Geforce 290.53 Driver released.

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by HeavyHemi, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    or better yet, poor AF at certain angels. ;P
     
  2. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Everyone with Mass Effect 1, can you please test what happens when you have v-sync on (either via driver, game or D3DOverrider) and ambient occlusion set to quality, 8xMSAA and 4x transparency supersampling. In fact, I have the exact same issue in Unreal Tournament 3 too.

    When I enable vsync antialiasing is gone. If I disable vsync antialiasing is either on, off or flickers on and off fast.

    It will look like this, even though the game is clearly taking the performance hit from AA:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Then if I start recording video it will suddenly switch to this after few frames (or if I limit framerate to 30 FPS - makes zero sense to me):
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    When I stop recording it will revert back to no AA. The one who figures what's causing this will be my hero. :bang:
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  3. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,027
    Likes Received:
    1,322
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    doesnt look good, but floor grids patterns are hardly a news.
    and when u say poor AF, checkout those links and the newest offering from competition :p

    I blame the benchmarks and the FPS battle.
    Regular user is blind as a bat, and with everyone focused on FPS, that's what AMD/Nvidia are giving us;
    Instead of providing better IQ
     
  4. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,065
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    what program are you using to record ?
     

  5. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Fraps, lossless mode. I think that the fact that I've set it to limit it to 30 FPS has something to do with it (I mean to get the AA working...). For some reason Mass Effect 2 works just fine. This AA mess and crashing seems to go hand to hand.

    This is what I managed to snap since print screen button did not work:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  6. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    Couldn't have said it better:thumbup:

    please nvidia fix this mess, once IQ king now almost sub par... :S
     
  7. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Hmmm.... Just what I suspected. It may be that the recent inclusion of frame rate limiter broke something. If I actually enable that and force frame rate to 30 fps, guess what? AA works. If I use anything higher than 30 fps, AA will start to flicker on and off or just be completely disabled.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  8. Blaire

    Blaire Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Geforce TITAN 4-Way...
    It makes no Difference here, Anti-Aliasing remains Active. Have you already tried the Drivers and the Game to reinstall? Strange Phenomenon...
     
  9. Blaire

    Blaire Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Geforce TITAN 4-Way...
    Correct Screenshot-Comparison between Old and New Drivers would be helpful, you claim it is only with 290.xx
    So then, it should be easy to show the Differences.
    For me, it looks normal, It was always so with Unreal Engine Games
    some Edges are not smooth.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  10. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz


    So?

    They better fix it so they are smooth as well. Then what's the point in AA then? I don't want lower AA that looks like 2xAA when in fact its 16xQAA.

    Yes it was here with 285.xx too, but not so pronounced like now.

    Older 275.xx and 270.xx had much better AA, but with bigger performance impact. 16xQaa was too demanding for UT3, but since 280.xx+ not anymore and yes no wonder because it looks uglier. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012

  11. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I've cleaned my system completely from NVIDIA drivers. This AA issue seems to happen in every older Unreal Engine 3 game I have (i.e. UT3, Mass Effect). AA works in Mass Effect 2, Mirror's Edge, Batman: AA and Batman: AC. I can't test any other UE3 game.

    I definitely have issues with this driver but since everyone has different systems there are numerous reasons why it happens or does not happen.

    When it comes to AA, I've always noticed that CSAA sucks balls in and UE3 game when forced via Nvidia CP. For example 16xQAA looked like 2xMSAA. 8xMSAA offered the best quality in Mass Effect 1 & 2 and UT3.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  12. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    True, i just tested 8xMSAA and its a little better, but nothing to get excited about. Also now I noticed Ambient Occlusion lag (using quality) - camera jitter, while before with 16xQAA it wasn't there :S

    http://i.imgur.com/K7nVG.jpg

    http://i.imgur.com/C4DpU.jpg
     
  13. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    AA is never going to look good in UE3 but I'm not sure why CSAA looks so much worse than normal MSAA.

    This isn't the best comparison but still noticeable:

    32xCSAA:
    [​IMG]

    8xMSAA (clearly better):
    [​IMG]

    Usually 32xCSAA looks like 2xMSAA and at best on par with 4xMSAA.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  14. Blaire

    Blaire Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Geforce TITAN 4-Way...
    Yes, this can I reproduce and confirm CSAA is obviously broken. MSAA works fine.
    But, that has nothing, but to do with your other Problem.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  15. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    That has been like that for a while and indeed does not have anything to do with my AA issues in older UE3 games.
     

  16. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    380
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I reverted back to 285.62. Antialiasing works like a dream in UT3 and Mass Effect now (well, save CSAA) and no 2D clock issue when using 75Hz. This new driver is a mess. No crashing either.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  17. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,052
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    I just started playing red faction guerrilla with these drivers. I played 7 hours nonstop and game never crashed with great framerate with everything full....taken a break now
     
  18. yosef019

    yosef019 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 ti
    we need smaa x2 !!!!
     
  19. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,353
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    Everytime this thread pops up i keep thinking it's a new driver :(
     
  20. sava700

    sava700 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080GTX FWT
    Well for some reason this driver hates my GT430 and TeamFortress 2 in Window mode so I've backed up to the beta before this one. Seems when I launch TF2 and its just sitting there (using dual monitors) both go black and the driver crashes and recovers... very annoying. So far the one before these hasn't done that. Now this one works fine on a 570 I'm using.
     

Share This Page