GeForce GTX 680 review [Guru3D.com]

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Guru3D News, Mar 22, 2012.

  1. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,572
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Id also say keep the 680, no point swapping, both cards are as good as each other.
     
  2. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    I guess those 2.5 years owning an ATi affected my peace of mind of switching sides..

    Well, my brother in law which I build his Rig last year(SB/GTX580) wants to sell his PNY XL8 GTX580, so if he does I will probably get that cheap 7970 and sell my 680 to him since his is an NVidia fan nonetheless.

    But for me is just MIN/AVG/MAX FPS in games.. I see no brand(assuming quality is same/similar). And I do admit ATi has grown a bit on me but in heart I know the 680 is the superior card. :p

    Thank you. Even if sometimes we do know the right path, some reassurance is always welcomed and appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2012
  3. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,044
    Likes Received:
    124
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti XC Ultra
    If you're more comfortable with AMD just make the switch with your brother in law :) Who knows though, by the time he sells his card, you might get used to Nv again. Either way peace of mind can make up for the performance difference.
     
  4. wintermutex

    wintermutex Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 XC3 Ultra
    I call shenanigans!

    "We have core voltage upped another 100Mv, the Core clock was increased with another 100 MHz and the memory got 250 MHz added as well. In the upper monitoring graph you can see that happening."

    Did you see the voltage go over 1.175v? This slider does nothing on afterburner 2.2.0 beta 15 and driver 301.10

    Am I missing something? You don't show the voltage in the graph output either.
     

  5. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,078
    Likes Received:
    952
    GPU:
    1080Ti + Xtreme III
    Who are you quoting?
    It isnt anyone in this thread, I checked every page.
     
  6. wintermutex

    wintermutex Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 XC3 Ultra
    The review that this thread is about:

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/gigabyte-geforce-gtx-680-oc-edition-review/25

    Sorry, I linked to this thread from the review, but it looks like there wasn't a separate thread created for that -specific- review: "Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680 OC edition review"

    In any event, this review should be edited. We all would love to be able to add voltage offset, but it's not possible at the moment. The voltage offset slider has no effect on vcore at least with 301.10 drivers and AB 2.2.0 beta 15.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  7. h0d

    h0d Member Guru

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Sea Hawk
    The cake is a lie.

    It looks like another marketing tricky trick by Nvidia.
     
  8. Enizax

    Enizax Master Guru

    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 FTW Hybrid
    considering the die architechture, i don't think they pulled a 480 on us at the very least ;)

    however it doesn't scratch the possibility of redesigning hi-leak transistors to more crucial parts of the GPU, like they did with the 560ti ^^
     
  9. Naennon

    Naennon New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 680
    Hi

    Did you dumped the bios oft the GTX 680 Jetstream?

    Bought the 4gb jetstream today and bios is faulty

    Only 1006 core clock, only 133% powertarget

    Probably this is not the same bios as the press versions had

    You are my last chance!
     
  10. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    38,975
    Likes Received:
    7,656
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Hi Naennon and welcome to Guru3D.com -- the 4GB version is running on reference clock frequencies. This has been updated in our news post as well.
     

  11. Naennon

    Naennon New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 680
    sure?

    card also dont accepts any powertarget increase

    so i want to try the 2GB bios on that card
     
  12. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,078
    Likes Received:
    952
    GPU:
    1080Ti + Xtreme III
    Be careful, cards with higher memory may run the memory a bit slower due to extra load on the power circuits and extra heat generated.
    The 2GB BIOS might run your memory too fast to operate.
    Then again...
     
  13. Naennon

    Naennon New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 680
    well i bought this thing to overclock not to show my memory ffs...

    they had no 2gb version so i took this one
    this makes me angry

    at least i want to try it with the 2gb version bios
    card takes only 100% powertarget!
     
  14. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,078
    Likes Received:
    952
    GPU:
    1080Ti + Xtreme III
    I wouldnt blow a fuse just yet :)
    Contact NVidia and see what they say, you may well have a faulty card/bios.
     
  15. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    38,975
    Likes Received:
    7,656
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Did you try the latest AfterBurner Beta ? You can set the power limitation to 133%

    A quick +350 MHz on the memory was not an issue and the GPU picked up another 100 MHz easily as well.
     

  16. Naennon

    Naennon New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 680
    sure i can set it to 133%

    but

    1) reviewers had 150% on these cards (2gb) and 1350 coreclock that why i bought this card
    2) i can set 133% with afterburner or precisionx > card wont go over 100% powertarget

    http://h11.abload.de/img/erterterteasygkckjn.jpg


    kidding me?
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
  17. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    38,975
    Likes Received:
    7,656
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Overclock and do not use occtgpu or furmark. The driver picks up the power signature and downclocks the card within a defined power signature.

    Give it a try with some games and see how the overclock behaves. If still not satisfied, you might want to return the card my friend.
     
  18. Naennon

    Naennon New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 680
    i WILL return it ;)

    my older 680 stock did 133% with occt well

    this card does nothing and it crashes in heaven with +105 offset

    no way this time...

    anywayn no BIOS available to test it?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 14, 2012
  19. chimaxi83

    chimaxi83 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus DC II GTX680
    I don't know if someone has already mentioned it in the replies, but why are you guys writing that you're adding +100 to the voltage, when this in fact has absolutely ZERO effect on these cards? Voltage is still controlled automatically regardless of what you set in Precision or Afterburner.

    Edit: I'm referring to the Gigabyte and Palit reviews, by the way, but the above is true for all of the already released cards. Twin Frozr card too.
     
  20. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    38,975
    Likes Received:
    7,656
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    We'll investigate, thanks.
     

Share This Page