Fried VRMs ?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards Intel' started by Brandon_34, Sep 4, 2012.

  1. Brandon_34

    Brandon_34 Master Guru

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 690GTX
    I was testing an overclock at 4.5ghz with my 3930k using prime 95 when the computer just suddenly turned off now it won't boot at all. I reseated the video card memory and cpu with the same problem. This is with the Asus Rampage IV Formula X79. The onboard led Will light on the mobo indicating it's getting power but when I hit the power button I hear a click and no boot.

    The only way it will go through the Boot Sequence is if I unplug the ATX 12 Volt 8 pin power cord to the cpu. Think the VRMs on the mobo took a dump?
     
  2. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,168
    Likes Received:
    981
    GPU:
    1080Ti + Xtreme III
    Reset the CMOS.
    If that doesnt work, remove the CMOS battery overnight and try again tomorrow.
     
  3. Brandon_34

    Brandon_34 Master Guru

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 690GTX
    Thanks. Yes I did all that already. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem with the x79 because it seems there are problems with VRMs on these mobos. I'm just not sure because there was no burning smell and the VRMs look ok as far as I can tell.
     
  4. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,168
    Likes Received:
    981
    GPU:
    1080Ti + Xtreme III
    I dont believe you.
    Jumping to conclusions isnt good.
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    From what I know it sounds like the motherboard is dead. Prob not the VRM's though since afaik they are meant to have thermal protection.
     
  6. Brandon_34

    Brandon_34 Master Guru

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 690GTX
    Ok so You think I'm Lying that I reseated everything? Ok fair enough.
     
  7. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Read post #2 again.


    There is no way you could know that unless the heatsink was removed.

    Do you know what a VRM looks like?
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012
  8. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,168
    Likes Received:
    981
    GPU:
    1080Ti + Xtreme III
    Hehe thanks for the backup Pill.
    I was about to post the same thing.
     
  9. Brandon_34

    Brandon_34 Master Guru

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 690GTX
    Yes I do. and never mind.
     
  10. PCGAMER_1971

    PCGAMER_1971 Banned

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 690 GTX(Sig Series)
    If the computer boots without the 8 PIN and does nothing with it plugged in yes I would say the VRM's are gone.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2012

  11. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Even at 4.5ghz using prime95 the vrms should not have failed,that is quite a mild oc for that cpu and mobo,if everything was setup right before you ran prime95,i reckon that mobo may have been alittle flaky,slightly faulty,alittle on the weak side,there is no way those vrms shoulda popped at 4.5ghz.
     
  12. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    IF plugging in the 8-pin connector fails to boot, you have 3 possible sources for the problem, bad psu, bad motherboard, or bad cpu. The PSU can be checked with a multimeter. You can remove the mother board and and check for blown caps or burn marks (check mosfets first.) CPU might be a little harder to test unless you know someone with another X79 board or have a computer shop nearby that will check it for free.
     
  13. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,644
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Sure it's the motherboard and not the power supply supplying a funky voltage through those plugs? The plugs are plugged in properly on the PSU?

    Try checking to make sure it is plugged in properly. Your power supply has a second EPS 8 Pin plug, try that and use the second EPS 12V outlet on your PSU. Process of elimination :)
     
  14. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    39,239
    Likes Received:
    7,888
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA

    This account matches the Brandon_34 account

    So Brandon_34 ... don't do that again. otherwise you'll force me to ban both of the accounts AND your IP okay ? BTW people here are trying to help you, how about showing a little more respect ?
     
  15. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I'd be surprised if it was VRM's, but if board only boots with 8 pin unplugged it could well be.

    Those boards are meat to have OCP/overheat protection though....weird.


    HAHA...owned. How did you suspect it was the same person?

    And what is the point of making another account and replying to his own thread? That's just strange.....:3eyes:
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2012

  16. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,644
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Just like fake good reports are a 'great'... way to promote a product or brand, fake bad reports are a great way, and probably much more effective, to diss a product. People don't take too much notice of a couple of reports of good results with a product, but they certainly take notice if multiple people are having issues with a product.

    I'm not saying that this is the case here, but it does happen. Shouldn't let a suspicious mind get in the way of helping people. In this case, there may be other factors. Too high of a voltage stuff it up for example.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2012
  17. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    The R4E has OCP/OVP in normal mode. It should have throttled back beforehand to prevent that sort of thing. Unless it was in LN2 mode when it happened. Then i'd tack it as user error. Hey no offense OP, it happens to the best of us. :nerd:
     
  18. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Lol what a loser posting with 2 accounts lol
     
  19. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    327
    GPU:
    GTX
    At least he was not like

    yes its the vrm's

    no its not the vrm's

    then had an arguement with himself that got one of him banned lol

    as for the vrm frying, it could happen even with built-in safe guards.
    my rive smells like its burning sometimes
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2012
  20. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Probably a hunch to check the his IP,came up the same on both accounts.
     

Share This Page