Geforce GTX 780 Owners Club

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by bishi, May 23, 2013.

  1. Bentez

    Bentez Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Palit GR RTX 3080
    Go back to basics mate and find a stable clock for the core, then the memory. 2 variables at once is harder to try and understand whats going on.
     
  2. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,056
    Likes Received:
    572
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    You're absolutely, right, thanks. I initially started off with the same offsets I had for the GTX 680 SLI and it seemed to be going really well until I had my first game freeze. I'll reset the memory offset and use +150 MHz on the core for now and see how that works out over the next few days.
     
  3. Dillinger

    Dillinger Master Guru

    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 950
    I finally resolved the slow startup issue.

    -Pulled out the GTX 780, used Intel IGP
    -Changed EFI Compatible ROM to Legacy ROM
    -Put GTX 780 back in
    *PC only takes 10 secs to start up*

    After trying out BF3 & BFBC2 I am getting the same FPS I was getting with my GTX 690 (res at 1920x1080).
     
  4. m4gg0t

    m4gg0t Member Guru

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX680 Lightning
    Seems like the 780s don't overclock so well with the stock cooler because of temps. Guess ill wait for something like a lightning.
     

  5. SSJBillClinton

    SSJBillClinton Master Guru

    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    119
    GPU:
    RTX3090 EVGA FTW
    Really? Mine maxes out at 70 from what I've seen now.
     
  6. leopr

    leopr Member Guru

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti OC
    Whats your ambient temp ?
     
  7. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,056
    Likes Received:
    572
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I always had maximum performance set globally when I had GTX 680 SLI but I'm currently using adaptive performance with the GTX 780 with a core offset of +150 MHz (the mem offset is left at +0 MHz).

    I'm seeing some strange behaviour though in some games, like F.E.A.R. 2 running at 624 MHz core/810 MHz mem with v-sync enabled. It runs at 60 fps but I'm puzzled why the memory isn't running at 3,000 MHz. If I turn v-sync off then the game runs at 250-300 fps, boosting to 1,110 MHz on the core and 3,000 MHz on the mem so it is obviously working. Is that how GPU Boost is supposedly to work?

    I also tried Assassin's Creed: Revelations earlier, also v-synced, and saw the core stuck at 862 MHz (the stock clock) even though the game's framerate was dipping down to 52 fps at times. Shouldn't the core have been boosting above 862 MHz to maintain 60 fps? I don't understand why it wasn't.

    Should I leave the global profile set to Prefer Maximum Performance? What does everyone else do? Do you find that Adaptive Performance works exactly how it should or do you find it isn't reacting quickly enough to prevent framerate dips?
     
  8. Fusion_XT

    Fusion_XT Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 X 2139/5400
    320.18 is a ****ty release. Getting lockups and freezes every 10 min in every game. With 314.22 everything is pretty again :D. OC'd @ 1150/6400
     
  9. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,236
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Darren set prefer max perf. per game nvcpl profile.
     
  10. Scerate

    Scerate Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080@2.1/1070N@2.0
    So ordered my PNY 780GTX a hour ago 3years warranty should keep it high value for some time :) but i propably put a Accelero Extreme 3 on it
     

  11. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,836
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    GPU:
    .
    72.7%
     
  12. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    MSI 2070 Gaming Z
    GTX 780 seems a good upgrade to me.
    Can anyone confirm GTX 780's HDMI is capable of loss-less audio bitstreaming?

    I mean DTS Master Audio, Dolby TrueHD and LPCM 7.1, which can't be bitstreamed over my current GTX 570's HDMI.
     
  13. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,056
    Likes Received:
    572
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Can anyone with Assassin's Creed 2 confirm that they're getting extremely bad LOD issues in this game with maximum settings please. The game looks exactly the same on its lowest settings and the pop up - buildings visibly change when just panning the camera around - makes the game pretty much unplayable for me. I'm wondering if the game isn't detecting the GTX 780 and defaulting to the lowest settings because it doesn't recognise the card? The settings file definitely shows maxed out settings but it appears to me that is running on the lowest ones (bar the resolution which is 1920x1200).
     
  14. pstlouis

    pstlouis Master Guru

    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti Aorus Xt
    I received the EVGA GTX780 SC/ACX cooler. great buy my friend.The card are already overclock to 967 MHz base 1020 boost that i overclock to 1110 boost. Memory are set to +100MHz don't go higher has i noticed that the memory behaved erratically. when i had my gtx680 SLI same problem with the mem.

    res : 1920x1080

    Heaven Benchmark 4.0
    FPS:
    61.5
    Score:
    1550
    Min FPS:
    22.6
    Max FPS:
    128.5

    Crysis 3 Very high smaa 4x (3dvision enable)

    avg 45 fps

    metro last light max out smaa 2x

    avg 36 fps (3dvision enable)

    :)
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2013
  15. StealBalls

    StealBalls Banned

    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 280x CrossFire
    I had no problem bit streaming DTS-HD MA and True HD with my 680's

    Hopefully this would be the same for the 780
     

  16. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    MSI 2070 Gaming Z
    Does loss-less bitstreaming work for your Titans? As it's the same GK110 chip.
     
  17. StealBalls

    StealBalls Banned

    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 280x CrossFire
    No idea I have not had my PC setup for movies in a good while.

    I just use an external HDD into a Dune H1 these days, PC just for gaming now.
     
  18. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    MSI 2070 Gaming Z
    Too bad :( I was just hoping you would know as I noticed you're using the HDMI connection for audio in your signature/specs ;)
     
  19. eagled1

    eagled1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 680 SLI 4GB
    Are you effin kidding me? Rusty ole 680s wow talk about a waste of money.
     
  20. StealBalls

    StealBalls Banned

    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 280x CrossFire
    This is the best I can do, I dunno if it means anything, I am not an expert.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page