G Skill Ripjaws Z, How good they are?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Leito360, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. Leito360

    Leito360 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX480 Nitro+
    Hi, i'm moving to 16 GB and a friend said to me that this ripjaws will perform great with my Crosshair III + 965 BE

    http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=469

    How good are those memories??

    I tried to get the samsung magic memory but I was unable to do so.

    Any suggestions will be appreciated. I'm looking for 1600 @ CL7
     
  2. 1Bravo

    1Bravo Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 980 Ti Hybrid
    Hi I don't have the exact same models but GSkills are no brainer.

    GSkill is very well recognized memory around the overclocking/gaming community.

    One thing is for sure. Their life time warranty really works. Last year one of my memory stick went bad and they replaced it not questions asked. Just RMA, send the old stick and they will send the new one within few days.

    Pretty happy with their quality and support.
     
  3. pimp_gimp

    pimp_gimp Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,598
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
    From my experience with G.Skill their memory is top notch stuff, as good or better than other brands like Corsair, etc.
     
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    Maybe get 1866mhz CL8 it would be better if you plan to OC/run into ram multiplier issue or for newer systems later on.
    http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=463

    Also as others said they have good quality chips - mostly Samsung.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013

  5. Leito360

    Leito360 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX480 Nitro+
    That's a good point, but I'm like 95% sure that by the time I change the system there will be DDR4 out there.
     
  6. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Just don't try and overclock them....I have exact same ram in my lounge PC and those sticks don't overclock at all.

    Btw why you want 16GB ram?
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
  7. Leito360

    Leito360 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX480 Nitro+
    Yeah, I read reviews of the Snipers and they don't overclock as well, so I thought, by definition, that the ripjaws won't be the exception. Wait for the worse and you won't be disappointed.


    The 16 gigs are mainly because I open lots of trashy tabs in my browser and also I often have more than a browser open at the time, with Photoshop running.
    I don't like that "pagefile" crap, I'm very greedy when it comes to use space in the HDD.
    And of course, because it is a whim :p
     
  8. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    You should consider Kingston HyperX with Hynix IC's. Nothing beats Hynix when it comes to overclocking.

    Btw DDR4 won't become mainstream until ~2015, DDR3 still has a long life ahead of it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
  9. Leito360

    Leito360 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX480 Nitro+
    Mmmmm... didn't the HyperX got kinda hot??
    I had a friend who sold them because of that.
     
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Not at all, I have 2 sets of HyperX and they're great. Running my 1866 @2400 no problem.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013

  11. kanej2007

    kanej2007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    I highly recommend ANY ram made by G Skill.

    Reason being I've owned several before & I've NEVER had ANY problems with them.

    However, I have had several brands of ram which have gone wrong & they include Corsair & OCZ...

    Currently I'm using Corsair as there is not much other choice. I'm able to use Kingston as an alternative but prefer Corsair.

    I'd love to use G Skill but unfortunately they are not available here in Dubai. You CAN get them but are rare to find. You will not have much to choose from.

    If your lucky there will only be 1-2 different ones...

    I would have to buy them from abroad & should they go wrong I'm buggered...
     
  12. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,050
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Btw G.Skill generally uses hynix ics in their ripjaws and higher end. thats ill i have been using since my first gskill kit
     
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,951
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    idk not in RipjawZ 2133mhz or TridentX 2400mhz, both use Samsung chips. I checked few reviews and noticed that.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2013
  14. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,050
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2013
  15. Leito360

    Leito360 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX480 Nitro+
    I understand your issue. Here at Argentina, there are lots of problems regarding customs, that's why I didn't get my Magic Samsungs in first place... Well, it seems like the G Skills are good to go.... Looking backwards, I remember my first memory was going to be a couple of Ripjaws, but I remember being told that there were some problems with the warranty or something alike. Fortunately, i'm in time to correct my mistake.

    Taking notes :)
    It would be great if that rumor could be confirmed.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013

  16. Xtreme1979

    Xtreme1979 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
    I stand by G.Skill memory. I have had issues with Corsair in the past, but not a one problem with many G.Skill kits.
     
  17. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,050
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Mine has 240, and is indeed hynix.
     
  18. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    HD7950
    Samsung make some solid memory mind you, especially if you're interested in overclocking it. The 30nm stuff is fantastic. Think the price skyrocketed when people started to catch on, though.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
  19. Leito360

    Leito360 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX480 Nitro+
    What can you guys tell me about the "Compatibility"-thingy?

    Because, for example, the RIpjawsZ said they're compatible with Intel chipsets, but the Snipers say they're also compatible with AMD chipsets, but still, both of them will work on any board.
    Why they do this clarification regarding the AMD/Intel chipsets if the sticks will work in both of them?

    I'm asking because I saw this Snipers... but I'm not sure about them, though.

    http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=338
     
  20. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,542
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    I would go DDR3-2133 RAM myself (should be fine in you system), only because it does provide performance gains over DDR3-1600, even with slower timings, and the cost is not much more (at least here) as DDR3-1600. Basically it is a worthwhile consideration unless you are on a super-strict budget.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013

Share This Page