GeForce Game Ready Driver 368.22 WHQL Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by maur0, May 23, 2016.

  1. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    fast sync must match with v-sync off. if u wanna use fast sync on doom then u should upgrade gpu. turn on AA & everything max out won't give u above 100 fps.
     
  2. amigastar

    amigastar Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    I don't want necessarily turn on AA permanently i'm just stating it doesn't work, beside that 100 frames per second are alright for me in Doom with Ultra settings.

    I turned on Fast Sync in Profiler and turned off V-Sync in Doom, but it's not working.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2016
  3. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    236
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GXT
    After the first time I installed geforce experience years ago I have never had it on since. What a terrible program indeed. So, the root of my issue does not lie within the experience.
     
  4. skryabin

    skryabin Active Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX1070 ASUS
    random tearing on chrome videos with this driver (youtube, twitch)

    Sometimes vsync is working properly, but after a few minutes I start getting random tearing.
    I restart the browser, tearing is gone, but it comes back after a while.

    Use this video for testing:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22ftfoCSPQI

    let the video run for 30-60secs in fullscreen (double click the video) and check if it starts to tearing.

    I get this with chrome stable and chrome canary

    Forced vsync on chrome.exe process via nvidia control panel, still getting tearing :bang:
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2016

  5. Genrix

    Genrix Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 JS Palit@1228
    4670k+Asus Z87-A.
    Palit SJ GTX780, noRef.
    Base clock 900mhz. Full OC boost - 1228mhz 1,2V (OC by MSI AB)
    368.22, Fast Sync + MaxPerf power.
    Win7x64 SP1, all updates.
    Look at boost GPU, GPU Load and FPS.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lN7uv11P_3c
    Driver bug? Nv make "AMD fps target power"? Or all ok? :3eyes:
     
  6. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,078
    Likes Received:
    442
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Fast sync is vsync which messes with swap chain to remove the unnecessary latency. I don't see anything wrong in the video, sudden fps spikes are probably a result of fast sync kicking in and low GPU utilization and clocks are expected when it's limited to some fps number - display refresh rate in this case. This is the case since, I dunno, GTX 680? What is so surprising here?

    That's actually pretty good as I expected fast sync to burn the full GPU power all the time but it seems that it's still being limited to what fps are needed somewhat.
     
  7. Genrix

    Genrix Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 JS Palit@1228
    dr_rus
    I know about fast sync.
    But before the chip frequency was constantly at the maximum.
    The chip frequency is reduced only in the old games with fps 150+.

    Below is a video on maxwell with fast sync. 368.22. You can see full boost. And when you look up into the sky too -1m20s.
    Sorry, bad quality.This is not my video.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14l6QI_WCm0&feature=youtu.be
     
  8. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,197
    Likes Received:
    948
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    I dont see fast sync with these drivers anywhere in NVCP or Nvidia Inspector
     
  9. amigastar

    amigastar Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    @tsunami231

    Fast-Sync = Nvidia Inspector > Vsync = 0x18888888
     
  10. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,197
    Likes Received:
    948
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    hmmm I was wonder what that was listed under vsync

    well in that case it works in fullscreen not sure about in windowed fullscreen (borderless)
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2016

  11. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,078
    Likes Received:
    442
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    No, they were not, unless you have set it to maximum performance mode where they would still depend on the load more often than not. The chip's frequency is managed by the load it has running. If you're limiting the framerate you are limiting this load and this leads to lower clocks being used. It doesn't matter how old or new a game is and it didn't happen only after reaching 150 fps.

    It may be however that the new boost changed the boost behavior on Kepler as well. I'm not sure how it was on Kepler, was a long time ago, but the clocks were always like this on Maxwell.

    That video is actually showing what I presumed fast sync would look like. I think we should just wait for the official release instead of using whatever bits are shown in the Inspector. If the feature isn't enabled yet then chances are that it's not working properly yet.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2016
  12. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,238
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I noticed it usually syncs to double (120fps 90% of the time) or even quadruple your refresh sync rate, with rare 144 or 167, if lower then 75, 85, 90fps or back to 60fps.

    But the way it transitions its not so smooth. Sometimes it would change just because it feels like it to either 90 or 144 and back to 120. Normally no vsync 120fps limit is 120fps all the time.
     
  13. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    fast sync is not working well with my FIFA 15 which is way less demanding i can get above 100 fps too so i guess u need vulkan driver on doom cos dota 2 ran quite well on my side.
     
  14. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,056
    Likes Received:
    572
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Just noticed that despite using the Custom install and deselecting ONLY the two (useless for me) 3D modules that the new version of PhysX, v9.16.0318, is not installed on my system. v9.15.0428 shows in both the Programs and Features and NVIDIA System Information control panel.

    On extracting this driver using 7-Zip it seems that the usual installer is missing for PhysX and I have been unable to find the standalone version.

    Is this new version only intended for the GTX 1080 and 1070 or something? If not then why is it not installing?
     
  15. Driller_au

    Driller_au Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Ti OC
    i deleted all the unwanted folders so only driver and PhysX where left and it installed fine just checked in my NV control panel
     

  16. Party Poison

    Party Poison Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti
    For those asking about teh Doom sli support.


    The DooM sli profile is just crap. The stutter when indoors is horrid.

    its not major but a very fast and repeated microstutter.
     
  17. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    No need to post the same thing in multiple threads ;)
     
  18. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,515
    Likes Received:
    556
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    tons of " driver stopped responding " messages when SLi is enabled
     
  19. Party Poison

    Party Poison Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti
    I removed it from the other thread, Before i posted it here.
     
  20. Party Poison

    Party Poison Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti
    Im only getting that with chrome oddly.


    When i put chrome fullscreen every say 1 out of 10 times it will black screen and driver crash.
     

Share This Page