GeForce 512.15 WHQL drivers bring Nvidia Image Scaling technology (NIS) in any game

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 23, 2022.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    44,706
    Likes Received:
    11,376
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Why_Me, eGGroLLiO and Mineria like this.
  2. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    Nice ! I love using borderless window this will allow me to use borderless on elden ring !
     
  3. AlmondMan

    AlmondMan Master Guru

    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    285
    GPU:
    5700 XT Red Devil
    It states to specifically use full screen mode - like AMD's RSR. You can't use windowed mode and benefit from these technologies.
     
  4. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,980
    Likes Received:
    5,626
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Yes you can ;)
     

  5. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,876
    Likes Received:
    3,553
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080

    upload_2022-3-23_10-47-39.png

    You can you just need to change the desktop resolution to a NIS supported resolution. See asterisk above.
     
    AlmondMan and Mineria like this.
  6. Sephiroth

    Sephiroth Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Asus Rx580 8gb
    Does this support older generations unlike amd rsr?
     
  7. FuriousAngel

    FuriousAngel Master Guru

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX960 Gaming 2G
    Nope. Just tried it on my notebook with 960M, the options are there, but they do nothing at all. No scaling/sharpening with lower resolutions, quality remains the same, custom resolutions don’t show up anywhere either.
     
  8. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,141
    Likes Received:
    3,364
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 Ti
    G-sync+Cyberpunk 2077 - doesn't work in 10-bit mode, works in 8-bit mode.
    my m27q isn't certified,but it worked on previous drivers.

    works in rdr2.just cp2077 so far.
     
    akbaar likes this.
  9. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,876
    Likes Received:
    3,553
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    Hmm might be a bug. Nvidia's announcement implies it supports Maxwell "For Maxwell and Pascal GPUs, Image Scaling does not support HDR." I found people on Nvidia forums of it working on various Maxwell GPUs as well.

    Edit: Apparently it doesn't work on Optimus laptops as the display isn't directly connected to the GPU. Maybe that's the case with you? Also:
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2022
  10. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    625
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    Did you try explicitly enabling VRR in the CyberPunk driver profile (i.e. not global setting controlled)?
     

  11. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,141
    Likes Received:
    3,364
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 Ti
    yes
     
  12. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    Just set my desktop to 1080p and it works
    I can confirm it works with the 1060 6gb for sure
    Go to the nvpanel on the global set it to say 40 sharpening tick for now the watermark notification so you are sure it works ! Then go to the individual program control and choose the scaling of your liking I hope it works !

    set borderless window on your game ! and play ! ! https://i.gyazo.com/f88c3b0591ffcf7fd12880a45d9bdfda.mp4

    hmmm gyazo does not capture the nis the game thinks it is 1440 p thought some trickery from nvidia to fool the poor game it seems still .... allows me to lock play with gsync 55~60 fps ((The game is capped at 60 )) on a 1060 ! i will take it :p
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2022
    akbaar and AlmondMan like this.
  13. southamptonfc

    southamptonfc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,299
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    GB 3080ti Vision OC
    Boo. Doesn't appear for me. I guess it doesn't support ultrawide 5120x1440

    [​IMG]
     
    Venix likes this.
  14. heffeque

    heffeque Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,212
    Likes Received:
    122
    GPU:
    nVidia MX150
    Darn... no luck with my laptop then. It would have been nice to boost performance a bit, as the MX150 is pretty limited performance-wise.
     
  15. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    oh darn yeah , my experience with it so far (( first time i had to use it to get fps i deem acceptable to game )) is that sure if i hold still and start looking for the loss of detail then yes i can tell it is upscaled but in elden ring where i panic roll and looking for openings to strike ... reaaaaaally i have no time to notice the loss of detail having a blast XD

    since my freesynch has a lame range of 48 to 75 hz for me i always care to never fall or very rarerly fall bellow 48 fps ... locking the top fps to 75 ((elden ring specifically is 60fps locked by it self and native 1440p i was waaaaaaaay too often ... pretty much half the time bellow 48 fps :p and one does not simply put shadows on low on elden ring ...or any souls game !
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2022

  16. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,153
    Likes Received:
    1,226
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    intresting? does this mean i can use NIS to setup 1440p on 1080p monitor, or is still still gona look blurry? would it apply to desktop and games or just games?
     
  17. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    I do not think so as far I set my desktop backto1440p it does not do a thing , but that said you can use super resolution in games if I am not mistaken.
     
  18. PurSpyk!!

    PurSpyk!! Master Guru

    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti X Sli
    If I enable this, then icons on my start menu and in certain apps have an odd look to them, like an odd filter has been applied.
     
  19. AlmondMan

    AlmondMan Master Guru

    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    285
    GPU:
    5700 XT Red Devil
    Doesn't that make everything look blurry, though, because you're outputting only 1080p to your 1440p panel for instance? Even if you "upscale and sharpen" etc, your output signal is still 1080p, not 1440p. You might have a scaled and sharpened 1440p image, but it's being sent through a 1080p signal to your monitor that is now using its own internal scaling to make your 1080p image fit on its 1440p pixel count? Or am I completely mistaken here?
     
  20. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,980
    Likes Received:
    5,626
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    it doesn't support Tiled displays, including those that use DSC.
     

Share This Page