GeForce Forceware 177.98 XP | Vista

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by marantz69, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. marantz69

    marantz69 Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus ENGTX470
    There's a new ForceWare driver available on the web (thanks laptopvideo2go) with revision build 177.98.

    This driver is available for both Windows XP 32- and 64-bit versions and Windows Vista in 32-bit. This driver set is commonly distributed on many websites and it is receiving pretty good feedback. Bare in mind this to be considered a beta driver, use it at your own risk. NVIDIA does not officially support them.

    This driver has a broad support for many GeForce graphics cards and definitely is the latest build available.

    Download @ Guru3D:

    [​IMG] ForceWare 177.98 Vista (32-bit)
    [​IMG] ForceWare 177.98 XP (64-bit)
    [​IMG] ForceWare 177.98 XP (32-bit)
    [​IMG] ForceWare 177.98 Vista (64-bit)


    Moderator: cleaned this thread a little now that the drivers are hosted at Guru3D as well. Thanks all !

    Update: Added vista 64-bit driver as well.
     
  2. rapier

    rapier Member Guru

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two xfx 7950 GX2 SLI Mode
    Nice

    Very nice find!

    They are WHQL and the original INFs contain almost all GPUs. :)
     
  3. _cTn_

    _cTn_ Master Guru

    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX 980TI
    Oh sorry i totally missplaced the 2 and 8 number in version, i ll update this post when i find some useful links
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  4. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX
    no digital vibrance working here @@ first driver that gives me this problem


    only can setup at 33%/66/100% and only works at 100% after doing some weird changes
     

  5. dajife

    dajife Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI Gigabyte 980 G1
    vista x64 version please? thanks
     
  6. Joshua

    Joshua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,819
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x eVGA GTX260 Core 216
    He already stated it wasn't available. So, let the rest of us know when you find it dajife. ;)
     
  7. david85

    david85 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE RADEON 4870X2
    tnx for the links fix.

    but im waiting for the vista x64 version :)
     
  8. vO!d

    vO!d Active Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS R9 290 DirectCU II
    Nice find.

    Assassins Creed seems to run slower than with 177.92... No Benchmark, only impression...

    Same problem as with 177.92: Control Panel shows me no installed games on my rig. Anyone else with that problem?
     
  9. BaneComes

    BaneComes Banned

    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    580GTX Twin Frozr II/OC
    Nice drivers to me it seems there faster than the 92's IQ is great running AA and AS PhyX working fps increase in a few of my games stable i'll hang on to them and see what happens or till something better comes out.
     
  10. scratch42069

    scratch42069 Member Guru

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 9600GT OC 512MB
    Grrr no Vista x64 driver!!! Why leak out the XP x64 drivers without the Vista x64 drivers? That seems silly considering most ppl use either XP 32-bit, Vista 32-bit or 64-bit. Vista x64 is becoming the most used 64-bit operating system.
     

  11. me3850

    me3850 Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Msi Gtx 970 Gaming 4G
    i have digital vibrance always enable at startup o_O
     
  12. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX

    same problem here

    its 100% always, and only can setup 33% and 66% but they always have 100% effect, i think that this driver is very incomplete, even being WHQL

    <-- never had any prob with DV

    back to .92
     
  13. °L°

    °L° Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670
    I've installed these and i've no problem for the moment :banana:
    vista 32 bits
     
  14. Syphon452

    Syphon452 Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX260 896
    My DV doesnt even work?
     
  15. Daemon785

    Daemon785 Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Diamond HD 5870
    anyone getting artifacting in crysis still? 89's had good fps for me, but artifacted like crazy (i'm not even overclocking). i wonder if this set is more stable. i loved the speed of the last set
    :speed:
     

  16. anth_15

    anth_15 Master Guru

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 1070 Strix 8GB
    Crap no Vista x64 :( Hopefully it will come soon.
     
  17. TurboTech

    TurboTech Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x XFX-GF8800GT 512 SLI
    Have never had any issues in the past with digital vibrance however this time arround that isnt the case, DV control bar is activated however when adjusted there is no change....

    (To date I have never needed to roll back a beta driver due to issues of this type at all). lol....

    Grid looked outstanding *probably the best FPS have seen to date* but threw BF2142 at it and I am getting odd JUMBO Text charactors as well as corrupted / pixelated HUD display objects on the screen after entering a game server *also does the same in OFFLINE Single player mode*

    Benchies I ran via 3d06 (9690 SLI enabled) were equal or close enough to 177.92 but still appeard to offer up a tad better FPS while in games.....

    "They are headding in the right direction but looks like 177.92 will be for me untill these issues are resolved.... "

    UPDATE****** errum, deff back to 177.92 for me, lets just say although Crysis runs? ummm, I was less than impressed with the over all performance compaired to older drivers... *Max settings for Crysis XP Pro X64, SLI enabled*.... ran like dirt lol....
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  18. Tarkan2467

    Tarkan2467 Master Guru

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Benches? I would do it myself but I'm on Vista x64.
     
  19. meww

    meww Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x EVGA 8800GT
    just tested these out, Stay with 177.92. Lost 5 FPS in crysis and 250 points in 3dmark06
     
  20. Roft

    Roft Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac AMP! GTX 480
    Same FPS in Crysis bench. Gained 100 points in 3DMark06. Digital Vibrance is not working.

    Going to play some games to see how they feel.

    Seems to work better with Source based games that some previous. Didn't get as many dips in fps in TF2 when playing at 1920X1080 and 8xMSAA

    Better performance in Enemy Territory: Quake Wars.

    Keepers for me. I don't really use Digital Vibrance as my screen can provide the same result.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2008

Share This Page