GeForce v178.24 WHQL Official Driver Released.

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by orac1e, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. Ironjer

    Ironjer Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x AMD 295X2 CrossfireX
  2. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
  3. Ironjer

    Ironjer Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x AMD 295X2 CrossfireX
    Anybody have problem with Assasin's Creed? i have freezing with this drivers and the 178.24 version too. is weird
     
  4. Giolon

    Giolon Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 512M
    I've got a problem with all revisions of the 178 drivers on Vista 64 w/ my 8800GTS (G92), where it causes my monitors to wake up from sleep if I Remote Desktop into my machine. The monitors then never go back to sleep until I log back into the machine locally. This doesn't happen on 177 and prior revisions. Needless to say, regardless of performance, this is pretty much a dealbreaker for me.
     

  5. starstreak

    starstreak Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Nvidia 280
    Can anybody tell me why since 177.41, if I upgrade to anything higher, My N280 looses the ability to downclock the GPU when in idle? The NVMonitor says its stuck at full clock speed. But yet, if I go back to 177.41 I can see it downclock.
     
  6. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    you can use riva tuner to set DV, but after you set it dont touch it! i did and it quit working. i had to reinstall the drivers to make it work again.
     
  7. urmysin

    urmysin Master Guru

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 9800GT 1GB SLi


    I dunno? I tried this on three different machines with the same result. This was also a good mix of hardware. I really don't see all three machines being plagued with the same problem? I am trying to stay open minded on the matter tho. After all it's not like Nvidia would release a driver that caused games to crash that worked perfectly the week before now would they? :nerd: Also DV setting is useless for the hardware & OS configs I have tried. XP Pro SP3 32-Bit

    Hey Nvidia we all know you need your job security by making sure games don't work off & on. I propose a new strategy. How about screwing games up that are old that nobody plays anymore and leaving the games we all love that run fine alone. Is this to much to ask? You still have job security and we actually can play a good game when we want to.:nerd:
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2008
  8. AnthraxPants

    AnthraxPants Banned

    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 4890HD 1GB
    They are probably just trying to make the drivers achieve higher Vantage scores with "optimisations", otherwise know as cheating. May look OK in Vantage but when an actual game like BF2 runs it looks crap, maybe they did not test BF2, maybe they got frightened by all those ATI scores?
     
  9. Venomsword

    Venomsword Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    RTX2070 Super
    178.24 Windows XP32 - screw them! Assassins creed pauses on fight start or taking flag etc. DV is still BROKEN 33-66-100%. Crap drivers.

    All this crap was fixed by installing moded 178.26 Quadro driver. :banana:
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
  10. roman63

    roman63 Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Point of View GTX580
    I have the same problems with the GTX260 - come back to 177.41.
     

  11. °L°

    °L° Master Guru

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Hi, i use these forceware and i've no problems(vista32 ultimate):banana:
     
  12. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ok my bad:), i just found out that u can actually control anisotropic mip filter optimization when i said before that its forced to on...

    in rivatuner under openGL the IQ tab was set to quality instead of v.h, like in dx tab.
    [​IMG]

    I've set all settings to very high in nvidia driver panel, but looks like it doesnt control the opengl tab all the way...

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    now set to very high, it finally works

    [​IMG]
    btw i force AF in driver because af is broken in Fear it looks like aniso bilinear...so it needs to be trilinear in game and forced in cp. (i also use it in COD4, saw same problems as in fear lol)

    its set to off as it should be... lol :smile:
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
  13. allup

    allup Master Guru

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 X SLi Asus 7870 V2 ROG
    Well i guess it sucks to be some of you guys!...:nerd:

    I just set it off with this driver. I got no complaints at all! :banana:
    Check this one out
    3DMark Vantage - Performance Hall Of Fame (multiple cards): #1
    http://www.hwbot.org/quickSearch.do?hardwareId=GPU_1233

    The higher score i forgot to save and submit before i closed the window but not the 2nd one. I will take it.
    and screenies of course!

    [​IMG]
    lower record above and higher miss below.
    [​IMG]
    I am liking the newer drivers myself!
    Will post more benchies later.
     
  14. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    Congratulations, allup! :thumbup:

    That's an awesome score you reached there with your specs! :eek:
     
  15. xSLIX

    xSLIX Master Guru

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX470 WCSWIFTECH
    No dv with gtx280 in xp mayb try reinstalling them later on .. I also losted dv in last ones also. I had to go back to 178.13 i think to get dv working again .ill retry later
     

  16. allup

    allup Master Guru

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 X SLi Asus 7870 V2 ROG
    Thanks very much. People or some folks do not even nearly understand how hard the balance is to get those scores.."LOL"
     
  17. smut

    smut Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 960 SuperSC
    Hmm thats a pretty crazy thing, hope they fix it. These drivers work great for me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2008
  18. VectorRoll

    VectorRoll Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 @ EVGA/8800GTS/640MB
    They did not fix the problem with BF2142.
    I guess that I will be sticking with the driver that I already have installed.
     
  19. Razor3DC

    Razor3DC Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try newer 178.26 WHQL for quadros!

    No problems at all with Assassins Creed or digital vibrance...
    (didn't look at BF2142 'cause i don't have it, but maybe it's fixed also)

    Everything with winxp of course... vista is out of my sight.
    So the 178.26 should be the best drivers from 178'ies, like 177.70 before...
    (and don't look at the 'scores' only... there are many other things of interest)

    Razor
     
  20. Punisher!|ITA

    Punisher!|ITA Master Guru

    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA 8800GTX
    Have you tried the 178.24 before changing?
     

Share This Page