GeForce 466.47 WHQL driver download & discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by valorex, May 18, 2021.

  1. ValSidalv21

    ValSidalv21 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 TUF OC
    It's not exclusive to 9th gen intel (I have ryzen 5800x) and not only 8bit, but HDR is affected as well. Only when selecting "use nvidia settings" and forcing 10bit desktop the 1200us spikes stop.
     
    Cave Waverider likes this.
  2. tty8k

    tty8k Master Guru

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    3070
    So at this point everything runs smooth as butter, no stuttering, no crashes, gsync smooth even at lower fps.
    Tested on Warcraft, GTA V, Forza Horizon, Witcher 3, Mass Effect Andromeda.
    Driver Nvidia 466.55

    In order to work like this I did/have the following

    CPU/Windows
    - Disabled Intel Speedstep/EIST and C states (CPU running at full speed)
    - Removed Intel/Msoft microcode security updates (Spectre/Meltdown)

    Nvidia
    - Enabled 10bit desktop in NVCP / 144Hz
    - Power Management set to Max Performance
    - Vsync forced ON in NVCP (off in games)
    - Max render ahead frames set to 1
    - Re-bar profiles enabled globally

    MSI Afterburner
    - Increased voltage a bit from 0.918v to 0.925v (custom for my 3070 @ 1935MHz)
    (used to work fine at 0.918v with pre rebar drivers)
    - Set frame cap to 143

    DPC latency is 550-650us for nvidia nvlddmkm.sys
    The others go up to 150-200us.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2021
  3. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    3080 tuf OC edition
    Even tho turning to 10bit seems to fix the issue.An actual fix from nvidia would be nice.Hopefully we get that.
     
  4. Neil79

    Neil79 Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 980/2070
    Oh well, I'm stuck on 8bit and can't change to 10bit to test
     

  5. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    3080 tuf OC edition
    Yep you're kinda stuck :/
    I really hope they make it a priority fix but with nvidia you can never tell.They have yet to fix VR stutter after all this time so I don't really have any faith in them.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2021
  6. Superino

    Superino New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 ti wb
    my cousin in the same situation. what a shame nvidia
    i7 9700k, 2080 ti Dp.
     
  7. tty8k

    tty8k Master Guru

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    3070
    He can revert to 457.51 (before rebar) till they will fix the issue.
    That one was ok latency wise, besides he won't gain any benefit using a rebar driver with 2080ti (not that is much anyway).
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2021
  8. eGGroLLiO

    eGGroLLiO Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080ti FTW3
    460.89 works fine on my system.
     
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,656
    Likes Received:
    4,406
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I've asked multiple friends to check this on Ryzen and they don't experience it with 2070 super / 3070.

    This..... does bring it in circle back to a behavior that cpu's with iffy pcie controllers don't like. -potentially.

    i'll keep asking around.
     
    endbase likes this.
  10. Neil79

    Neil79 Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 980/2070
    457.51 is a great driver, not black listed either with using Sharpen in the Nvidia Control Panel for Warzone
     

  11. Dan

    Dan Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    RTX 3070 FE
    I get the same latency issues with the 457.51 driver as well unfortunately.

    Screenshot 2021-05-29 093945.png
     
  12. eGGroLLiO

    eGGroLLiO Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080ti FTW3
    I’m on Ryzen with a 2080ti. It’s not an Intel exclusive problem.
     
  13. endbase

    endbase Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    TUF OC RTX 3080
    What a brilliant program it does not refresh to normal but keeps the same status after a spike. First screeny is after opening firefox while the program is running and the second one is with doing nothing go figure :p

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    3080 tuf OC edition

    We need a list of these "iffy" cpu's then if so.(If its only certain cpu's)
     
  15. tty8k

    tty8k Master Guru

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    3070
    Well we can only wait for Nvidia to check the issue at this point.
    While not dismissing completely some cpu issue, I find it hard to believe that enabling 10bit in nvidia driver (fixing the latency) has anything to do with my pcie controller.
     

  16. tty8k

    tty8k Master Guru

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    3070
    Test done using default depth (no 10bit) 466.55
    As a curiosity, disabling hardware acceleration in Chrome and playing the same youtube has little to no latency on video card at all (54us). The card is still being used to 6-9% while playing the video though.

    noHW.JPG

    Now if I remember correctly one of the things that hardware acceleration does is to apply/convert to existing color profile. If disabled, it doesn't use any conversion to color profile.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2021
  17. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    3080 tuf OC edition
    So hotfix driver fixes the 8bit issue?Try the test for a bit longer.I sometimes get the 1.1k spike 3-5 mins in.
     
  18. tty8k

    tty8k Master Guru

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    3070
    No man.
    The games/browsers still spike to 1200ish if default 8bit used.

    What I did is just test Google Chrome with hardware acceleration disabled in browser (chrome settings menu)
     
  19. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    3080 tuf OC edition
    Oh right.
    Yea I also have that disabled ever since I discovered it tends to mess with gpu clocks if you have games playing at the same time chrome is up.Same with discord Harware acceleration.(also disabled)
     
  20. endbase

    endbase Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    TUF OC RTX 3080
    HAGS off should make a difference
     

Share This Page