GeForce Forceware 295.73 WHQL Download and Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by mypc, Feb 21, 2012.

  1. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    If its happening at stock then it could be what phatboy said..

    there is a string in Registry
    Computer/HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SYSTEM/currentControlSet/control/session manager/MemoryManagement
    called SessionPoolSize and its at 4 by default. You can try 20 its also for gui and gpu parts of the driver. I use this for a long time and didnt saw any problems yet.

    There is another value SessionViewSize at 48 by default, but at 60 there were some side effects like slower aero or unusual game loading, better leave that at default 48.


    About that sleep issue, do you use logitech keyboard and LGPS 8.20sw?


    edit: or downgrade to 285.79/290.53?
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  2. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    Installed, now time for a little test with the very few games I have installed...
     
  3. vrt684

    vrt684 Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 660 SC
  4. progrox

    progrox Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 270X 2GB OC
    Drivers work fine for me. One little quirk was that the video turned off for a sec before the Windows Logon screen appeared.

    And the driver broke the OpenGL ARB_SYNC function for Dwarf Fortress.

    Neither is a major issue, so I'm keeping them in the hope that the ****ed up Adobe Flash that I've been getting with the last couple of releases will behave a little better with these new drivers.
     

  5. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,316
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    In a 64-bit operating system, the default value for the SessionViewSize entry is 104 MB (hex68) and the default value for the SessionPoolSize entry is 64 MB (hex40).
    Should only need to be changed if you get bad terminal services performance and desktop heap issues (check event log).
    I left those at default on my system.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  6. Bornakiller

    Bornakiller Master Guru

    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580 SLI
    Using razer keyboard here. Will try this out If I get another bsod thanks.
     
  7. schloppy

    schloppy Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 970GTX
    In gaming, these seem like decent drivers but the screen flicker prior to any media playback is very annoying.
     
  8. yosef019

    yosef019 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 ti
    ???? with you guys im happy i can play Battlefield 3 on ultra with 1 gb card !!!
    all ultra !!!
    no problems i noticed with this driver !!!
     
  9. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    Yeah from what i've read its for some thermal servers and also for driver gui parts..


    And i dont think its that high, really. Default SessionPoolsize is 4 and the other value is 48. I didnt change anything at first and its that low, same in winXP (32bit)


    It says in windows blog its that high as you said.. At least for terminal and 64bit.





    http://forums.citrix.com/message.jspa?messageID=708148

    Anyway yeah its probably irrelevant in the first place.
     
  10. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    153
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 GU
    Good drivers for me, installed them over the previous beta with no issues.
     

  11. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,255
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    Getting 30fps cinematics in Virtual Tennis 4 for the first time. Rest of the game runs 60fps+.
     
  12. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    I think that's normal, i had that with any driver so far.
     
  13. Year

    Year Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    these 290.xx series is really fecked up more than i expected.

    not only is Gamma AA set to ON in cp but actually it's OFF.

    i just discovered that "Trilinear Optimization" is set to ON (default) but actually it's OFF, if you set it to OFF in CP then it turns ON. (reversed).

    when i set TO in cp to ON, quality should've been worse but instead textures looked good, when i set TO off (should've look good) it looked worse.

    this proved that the CP is not setting options properly and nvinspector in this case is correct.

    :rolleyes:

    i reported to nvidia today.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  14. Apparo

    Apparo New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 580 Twin frozr II OC
    1920x1080? i think no
     
  15. kcuestag

    kcuestag Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980Ti G1
    He probably can but he will have stuttering and fps drops as it will eat all 1GB.

    But if he turns Textures down to High and leave all the rest to Ultra (Without MSAA) he can surely play at 1080p.

    Either ways Ultra textures are a rip off, only thing they do is eat an extra 200MB of vram, no quality improvements AT ALL.
     

  16. Year

    Year Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    i need to ask a favour, open Nvidia Inspector and compare it to the nvidia CP.

    check "Trilinear Optimization" and "Gamma AA".

    CP will say ON and nvidia inspector or other tools will say OFF.

    [​IMG]

    please check and report, thanks.
     
  17. yosef019

    yosef019 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 ti
    yes i run it on ultra 1080p with fps drop ofcource from 45-60 to 45-35
    guys try put the game all ultra both aa and fxaa off with this drivers you can!
     
  18. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    In nv inspector they're both are off, even on std quality.


    When i select h.quality, then trilinear gets greyed out (on) gamma correction remains on, in nv inspector its still off. lol weird bug
     
  19. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    109
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    @year: I don't have that bug. Both Inspector and control panel have the options set the same.
     
  20. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,316
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    Terminal Services is network stuff, like Remote Desktop Connection...
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc755399(v=ws.10).aspx
     

Share This Page