FX-8320 low physics score 3DMark 11

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by DarkReign, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Hey guys, I've noticed that my 3dmark 11 physics scores have dropped. They're normally around 8200-8400 and now it's going as low as 7300.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6326701

    Any ideas?

    Right now it's oc'd to 4.6GHz @ 1.488 v on full load. I've tried different configurations and no matter the clock the physics score is in the same range.
     
  2. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,047
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    I'm getting 5356 with my 965
     
  3. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/5511975

    Those are my previous scores at the same cpu clock. It's down 600 points. I know...it's not much...but I'm a freak. :p I wonder if this is due a recent update of 3DMark?
     
  4. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,047
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Yea could be an update, check the same CPUs and clocks running the same version in the results to compare
     

  5. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    check and see if you have the KB2670838 update installed. If you do, uninstall it.
     
  6. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    I did have that update installed. After uninstalling the update and installing an older version of 3dmark....I still get the same scores lol. Comparing my physics, and even my graphics scores, I'm considerably lower than most. Could it be the latest nvidia drivers?
     
  7. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    no because the physics test is calculated from cpu.


    EDIT:

    Let me rephrase that. The frist physics test is calculated from the cpu. The second physics test uses calculation from cpu and GPU (DirectCompute)
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
  8. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Good point. Time to check the bios.
     
  9. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    What bios version do you have installed?


    Give me a few and ill post a 3dmark run to see where im at.
     
  10. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    I'm using bios version 1302.
     

  11. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
  12. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Well I just updated to 1503 and reworked the OC settings. Then I flashed my video card with a newer rom and OC'd. Results are much better.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6327578

    Thanks for your help Phaze. Now I'm going to try and squeeze out a little more of my GTX 670. :)
     
  13. Taint3dBulge

    Taint3dBulge Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti 2063/6180
    What do you have your NB HT set at? Also Pcie frequency?

    NB should be no lower then 2400mhz imo
    HT you can shoot for 3200mhz+ that helps quite a bit

    Pcie set that at 110 to 112 helps with overclocking imo.. Im still playing around with that.. If you go to high it starts to mess with my soundcard... I do think (maybe its placebo) it makes things feel smoother too, game wise...


    There was a thread about it afew years ago and a way you can test it. From the test itself, you would see a big difference from 100 to 110.... But i do not have the time to dig that up. Maybe later..
     
  14. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    I have NB set to 2400 and HT at 2600. 2600 is the max for HT on my board. NB I can take up to 3200. I've adjusted the pcie frequency. I'll see what that does.
     
  15. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    I'm not sure how it is with this architecture, but with Denab and Thuban, overclocking the HT had little to no performance gains. Overclocking the northbridge would be more beneficial.
     

  16. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    From what I've read HT provides more performance gains when overclocking. I still can't help but feel my card is somewhat under performing. Just comparing that to other scores I'm seeing.
     
  17. Taint3dBulge

    Taint3dBulge Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti 2063/6180
    There is something thats just not right... we will help you figure it out.

    Lower your mult. to 19 x try 250 to start with see if you can get it to boot up and run.. My cpu offset is normaly at 1.32ish you might want to mess with that... also cp/nb is less.. I was tryin to get back to a 5.2ghz oc but just cant get it back up there with my ram clocked that high..


    look at this might help..
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4568568#post4568568http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4568568#post4568568

    For bulldozer its opposite.. HT has more effect over NB.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  18. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    I just tried it out with a multi of 19 and FSB of 245. I dropped NB to 2240 and kept HT to 3130. I'm leaving my ram around 1600mhz as it just doesn't do well past that. I'm still scoring in the low 8100 BUT, it's a huge leap from the mid 7600 that I was originally at.
     
  19. Taint3dBulge

    Taint3dBulge Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti 2063/6180
    So whats happening, blue screen of death, computer freezing, or just not able to boot?

    Try running prime 95 and see what happens... Run it for 10 min see if you get any errors... Im sure we can get you back up... Who knows maybe your ram is startting to fizzle, or maybe its your psu... This is the stuff i hate/love about computers.. Figuring out whats wrong with things...
     
  20. DarkReign

    DarkReign Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 Classy 1287/6200
    Well it looks like it may not be the ram after all. I had two bsods. I just checked the dump files and apparently its a windows issue that there is a hotfix for. Makes some sense. I was running p95 with no issues. The bsods were completely random and only happened twice. I ran occt mainly to check my PSU and the lines are perfectly stable. I'm going to try higher ram timings when I get home. What should I have my nb set at?
     

Share This Page