Functional 4-Way SLi PASCAL Titan X

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by venturi, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. xixou

    xixou Member Guru

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    inno3d 1070 3x (4)
    I tried three way SLI on GTX 1070 using nvidia inspector profile for various games but it stick using 2 cards. Tested with overwatch, deus ex mankind divided and farcry 4.
    Could you send me your farcry 4 profile if you have it ?
    Thanks.
     
  2. xixou

    xixou Member Guru

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    inno3d 1070 3x (4)
    Oh yes , this is actually working, thanks for the hope Venturi !

    The trick is to make think nvidia drivers that the game is actually enabled for 3 or 4 way sli,
    meaning like for the benchmark (catzilla, uningine, 3dmark, ...).

    So open nvidiaProfileInspector.exe, pick your game,
    click the right button show unknown settings (glass icon),
    go the entry 0x10FD4C5F and select catzilla,... (data is 0x01F296C1).
    Apply changes (top right icon) then play your game in 3 or 4 way sli ^^
    Note: I use a flex asus bridge v1.3 with two time 60 mm spacing for my asus x99 deluxe (p/n: 080002-00050000.
    I use 3 inno3d gtx 1070 x3 graphic cards on windows 10 64 bits.

    Note: I use Nvidia drivers version 373.06

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    PremiumGrade likes this.
  3. xixou

    xixou Member Guru

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    inno3d 1070 3x (4)
    Note I painted the bridge in black because it was hugly in orange ^^

    [​IMG]
     
    PremiumGrade likes this.
  4. animeowns

    animeowns Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Titan
    3 way sli help

    trying to get 3 way sli in games like dying light dishonored 1 and 2 shadow of mordor a little help would be appreciated I am using the evga V2 pro led bridge I have also added dishonored 2 3d frame altering to 3 and sli gpu count to 3 in nv inspector + added the game's profile with the unknown catzilla profile trying to get 80% or better in scaling
     

  5. Dagamus NM

    Dagamus NM New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Titan X Pascal
    Hi everybody, I just joined after seeing this thread.

    Venturi, I see that you built this beast for doing doses for Nuc Med.

    I am very curious as to what you are doing for this application specifically.

    I work for a not-for-profit org and my budget is not as deep as yours. I have just received a 6950X, Rampage V edition 10, and four Titan X Pascals. I was just going to use two of them in this build and two in another.

    I am running MCNPX for general Monte Carlo code and PCXMC for fluoroscopy doses. I probably won't go to the lengths required to make these codes use four GPUs like this, I have a 5960X based build with four 980Tis that is pretty fast already.

    Anyhow, I may take this to PM as there is no point in filling this thread with work related stuff that most of the users here would not be interested in.

    Edit: I guess the forum requires 15 posts before I can use the PM function. Well, guess I will take a tour. Surely there are other threads of interest.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2016
  6. venturi

    venturi Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    dual 3090 FE SLI
    Dagamus NM

    Thanks for asking

    the server is my personal backup of the pharmacy software (in VM), its also the backup of my PACS, my RIS, my Oracle sites, and research. It is also my test bed (in VM) for 2 grant projects with isotopes. Its also a place for me to prep stuff like ACR, do my quickbooks, and some 3D reconstruction projects. and yes...even email and surf forums.

    I run Ubuntu and server2012r2 from it

    It does a lot. To do so I usually have to budget and design it myself as its my personal computer. My work computer is a decent build but not quite like this one

    ...and I play games on it, max eye candy, at real 4k 4096x2160 or 5K depending which monitor I use.

    I have always tried to have a good workstation over the years, earlier in the post are examples of prior builds - but they all have had to pull double duty and cover what I need for work first

    J
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2016
  7. WinterMagican

    WinterMagican Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Pascal TITAN X 4Way-SLI
    About Pascal TITAN X 4 Way-SLI

    Nice to meet you, venturi
    My name is Winter Magician.
    I am Japanese. I am not good at English, so I translate it with Google Translate.
    I think that it is hard to read, but please read it carefully.

    I longed for you and made it "Pascal TITAN X 4 Way - SLI".

    While setting up "nVIDIA inspector" or "nVIDIA Control Panel" while watching the forum you participated, it does not work well.
    The GPU will operate on 2 way or single.
    (Final Fantasy XIV , BattleField4 , Black Desert etc...)

    Is it not working if there is no "Enthusiast key Trick"?
    Or is there insufficient setting of inspector?

    I'm sorry for troubling you, but please teach.
     
  8. drac

    drac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Strix RTX2080 Ti OC
    For gaming, why even 4 way... just a disaster, just do 3 or 2 way. 4 cards have never worked well, if at all. 3 are not a good idea honestly either. All speaking from a compatibility standpoint. I'm surprised the system isn't water cooled, those 4 cards must get overly hot, probably throttling.

    If i had as much and any hardware I could choose i'd still only go 2x sli.
     
  9. venturi

    venturi Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    dual 3090 FE SLI
    winter magician

    PM me the same question
     
  10. Pete J

    Pete J Master Guru

    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Some of those as well
    Because in some games 4x SLI works REALLY well and you can turn up the detail to insane levels.
     
    PremiumGrade likes this.

  11. WinterMagican

    WinterMagican Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Pascal TITAN X 4Way-SLI
    Hello venturi.
    OK. Thank you for reply
     
  12. shiokarai

    shiokarai Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3 x Titan X Pascal
    I've read this thread few times already and still can't get my head around something :nerd: :eyes:

    What bothers me, is that Venturi said he's never seen single CPU system to properly & fully feed anything beyond 2-way SLI ie. 3-way SLI and quad SLI. I assume this is correct? And yet Thirty IR post screenshots with i7-6950x and perfect 95%+ 4-way scaling@5k... so it's also possible with single CPU and x8/x8/x8/x8 configuration + v2 bridge (= without 8-DIY connectors bridge mentioned by Venturi earlier in this thread)?

    Apart from that I'm jealous about the enormous amount of knowledge Venturi has on this particular topic, it's really amazing to actually read something that has real information in it. Thanks! :)
     
  13. venturi

    venturi Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    dual 3090 FE SLI
    You are correct
    But the truth is complicated

    Basically when I showed thirtyIR the secret sauce I knew it would work for his rig but despite the 95% scaling the end result is still not apples to apples to a multi socket system with the additional resource pools.

    In both situations the scaling on the more thought out sli profiles is about 3.5x the performance of 1 card in the same system, this is true for both our systems
    (Example I get 400 fps at 4096x2160 full candy on some titles)

    HOWEVER
    The performance of 1 card in a rig like thirty IR with the right CPU, memory and config is call it a factor of 100% (of max eye candy, real 4K, 5k or 8k res)
    Which he and I have shown in 4K, 5k, and 8k

    But
    The performance of the same card in a correctly configured multi socket system (mind you "correctly configured" is a large subject in itself) has a performance of about 96%, this due to usually slower clocks in a multi core multi socket system. Now, with every card you add the demand on system A's CPU, bus, memory, and array grows - Dropping the total efficiency per card with every card you add.
    This is true for both systems, but the one with the larger real resources can handle the load much better so every card on system B gets its own full CPU/socket, ram pool, cache on die, snoop, lanes and more (like allocated NUMA zones)

    Think of it this way:
    System A is a 2016 La Ferrari (seats 2 including driver) who's job is to carry 3 passengers across a 2 mile bridge ( a work of art for the eyes)
    System B is a 2016 GTR (seats 4 including driver, with room for luggage) saddled who the the same task (the GTR is an ugly duckling compared to the La Ferrari)


    The ferrari might make it across the bridge and back before the GTR makes it half way back on the return leg of the trip. But while the Ferrari is starting the second trip, the has GTR completed the whole original task.

    This task is handed out repeatedly with every cycle. On occasion, some of the passengers show up with some unwieldy luggage - unfortunately the La Ferrari doesn't even have a glove box.

    Further, the GTR has clones (fleet) of itself that can carry more passengers and can use multiple bridges to get to the same spot, allowing each run to have an unshared bridge.



    Much in the same way is the difference between a really fast 6 or 12 ht core system on a normal bus, and comparatively speaking a "correctly configured" 44 core/ 88 HT multi socket system

    Don't get me wrong, the La Ferrari is a work of art, and so is thirtyIR's system.


    I just happen to be stuck with the 4 seater....

    So in the same way 95% utilization in one system is not necessarily the same as 95% utilization in the second system

    I hope that helps explain it
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2016
  14. shiokarai

    shiokarai Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3 x Titan X Pascal
    Thanks for the reply, Venturi.

    So what you're saying is, there's a bandwidth/resource limitation going on with Quad SLI at high resolutions (4k+) AND that scaling ThirtyIR is achieving is only applicable to a selected few games, because said limitations? That's what you mean by the car analogy?

    Then, if Yes, let's say one builds a system with 2 x 4-core xeons v 4 (2 x 40 PCI-E lanes, 3.50 GHz base clock), 32 gigs of 2400 DDR4 ECC ram (minimum for quad channel@2 CPUs) and quad sli... will it scale at the full potential (assuming software related side is taken care of)?

    This seems much more complicated than nvidia wants everybody to believe. I wonder whether such bandwidth/resource limitation on the average SLI PCs were the reason to abandon support for 3+ GPUs? (also moving from forward to deferred rendering/lightning in modern titles).

    EDIT:

    also can't make 3-way working on anything... got 3 cards, got proper SLI bridge (doesn't have a warning in NVCP, NVCP says 3-way SLI enabled), got settings applied in NVCP, made a custom profile for a game (ie. Dishonored 2 - 2-way works flawlessly) and nothing. nada. zero. :(
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2016
  15. mirkoj

    mirkoj Guest

    Hey guys.
    I know this could be a bit OT but I was wondering if ANYONE can help me a bit with getting proper Elite Dangerous NV inspector settings.
    I'm bashing my head trying for couple days now and no luck.
    FPS does increase a bit when 4-way sli is enabled BUT there enormous amount of stuttering and jittering, it cant be even called stuttering but more like huge screen tearing. Playing with single card is better experience then with any of SLI, 2way 3 2qay or 4way.
    Setup is 5960x, 4xTitan X Maxwell with evga pro SLI bridge v2, 3x pa328q 4k monitors. Tring to get nice 4 way sli for surround game play.
    Please any ideas? I tried changing sli methods and all but.. no luck. I have a feeling that I'm just simply spinning in circles.
    Thanks for any advice
     

  16. animeowns

    animeowns Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Titan
    Hi venturi I have been trying to get 3/4 way working with nv inspector and the latest drivers from nvidia I would really appreciate it if you could give me step by step instructions on how to get it properly working for games such as GTA V Doom 2016 Shadow of mordor and a few other games

    specs CPU: 6950x Motherboard Rampage V Memory 32GB DDR4 PSU 1500W Corsair Titan XP 3way Dell 5k monitor and true 4k monitor
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2016
  17. venturi

    venturi Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    dual 3090 FE SLI
    I PM-ed you
     
  18. animeowns

    animeowns Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Titan
    EVGA PRO V2 Led Bridge

    Yes I have the EVGA Pro V2 Led bridge @ Venturi sorry my post count isn't at 15 post yet. Along with 3 titan xp video cards on a 6950x rampage V ex motherboard with 32gb of ram
     
  19. venturi

    venturi Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    dual 3090 FE SLI
    PM-ed you next step
     
  20. GeniusPr0

    GeniusPr0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    RX 6800 XT
    Damn, Nuclear Medicine sure pays well.

    Wish I had the money to put all this together. Looking forward to the same done with Volta and HBM2.
     

Share This Page