GeForce Hotfix Driver 466.79

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by valorex, Jun 10, 2021.

  1. valorex

    valorex Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    1080
    GeForce Hotfix display driver version 466.79 is based on our latest Game Ready Driver 466.77.

    The hotfix addresses the following issue:

    • Display may flicker or lose signal when launching a game on an adaptive-sync VRR monitor in multi-monitor configuration when sharing the same display mode [3314055]
    https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5203

    Download
    Windows 10 64-bit Standard Driver
    https://international-gfe.download....top-notebook-win10-64bit-international.hf.exe
    Windows 10 64-bit DCH Driver https://international-gfe.download....notebook-win10-64bit-international-dch.hf.exe
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2021
    janos666 likes this.
  2. Venomsword

    Venomsword Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    RTX2070 Super
    Holy sh@it ! It's pouring drivers this week. Green team is on the ramp.
     
    janos666 likes this.
  3. squalles

    squalles Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    Galax GTX 1080 EXOC
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D amazing
     
    Eripsa and valorex like this.
  4. KIBERMAX

    KIBERMAX New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 6Gb
    It's not funny anymore.
     
    janos666 likes this.

  5. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    when it rains it pours
     
    janos666 likes this.
  6. Party Poison

    Party Poison Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    336
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti

    They could always not fix things and people could complain about that instead?

    If you're not having issues then don't worry about it.

    It's like a 5 minute task to do drivers.
     
    Adnan008 and dr_rus like this.
  7. Nicked_Wicked

    Nicked_Wicked Member Guru

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    What the heck, I installed 466.77 an hour ago.
     
    mapnam charun likes this.
  8. carb1de

    carb1de Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    long time lurker, haven't been on the forum for ages....

    Has the whole, odd Gsync flicker thing been addressed yet?

    Been getting round it this last year by using the global frame rate limit cap to keep FPS below the monitor refresh rate, just kinda hoped it would have been sorted now?

    Maybe I should just get a new monitor to fix the issue!
     
  9. Nicked_Wicked

    Nicked_Wicked Member Guru

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    The only game I recently played with major flickering issues with G-Sync on was GTA V, I don’t really notice flickering in other games even when frames drop. G-Sync implementation on the monitor itself also matters a lot. I can imagine monitors a few years old can suffer from a few odd flickering issues.
     
  10. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,424
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    I use G-Sync + V-Sync and got my monitors 165Hz set to a lower refresh rate 60Hz.
    Capping fps to 60 in games and got no flickering issues.
     

  11. GeorgeLoupis

    GeorgeLoupis New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 3060 12GB
    Hello Guys.I have a question..
    I have 3060 Gpu and 2K two monitors connected to gpu through DISPLAY PORT.
    When i play a game in first monitor when i change to alt-tab to second monitor ,the monitors goes blank for 1s ..HDR is enabled.This is problem with drivers???I have the latest drivers.
     
  12. Sylencer

    Sylencer Member Guru

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Might be a driver issue, seems like it. Make sure you have your monitors firmware/driver updated. Can't hurt to also check for windows updates and bios updates in general.

    P.S. Swap cables or make sure both cables are not damaged.
     
  13. janos666

    janos666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    168
    GPU:
    MSI RTX3080 10Gb
    I still have some screen "blinking" issues with my RTX 3080 + LG C9 (G-Sync Compatible) + Denon AVR (as a "dummy" display) setup. Should I try DDU or is this still a thing after so many similar things mentioned in changelogs as fixed?
    The screen goes blank and the TV repeats the ALLM message like it was disconnected. I am sure this didn't happen earlier this year, this only started a few months ago. (I mean the screen often repeated the message while launching games - regardless of no resolution change - but it didn't go black.)

    Edit: I tried disconnecting the Denon AVR (so TV only, no other displays) and swapping the HDMI cables but I still have crazy blinking on the Win10 logon screen. And then a few blinks on the desktop some 5-10 seconds after login. But there are no corruptions/blinking after that (at least until I launch a game or something like that).

    Edit: Hmm. I ran DDU and there seems to be much less blinking now on the login screen. Although the screen still goes blank once for a little time after the login screen pops up. But there are no repeated blinks after that while I am typing my password.

    Edit: Ehh! I rebooted again and there was still some flickering again right after I logged in.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2021
  14. fleggy

    fleggy Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GB 3090 Gaming OC
    I got this short post-login blank screen with DCH version installed by Windows (I forgot to disconnect internet during manual driver update). Non-DCH driver installation fixed that for me.
     
  15. janos666

    janos666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    168
    GPU:
    MSI RTX3080 10Gb
    Not for me. I went with a "clean" legacy (not DCH) install after DDU (I usually install regular DCH but not this time). The blinking is still here.
     

  16. carb1de

    carb1de Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    I'm starting to wonder if my old S2716DG 144Hz (Dell circa. 2015) is just ageing, or early Gsync PCBs are just, rubbish.

    yeah..... but, we've got very similar GPUs, I don't buy 80 series cards and ~144Hz monitors to have to turn it down to 60FPS, kinda defeats buying the hardware right? don't get me wrong, I do use RTSS FPS limiter to 140 FPS and it seems to help stutter but, you should be able to run a few FPS below your monitors refresh and get zero flicker. Well, even unconstrained!
     
  17. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,424
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    I just want a card that can give me death stable fps while being as silent as possible, 2080S is that with 60fps @2K, so no, it does not defeat buying hardware, since I still have to make some compromises with graphics settings in games to keep fps stable and the card cool.
    With an even better card I should be able to compromise less.
     
  18. tty8k

    tty8k Master Guru

    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    114
    GPU:
    Ati 5850
    Unless there is a hardware problem (defective) that monitor model should run gsync mode better than latest freesync monitors.
    To properly enable gsync and have a smooth frame sync you have to do the following:

    - cap your framerate to about 140
    - force vsync ON in nvidia control panel
    - set Vsync mode to adaptive
    - set max prerendered frames to 1
    - disable vsync in games

    (you're better off using nvidia profile editor for this)

    vsync.JPG
     
  19. tty8k

    tty8k Master Guru

    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    114
    GPU:
    Ati 5850
    Disable windows color calibration or delete your monitor ICC profile to get rid of that blinking.
    If you must work with a calibrated profile add it to system defaults as a device profile.

    colcal.JPG

    colcal2.JPG
     
    Mineria likes this.
  20. janos666

    janos666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    168
    GPU:
    MSI RTX3080 10Gb
    I don't have any ICM profiles installed right now. But DDU should have reset those settings if I did (and I didn't reinstall any after using DDU).
     

Share This Page