985

    shankly1985 Master Guru

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    No issue so far been using chrome today for around 4 hours.
     

  5. zefs

    zefs Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780
    Yeah also having this issue, Windows 10 64bit, latest chrome and hardware accelaration disabled. Haven't found a solution.

    Using GTX 780 with 355.82 drivers.
     
  6. shankly1985

    shankly1985 Master Guru

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Ok just testing Gmail and I do get this. If I switch between tabs and then back to Gmail I see black squares.

    Doesn't seem to be AMD only issue though guy above has 780. Gmail web page bug maybe?
     
  7. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,901
    Likes Received:
    8,162
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    Same issue i noticed 1-2 days ago. It happens with guru3d page sometimes...
     
  8. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    It's a Chrome bug. Also get the same thing on Win 7 with Intel iGPU. And while it happens on Gmail a lot, I've seen it on other sites too.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015
  9. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    Thanks for the replies guys.

    I didn't expect this issue to affect some NVIDIA users as well, thought this was exclusive to AMD.

    Thanks again.
     
  10. zefs

    zefs Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780
    I disabled the: chrome://flags/#disable-accelerated-2d-canvas (copy paste this on web address bar) and seems to have fixed it for me.

    edit: nvm, the bug is back
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2015

  11. bathrobehero

    bathrobehero Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 Ti
    I have the same issue since updating to Chrome 46 with nvidia but only on pages that seem to use hardware acceleration.

    Edit: Disabling Override software rendering list seems to solve the issue.

    chrome://flags/#ignore-gpu-blacklist
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2015
  12. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    That was disabled on my end.

    I have hardware acceleration disabled though, how about you?
     
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,625
    Likes Received:
    2,239
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
  14. bathrobehero

    bathrobehero Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 Ti
    I was playing with switching hardware acceleration on and off mainly because I have frame drops on youtube (only in fullscreen) but it had no effect on the black rendering bug. But since I disabled software override I haven't seen a single black rectangle.

    @-Tj- FF is not an option for some people.
     
  15. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    Interestingly when I turned my hardware acceleration ON in Chrome, problem disappeared completely.

    What is software override?
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2015

  16. bathrobehero

    bathrobehero Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 Ti
    Should have write software override rendering. The first flag in Chrome.

     

Share This Page