FX-8350 or FX-6300

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by DarkReign, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Skyrim @ 1920 Ultra Settings w/Vsync on

    Min, Max, Average
    23, 64, 59.126

    Borderlands @ @ 1920, Vsync off, Physix Medium, Everything else High, fps capped at 120

    Min, Max, Average
    33, 121, 62.75

    That's all I have so far. I'll get to some more games a little later. Also, this is with an OC of 4.2GHz
     
  2. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN... Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
    Skyrim fps look awful?? Is that with 8xAA, mods of any kind?

    I take it thats borderlands 2 as well, hmmm something doesn't seem right there. I don't know, wait for someone else to chip in :)

    Thanks so far.
     
  3. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Skyrim was benched vsync on. And yes 8xaa. I was looking at other reviews and benches and I seem to be under performing even at 1920
     
  4. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Okay, so I set everything back to stock. Here are some benches using fraps.

    Skyrim 1920, vsync off, 4xAA
    Min, Max, Avg
    24, 524, 163.88

    BL2 @ 1920, Everything Set to high, Physix medium, uncapped fps
    min,max, avg
    33, 164, 66

    edit*
    I've just ordered an Asus Sabertooth (I received a lot of gift cards for my birthday). In any case, I'm going to wait until I receive it, reinstall windows and then I'll bench some more.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013

  5. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN... Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
    It's your minimum fps that seem bad. Skyrim should not be going that low and I get a minimum of 40fps on BF3 with my 4100. Hope the new board helps.
     
  6. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Well, I'll post some new benchies once I get my board. Maybe a fresh windows install will make a difference.

    EDIT* I'm going to try the other PCI-e slot and see if that makes a difference as well.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013
  7. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN... Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
    Any joy? A fresh install may very well sort your issues and is it running the latest bios?
     
  8. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    I won't be receiving the new mobo until tomorrow. I'll try a different PCI-e slot later tonight when I get home. Otherwise, I'll be waiting until Wednesday to get some more testing done.
     
  9. PinguX

    PinguX Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 280
    Skyrim only uses 2 cores, which may explain the minimum fps. What clock is that gtx670 running at and which drivers ?
     
  10. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    The GTX670 is at stock speeds and I'm using the latest WHQL drivers from Nvidia.
     

  11. PinguX

    PinguX Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 280
    You can try asking in the nvidia section for recommended drivers for the gtx670

    Have you got any games with good multicore support (BF3, Crysis 2 for example) ?
     
  12. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Hmmm I will do that. I'll just browse through that sub-section of the forum. I do have Crysis 2. I'll give that a go tonight. No BF3 though :(
     
  13. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN... Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
    Not when I'm getting more on a lesser chip, clocked lower.
     
  14. PinguX

    PinguX Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 280
    Benchmarks with fraps is going to be different for every pc, you have to use the same benchmark and settings for a fair comparison.
     
  15. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    I think what I'll try tonight is uninstalling the Nvidia drivers, and installing the 310.70 drivers. Worth a shot.
     

  16. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN... Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
    Oh come on, an 8350 going under 30fps with a GTX 670 at 1080p is definitely showing a problem, end of.

    @Dark - Yeh, hopefully its just a minor thing that's causing that dip in performance. I'm sure you will get to the bottom of it :)
     
  17. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    8320 :)

    I was pretty lazy in that I didn't reinstall windows. I transferred all my hardware from my old case to a brand new, and then installed the 8320. I should've did a clean install of Windows...but I didn't have the energy at the time. :|
     
  18. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN... Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
    Sorry, yes, 8320:stewpid: (but it was clocked higher than a stock 8350:nerd:)

    Lazy ass lol, I'm sure it will come good. When all is said and done, did most things feel smooth gameplay wise? Numbers are just numbers after all.
     
  19. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Hehehe yes I am. :D

    Yeah, games felt very smooth. Borderlands 2 was like night and day compared to performance from the 4100. Batman is still a little choppy...but I think it's more the game than anything else. The Witcher 2 is a dream to play. Very smooth with everything set to max. I'm looking forward to the new mobo, and yes I will do a fresh windows install this time around.
     
  20. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Well, I've reinstalled the 310.70 drivers, and here are my results.

    Skyrim vsync off, fxaa on
    min, max, avg
    66, 97, 81

    RAGE vsync on, fxaa on, aa set to 4x
    min, max, avg
    58, 61, 59.9

    EDIT*
    Crysis 2
    min, max, avg
    69,109,82.95

    These results are at stock settings only. I'm going to run 3dmark and see if there's a difference there as well.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2013

Share This Page