GeForce 555.85 WHQL driver download & discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by zandathrax, May 21, 2024.

  1. Krteq

    Krteq Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    787
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 WC
    A.Wesker likes this.
  2. FR4GGL3

    FR4GGL3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    GB 4090 Gaming OC
    That is so true. A lot of Systems have never even been testet on Stability. And all of the Mainboards have their own Settings to Loadlines and Limits, so it is a good idea to look after all of these settings and do at least some qick stability Tests on your own. Things get worse if you use all of those AI Overclocking Buttons. A lot of Systems don't even survive a simple Cinebench r15 run, it gets worse if you do a couple of those tests one after another (most don't survive the 3rd test in a row).

    People assume that it has to be stable out of the Box. But that would only be true if every Manufacturer provides Settings as the need to be. Intel has adressed this now. We will see how good that will work.
     
  3. Andy_96

    Andy_96 Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    Gig-te 4090 Aero OC
    Just in case. I'm on Intel z790 DDR5 and 4090. Prob very rare bug.
     
  4. kloklo50

    kloklo50 Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    rtx 3060 oc 12gb
    I believe that the developers of games and GPU SOFTWARE in general of drivers do not check the compatibility of all devices as a result of which there are problems.

    i had a "Sapphire rx 6600" and in "outcast a new beginning" my pc restarted .. forced to get a "zotac rtx3060 12gb". and the problem was solved

    this report
    https://steamcommunity.com/app/1013140/discussions/1/4369129313609869885/
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2024

  5. AfshinBT67

    AfshinBT67 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 10GB
    I never ever ever trust default m/b settings after 8000 series debacle. Every time i get a new system, i manually tune my RAM and then CPU. Test it for a month with every possible benchmark/tool/workload. A single crash/BSOD/WHEA error to me means instability.

    I have a 14600KF/32GB Corsair vengeance combo. My 14600KF has been undervolted by 50mv and has 185w Power Limit (both PL1 and PL2). At first i tested it for a month with a 65mv offset. 24hrs Prime95/YCruncher/memtest with different configs/Realbench/TimeSpy/LinpackExtreme stable. Without any AVX2 offset, never throttles thermally, in some workloads that are AVX heavy it hit the PL and downclocks from 5.3Ghz to 5.2Ghz. After a month of testing, i just use it normally for another month, gaming, web surfing and etc. Then and only then i would call it stable. And to be 100% sure, i changed the offset to 50mv.

    So when i say it's not instability, i've done my fair share of stability tests. And now there are more than 100 cases of OOM errors only on steam forums regarding TLOU shader compikation after these drivers. It's either a driver issue or game issue. It has nothing to do with CPU stability in this particular case.

    Oh another thing, first boot after installing drivers is OK untill it reaches 36/10% completion and then crashes. Next boots instant OOM error. And it happens exactly like that on ALL the systems that are having this issue. If it was some system instability triggered by this game, the surely it would've happened more randomly.
     
    FR4GGL3 likes this.
  6. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,894
    Likes Received:
    3,659
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 4070 Ti
    Halo doesn't even use PhysX.

    The best game to try it on would be Alice: Madness Returns. And you'd have to replace the PhysX files of the game with the latest ones one from NVIDIA.

    Or Borderlands 2.
     
    Passus likes this.
  7. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,499
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    GPU:
    RTX 4080 Super
    Or Batman Arkham City
     
    Passus likes this.
  8. Passus

    Passus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    1,077
    GPU:
    MSI 4070 Gaming X
    Or AC Black Flag

    The smoke uses physx
     
  9. Klemc

    Klemc Master Guru

    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    116
    GPU:
    4070-ti ARGB - PNY
  10. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,486
    Likes Received:
    7,240
    GPU:
    TiTan RTX Ampere UV

  11. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,251
    Likes Received:
    7,519
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    no you wouldn't, theres only one title ever released that doesn't automatically use newer physx runtime and thats Dark Void.
     
  12. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    GPU:
    RTX 4090
    I don't use or see any point in using GFE.
    Nvidia App I have installed to see how it will progress over time. In its current state it's only useful for RTX HDR tweaking, if you don't use that (I don't) it's rather superfluous. Maybe once they'll transfer all the settings from NVCP there it will become useful.

    Games past ~2016 don't use PhysX 2.x which means that they don't use the driver supplied version of PhysX. V3+ is bundled with games as DLLs.
     
    Klemc likes this.
  13. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,894
    Likes Received:
    3,659
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 4070 Ti
    Alice doesn't use new PhysX, you have to manually swap the files. After doing so the game actually runs smooth with PhysX on High. You simply copy "cudart32_65.dll" from the current PhysX common folder and rename it to "cudart32_41_22.dll", then place it in the Win32 folder of Alice.

    For Borderlands 2 you have to copy ALL files (8 of them) from the PhysX common folder into the Win32 game folder to make it use the latest version of PhysX.
     
  14. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,251
    Likes Received:
    7,519
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Alice does use new files, the entry on PCGW is a mistake or was suggested at a point of time where the loader didn't behave correctly.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2024
  15. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,894
    Likes Received:
    3,659
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 4070 Ti
    Not from my testing i did last year.
     

  16. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,251
    Likes Received:
    7,519
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I'm looking at it right now.

    PhysxCore loaded from C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Engine\5182B3C9EFEC

    Game doesn't even use Cudart from the install location, you can actually delete it entirely while the game is running.

    [​IMG]

    Theres lots of bad information regarding the Physx runtimes, nearly every game properly registers to work with the Core and Loader libraries to get the system latest if a newer RT is available on the system

    Borderlands uses the system runtime too

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2024
    rallen and Vidik like this.
  17. Klemc

    Klemc Master Guru

    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    116
    GPU:
    4070-ti ARGB - PNY
    What year should i look at since v3 was used ?.. to make a list of my games using older version(s) !

    Alice: Madness Returns

    Alone in the Dark (2024)

    Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey

    Back 4 Blood

    Batman: Arkham Asylum
    Batman: Arkham City
    Batman: Arkham Origins
    Batman: Arkham Knight

    BioShock Infinite

    Blacktail

    Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
    Borderlands 2

    Bright Memory: Infinite

    Bulletstorm: Full Clip Edition

    Call of Cthulhu

    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

    Jericho

    Close to the Sun

    Conarium

    Crash Bandicoot 4: It's About Time

    Final Fantasy VII Reunion: Crisis Core

    Cyberpunk 2077

    D4: Dark Dreams Don't Die

    Deus Ex: Mankind Divided

    Dishonored

    DNF Duel

    Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot

    Echo

    Extinction

    F.I.S.T.: Forged in Shadow Torch

    Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade

    Firegirl: Hack 'n Splash Rescue

    GetsuFumaDen: Undying Moon

    Ghostrunner

    Grand Theft Auto III – Definitive Edition
    Grand Theft Auto: Vice City – Definitive Edition

    Hatred

    Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice

    Jack Keane 2: The Fire Within

    King's Quest (2015)

    Life Is Strange Remastered
    Life Is Strange: True Colors

    Moons of Madness

    Mortal Kombat Komplete

    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden

    MXGP 2019

    Myst (2021)

    Observer: System Redux

    Octodad: Dadliest Catch

    Planet Alpha

    Remember Me

    Samurai Shodown

    Shadow Warrior 3

    Shadwen

    Sherlock Holmes: The Devil's Daughter

    Singularity

    Song of Horror

    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

    Styx: Master of Shadows
    Styx: Shards of Darkness

    Tails Noir (Backbone)

    Terminator: Resistance

    The Beast Inside

    The Occupation

    The Sinking City

    The Vanishing of Ethan Carter Redux

    The Void

    Trine
    Trine 2
    Trine 3: The Artifacts of Power
    Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince
    Trine 5: A Clockwork Conspiracy

    TT Isle of Man: Ride on the Edge 2

    Unreal Tournament 3
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2024
  18. Keesberenburg

    Keesberenburg Master Guru

    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 TI sc
    FO4 crashing again with this new drivers when weapon Debris is enabled.
     
  19. Passus

    Passus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    1,077
    GPU:
    MSI 4070 Gaming X
    Well yes its been a game issue for over 5 years

    Nothing to do with the driver, turn debris off as you wont miss much
     
  20. NvidiaFreak650

    NvidiaFreak650 Master Guru

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    683
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 4080 FE
    Thanks for the heads up, just try Hellblade 2 (4K max setting + DLSS Quality + FG), the game run better now with Nvidia overlay off in the Nvidia App while using DLSS Quality or DLSS Performance mode. Arkham Knight is one of those games that Nvidia App + Nvidia overlay on tanks the frame rate hard.
     

Share This Page