1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GeForce 397.31 WHQL Game Ready Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by peppercute, Apr 25, 2018.

  1. SpookySkeleton

    SpookySkeleton Member Guru

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Interesting i have those issues in my 1080 mini too but mine are less severe since only appears on the HUD, they are like the rpcs3 glitches in vulkan mode when you play persona 5, according to the developers of the emulator those glitchs are because of some missing feature not present yet on vulkan and maybe dota is trying to use them too hence the glitches, but in my case the game is smooth no sttuters or anything, just those wierd lines.
     
  2. tensai28

    tensai28 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    365
    GPU:
    2080ti MSI X TRIO
    Not on Pascal.
     
  3. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    @SpookySkeleton I'm currently stick with -dx11. The vulkan glitches happened since one year ago.

    Finally, I saw "uxdservice" when I use DDU to boot into safe mode.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  4. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,134
    Likes Received:
    610
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    Afaik SLI has been a mess since it was introduced.

    It's a choice you made.
     

  5. cricket bones

    cricket bones Master Guru

    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    EVGA 980 TI FTW
    You seem to be a tool. Lovely.
     
  6. grabibus

    grabibus Member Guru

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE GTX1080Ti
    I just updated the OS yesterday to 1803 (Windows Pro version).
    I have one issue in COD WWII Multiplayer only at that time : GPU usage was 95%-98% with former windows 10 version.
    Now, it is more likely 66%-85% (Depending on the maps) and I have lost a huge amount of fps !

    This occurs only on COD WWII Multiplayer for me at the moment.
    BF1, Overwatch, etc...are running as with last windows 10 version.
    Timespy is giving usual scores for my rig (As with former windows version)
    Even COD WWII Campaign is running at 98% GPU usage !!!!...

    But something weird is happening with COD WWII Multiplayer.


    Someone else with this issue ?

    Maybe I will try to roll back to 391.35 WHQL to see if it helps...
     
  7. grpm

    grpm Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1050
    Have you considered updating to a more stable version of Windows 10? Oh wait...
     
  8. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,382
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    What about cpu usage is it higher now?


    I noticed higher then usual cpu usage that was ok with 391.xx in COD BO3, DOOM, GTA5 to name a few. Cpu heats more and I noiser fans, MSI afterbruner osd confirms it too, more in 60-65C territory vs before 55-60C
     
  9. grabibus

    grabibus Member Guru

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE GTX1080Ti
    No, no particular increase of CPU usage (i7-5930K@4.7Ghz with HT enabled).
    => Around 50%

    So, I rolled back to 391.35 WHQL and GPU usage of COD WWII Multiplayer still lower, so issue not solved.
    In some parts of the game, I loose until 40% fps..


    It is clearly Windows issue...as only COD WWIII Multiplayer is affected....

    By the way, rolling back to 391.35 soved one issue for me :
    with 397.31, I could change anymore the turbo frequency of my ASUS PG278Q through its switch (To switch from 60Hz, 120Hz and 144Hz, and vice versa).
    Now, with 391.35 it is possbiel again.

    Also in GPUZ, 397.31 was shown as "Beta".
    391.35 are shown as "WHQL".
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  10. Fumz

    Fumz Member Guru

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Evga 1080Ti sc black icx
    Have you tried disabling full screen optimizations for that game?
     

  11. grabibus

    grabibus Member Guru

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE GTX1080Ti
    Yes, it doesn't help.
     
  12. klepp0906

    klepp0906 Member Guru

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    GTX 2080TI
    I cant argue with that.

    But its only part true. I have no choice to run SLI due to the resolution I play at (yes my choice as well i know)

    but it does work relatively well most of the time. Actually its worked every driver ive tried for a long long time now. Just broke either due to driver, or due to wddm 2.4s part in said driver. Rolled back and its fine again.

    Im not young anymore though. My super loud fans and super crazy overclocks were the first to go in the name of saving energy. Next it'll be my 7 screen set up and at the same time probably back to a single card assuming theres something out there with enough chutzpah to melt 4k at the time which is probably likely enough.

    Either way, nvidia could do a litttle freaking testing. I mean how much do they rake in annually? A few dozen test rigs and a couple employees to man them is too much?

    Look at the HB bridge thread in the surround forums. 30 pages long. Ever since driver 368.51, a hotfix from 2 junes ago, nobody has been able to run a dual card SLI config (mind you thats the only supported config on nvidias own website) unless they dont use an HB bridge. I'm running with all myd isplays connected to the top card as we speak, and all the extra heat that entails.

    TLDR
    the "cool" factor is no longer worth the trouble. And for what nvidia charges, coupled with the fact they market this stuff and both technologies have had a decade+ to mature, its a travesty.
     
  13. hemla

    hemla Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    nvidia
    So you claim that Windows 1803 is culprit, while Windows 1709 was fine? Because I have noticed few other people also report 1803 performance issues.
     
  14. Fumz

    Fumz Member Guru

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Evga 1080Ti sc black icx
    I just ran through 3 multiplayer maps. Gpu usage was between 40-70% the entire time. However, fps was between 135-160 (despite cap of 150). The only setting I turned off was depth of field. I left everything on the defaults, which was extra, high or on. I have no baseline as I never really got into this game. I reinstalled just for this, so I have no clue what gpu usage was prior to 1803?
     
  15. Martigen

    Martigen Master Guru

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    84
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti SLI
    Not that I want to diss your experience, but what?

    I have two 1080Ti with an HB bridge -- all works fine.

    Also running this driver -- no issues with SLI at all.

    In fact, the only issues I ever have with SLI are the odd game that doesn't support it without playing around with a few flags in Nvidia Inspector, otherwise about 90% of my games scale excellently.

    If it helps, other parts of my system are an i7-3970X on an X79 board outputting to a 3440x1440 @ 100hz (hence SLI is handy -- about equivalent to a 4K res @ 60Hz GPU load, and I play everything max details).

    I also have a secondary monitor hooked up -- Dell 30" 2560x1600 @ 60. No problems with dual displays.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2018

  16. grabibus

    grabibus Member Guru

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE GTX1080Ti
    Yes, at least for COD WWII Multiplayer.
    GPU usage is now aroung 55%-80% (With 1709 was 95%-98%).
    I have lost between 30% and 50% fps.

    All other games seem ok for me (BF1, Overwatch), even COD WWII Campaign GPU usage is 95%-98% as with windows 1709.
     
  17. grabibus

    grabibus Member Guru

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE GTX1080Ti
    OK, so you have the same issue as me. With this GPU usage at 40-70%, I have lost 30% to 50% fps...(WTF !!!)
    On windows 1709, I had 95%--98% GPU usage.
    DOF is also "off" for me.

    Can you play the campaign and confirm GPU usage around 95%-98% ? Thank you.
     
  18. klepp0906

    klepp0906 Member Guru

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    GTX 2080TI
    sli works fine here too. so long as i connect all my displays to the top card only. Not both cards as instructed on nvidias site and which also helps distribute load in a much more ideal fashion.

    Worked fine on both cards until 368.51 or w/e (too lazy to look again but its been broken for years now on pascal)

    A half dozen of us from the 30 page thread i referenced have already been in contact with a few nvidia employees for awhile but no bueno. They wanted to rma the bridge which they did with no dice.

    Fwiw this was a problem on my old pc which was 4790k z87. I upgraded and replaced EVERYTHING but the video cards, and the same exact problem presents itself.

    I can install 368.51 right now and move my displays to the bottom and be fine. Or ic an remove the hb bridge and use a standard bridge, and be fine.

    same as about a dozen other posters in that thread i keep referencing :p

    I was hoping it was a bios, been there done that. hoping it was a windows install issue. did that too. Finally figured it was somethign with the platform. Nein.

    Of course the fact it literlaly stops at a specific driver and can be replicated gback and forth by swapping doesnt really need much more confirmation.

    sorry for the book.

    doesnt work period w/ this driver though. both cards loaded to 99% with this driver, same settings, both cards loaded to about 50&40% with 391xx

    price one pays for niche builds i suppose. Just wish that if they are advertised, marketed, and supported, theyre actually supported.
     
  19. Fumz

    Fumz Member Guru

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Evga 1080Ti sc black icx
    Played as much as I could stand with all the cut scenes. Gpu usage was as low as 50% and as high as 97%. However, I forgot to cap fps at 150, and so fps was crazy high, even with only 50% usage. For example, breaching that first berm at the start of the game I was getting ~ 375 fps. At no point did it dip below 180 fps.

    **edit**

    I went in to try it with fps capped; however, in the single player there doesn't seem to be an fps cap. I ran through a bit more of the campaign and found that as long as fps was = or < 200fps, gpu usage was really low, just like in the multiplayer. I just ran through another 10 min and never saw anything above 75% gpu usage, all the while never dipping below 160 fps. I'm sure the rest of the game would behave the same... it's just not that graphically demanding and a 1080ti eats it up without much effort.

    If you're getting fps drops or losing 50% of your fps I'm not sure what to think? Low gpu usage, at least for me on 1803 with 397.31 seems to be the norm. I would not characterize it as an issue.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2018
  20. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,382
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Can you tweak config.ini file?

    COD BO3 has 2 cpu specific parameters and I noticed If I change "serialize render" it stabilizes cpu usage, less cpu spikes and smoother gameplay.

     

Share This Page