GeForce 9400 GT 1024MB for PhysX

Discussion in 'Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX' started by Redemption80, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    With PhysX on High?

    The bit with the tiles when you glide down and smash the guy and the tiles, you kept above 30 on that?

    Guess the i7 is doing its job then?
     
  2. Ieldra

    Ieldra Banned

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti G1 1500/8000
    DUnno if i7 has much effect with Physx enabled.
    Damn I'm an idiot, I went on a deleting spree and I deleted both the Batman installer and the game folder :(
    I wanted to try enabling High physics and disabling PhysX from NVCP to see how the i7 would hold up :(
     
  3. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    I didn't think it would, my CPU barely goes over 60% usage ingame, but with just the 260 on its own, and PhysX on high, goes down to 17fps, with the new card doing PhysX lowest is 25.

    Not an easy demo to get again, far too chunky, i might try that though.
     
  4. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    im getting another 8800gt for this rig, will be handy for batman but tbh it doesnt need it as batman maxed @1680x1050 only drops to 40FPS in some places with physix on high
     

  5. Ieldra

    Ieldra Banned

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti G1 1500/8000
    You on SLi 260s or what ?
     
  6. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    no just 1 OC'd
     
  7. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    How you manage that?

    The i7 must have an effect on this game, with 1920x1080, PhysX high, 4xAA and everything else maxed i get between 15-60fps, though the average is more around 40, but dips down alot as soon as that tiles/hostage bit, though i am only on the 192SP version.
     
  8. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    hmmmm, lol, i didnt try that tiles/hostage bit with physix on high( i only just tried it on high there an hour ago to check performance, but just for the steam/paper bits, ive completed the demo several times on normal though ).

    Hold on ill try it again( lol, will probably run like crap after reading your post ), i tried with gpu accelerated physix off and was getting 23FPS lol
     
  9. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Try bataranging all the tiles to pieces too, tryed that and PC had a stroke lol, it was impressive as hell though.
     
  10. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    after i took the guy down i fired loads of batarangs on the tiles splitting them and throwing them around everywhere, its cool, lol. It never dropped below 55FPS though
     

  11. Ieldra

    Ieldra Banned

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti G1 1500/8000
    What settings ? Was in game physics on high and Physx in control panel off ? :D
     
  12. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    lol, no Physix on, i tried with off in the nvidia control panel as i said above and it runs like crap lol
    These are my settings:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Very nice results, same settings as i'm using except i run at 1920x1080, what Nvidia driver, and is that XP?
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2009
  14. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    Cheers mate, no using Vista, with the old 186.18 drivers, but with the updated physix drivers.

    Yours is probably running slower because of your res and 4xAA
     
  15. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Ah right, was because i didn't see the power management feature in the NVCP, might try the older ones, even though im one of the few with no problems with the 190.xx ones.

    Definetly think i will get a i7 very soon though, oh just noticed the pillars at the beginning under the TV's are destructable, had fun destroying them, then kicking the desroyed stone and all the paper about.
     

  16. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    I havnt tried the 190's yet, i might try them in a bit, ive very little patience for hassle though lol

    youre probably better off with a Q9550, i get next to no difference in game performance between this i7 rig and my old rig with Q9550@4Ghz.
    I must try the pillars lol, it is a bit of a gimick though although the cape looks well cool

    Your dual core will be bottlenecking that 260, well at least my old E6400@3.55Ghz was with my 216SP 260
     
  17. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    I like to mess about, so don't mind the hassle if anything goes wrong lol.

    Yeah, all the PhysX stuff is very gimicky, but i'm a sucker for that kind of stuff, especially when i discovered it when i kicked someone off the wall, and it exploded in a cloud of dust and debris on impact.

    Yeah, a Q9550 would probably be more appropriate as i i can get one reasonably cheap, and won't need to get a new board and ram like i will if i get the i7.
     
  18. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    i didnt realise the 190's were whql now so im downloading them lol

    id definately go for a q9550 in your situation, i only got this i7 cos i flogged my old stuff, started using my media centres p5k pro with a new Q9550 and mate of mine thought it overclocked so well he wanted it for what i paid for it, so needed a new mobo + ram + cpu. Altogether it cost me around 250euro to go i7,performance wise at the moment its not needed as my q9550 did everything i wanted, i just got i7 for the sake of not being stuck on 775 platform( i only upgrade every 2 years )
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2009
  19. barwell1992

    barwell1992 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS gtx560ti on T260HD
    hmm im going to try batman and see how my rig holds up at 1920x1200
     
  20. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Cheers, will grab one as soon as i get the GF's birthday out the way next month lol.

    Hopefully this cheap 9600GSO give me the same boost in the full Batman:AA and was gonna say Dark Void, but just saw thats been pushed to next year.
     

Share This Page