Geforce 385.12 beta

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by robalm, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. archie123

    archie123 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080ti Extreme
    So i remember when i first went gsync , in driver settings (after new driver install) vsync was set to ON by default when you enabled gsync. In later drivers this was no longer the case it is now use 3d application settings. If its true we need vsync with gsync to prevent tearing (even withing the gsync fps range) why would nvidia change this setting? If tearing is caused by frames being rendered between refreshes and gsync prevents this happening why would it tear? I notice no tearing ingame without vsync
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2017
  2. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,282
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    C:\Windows\Temp\NVIDIA Corporation\NV_Cache
     
  3. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,043
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Because when gsync was released people were complaining about their FPS being capped to refresh rate hence the option was changed.
     
  4. Fumz

    Fumz Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga 1080Ti sc black icx
    Just installed, hit reddit (firefox), got a black screen.

    edit

    Battlefield 1 is a lot smoother. With 384.xx I would always get these dips in fps that are really hard to explain? I cap at 150, and for the most part, fps stays at 150, but a "dip" down to 120 fps would feel like a dip down to 30 fps. It was very strange. Just ran through a few maps and no dips... or at least nothing happened that made the game feel as if it were 30 fps... so yeah, keeping these for a while.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017

  5. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Titan Xp
    soooo i did DPC latency test and i got good results


    this is with Chrome window open
    [​IMG]



    this is with chrome minimized to taskbar
    [​IMG]
     
  6. khanmein

    khanmein Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
    Report to Mozilla & try the latest Mozilla Firefox 55.0.1.
     
  7. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    MSI 1080GX @ 2k/11k
    That looks fine, but I am fairly sure that program doesn't work with Windows 10. You would need to use something like LatencyMon to get a real idea.

    I'm getting really tired of the blackscreen stuff that I've had with any and all 382.xx, 384.xx and this 385.12 driver. Was waiting for FF 55 to come through but they pulled it for some reason. I'll have to try 55.0.1 soon.
     
  8. Klementh

    Klementh Master Guru

    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 660Ti DCU II
  9. khanmein

    khanmein Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
    I don't like Mozilla. I'm sticking with my Google Chrome very stable no issue.
     
  10. tensai28

    tensai28 Master Guru

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080TI aorus xtreme
    I just gave these a go and performance is pretty smooth like the last drivers I was using (384.80). Benchmark scores are lower but game performance seems the same. I don't know why but visual quality seems better for some reason. Maybe placebo.
     

  11. Prophet

    Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
    My machine locked up after installing these and I had some fps dips I usually don't. I suspect these issues are related. Anyways, back to older driver, shame these were really nice otherwise.
     
  12. archie123

    archie123 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080ti Extreme
    I think i misunderstood this ........

    reading it as gsync ON vsync OFF :p
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  13. reeven

    reeven Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX GTX280 750/1450/3000
    do not use DPC LATENCY, its not for win10.
    use LatencyMon......common guys....
     
  14. evgenim

    evgenim Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX770 OC
    DPC Latency shows incorrect graph since Win8.
     
  15. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,666
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    Thanks for sharing, that's all I need to know :)

    Still on 382.05 which is solid but had an Access violation crash in Hellblade so thought I'd try an up-to-date driver (.05 doesn't recognize Hellblade yet).
     

  16. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,939
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    Yeah, i usually don't praise it unless its also stable with my max cpu Oc, and so far these are the best. All others had some sort of stability issue e.g. game freeze and later had to hard reset.. (by very demanding cpu games: gta5, divison, cod bo3, ffxiv bloodborn?, natural selection2, rift, daying light, killing floor2, batman arkham knight, etc)

    No black screen in firefox either.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  17. angelgraves13

    angelgraves13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
    I fully expect Nvidia to release a "Vega Killer" driver tomorrow to unlock some more performance for the 10 series Geforce cards, and then pretend like they pulled it out of thin air, all the while expecting us to give them some mad props.

    Competition is great....
     
  18. peppercute

    peppercute Master Guru

    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    SLI 1080 Gaming X
    dell
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017
  19. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I doubt that will happen, and I doubt anything will change as Nvidia doesn't have to do anything (according to rumors Vege56=1070 ref and Vega64=1080FE).
    This is a yr after release, there probably planning next release, but there is an easy option they left on the table for 1070 and that would be to release with DDR5x memory, I know org they didn't do this cause it would be to close probably in many apps/games to a 1080.
     
  20. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 GRP
    Vega killer was released 14 months ago.
     

Share This Page