GeForce 372.90 WHQL driver download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Driller_au, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. GanjaStar

    GanjaStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 4G gtx970 1506/8000
    @ManuelG

    I dunno if it's the driver or the game, but at a custom resolution of 1920x1200@60hz, deus ex: mankind divided will sometimes go into "no signal" mode upon startup. going to sleep via keyboard and then waking up the PC allows me to get into the game without any further issues.

    This happened 4 times in deus ex over a period of 2 weeks. No other application has a similar issue. both 372.70 and 372.90
     
  2. VAlbomb

    VAlbomb Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Nvidia G1 Gaming GTX 970
  3. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Master Guru

    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    No, same for The Secret of Monkey Island Special Edition and Monkey Island 2 Special Edition as well.
    I guess it will require the games to be patched, since the affected games don't work with AMD's WDDM 2.1 drivers either - unless Nvidia and AMD can implement some sort of WDDM 2.0 spoofing/emulation flag into their drivers and enable it for these games.
     
  4. SlazsH

    SlazsH Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 Trio X
    Looks like the only fix for now is to either:
    1. install a non WDDM 2.1 driver or
    2. manually put a non WDDM 2.1 d3d9.dll in the game folder (EASY FIX)
    *2 No problem for vanilla game users but sucks for people who play with ENB/Reshade. :bang:
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016

  5. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Master Guru

    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    Oh, that works? Where can I get that non-WDDM 2.1 d3d9.dll from?
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  6. SlazsH

    SlazsH Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 Trio X
    Here you go. Works for NV/FO3. Would most probably work with Monkey Island as well.
    Link is in the steam forum post.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  7. Marcel

    Marcel Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
    I am always ON "prefer maximum performance"
     
  8. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Master Guru

    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    I can confirm that it does indeed work for both Monkey Island games, too.

    Thank you so much! :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  9. somemadcaaant

    somemadcaaant Master Guru

    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Seahawk Water
    Well done mate cheers was driving me nuts, one less problem now.
     
  10. Skinner

    Skinner Master Guru

    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    2x 2080Ti Sli
    Yeah, no luck with my modded Gamebyro engine games for the time being, hopefully it we be fixed.
     

  11. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    Don't these mods support chaining? You just name the dll differently and they chain load it.
     
  12. Skinner

    Skinner Master Guru

    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    2x 2080Ti Sli
    Yeah maybe redirect via the ProxyLibrary may work. Will ook at this .
     
  13. AngryWolf

    AngryWolf New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080 SC 8MB
    Been having issues with Forza 3 Horizon. I think the crashing issue is likely Antivirus related (though not sure if it's causing the screen to freeze with sound stuttering), but I'm getting artifacts on the right side of the screen when playing. Anyone else getting this and know if it's a known issues with the driver? I'm playing at 3440x1440 100hz.

    I was going to link to picture, but it says I can't as I need more posts...geez.
     
  14. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,922
    Likes Received:
    441
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I've only had one crash in Forza Horison 3 so far (in almost 20 hours of playtime) but it happened after this new patch and during a race last night.

    What annoys me more though is the flickering textures on distant mountains and hills... I'm not sure if it's an LOD bug or some kind of lighting glitch but it is noticeable and distracting. The latest game patch did nothing to fix this so I'm wondering if it is a driver bug? The only thing I am forcing in the NVIDIA game profile is Maximum Performance so I cannot see that being the cause.

    Anyone else with Forza Horizon 3 and a GTX 1080 seeing this same issue?
     
  15. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,922
    Likes Received:
    441
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I saw someone mention this in another forum. I believe they fixed the issue by increasing MSAA from 4x to 8x.
     

  16. peppercute

    peppercute Master Guru

    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    104
    GPU:
    Msi 2080Ti TRIO
    Soon
     
  17. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    142
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 Ti GX Trio
  18. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    It's gonna be ''Game-Ready'' for Mafia 3, Gears of War 4 and Shadow Warrior 2.
     
  19. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,922
    Likes Received:
    441
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Interesting read, thank for that.

    The Dynamic scaling option in UWP games is a really neat feature allowing me to increase the resolution by 50% from my native 2560x1440 to 3840x2160 but still allowing the game to adjust it in realtime anywhere between those two settings in order to maintain 60 fps. I wish all PC games had this feature rather than just a fixed resolution. As long as the resolution never drops below native then any GPU resources are used for 'free' downsampling.

    It's a great idea and, of course, it allows for console-esque upscaling too from a lower resolution to the native one on less powerful machines whilst still rendering UI elements and text at the native resolution thus avoiding the scaling artifacts you get from traditional downsampling and upscaling.
     
  20. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    I hate that stuff. I want my game to have a consistent look. Not jump from ultra sharp graphics to a ****ty blurfest at random.

    No, no, no. Keep your "dynamic scaling". I don't want anything to do with it :-/
     

Share This Page