1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freesync monitor choice help

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by bernek, Oct 9, 2018.

1. bernek

bernek Maha Guru

GPU:
    RX580 / 8GB
    Hello !

I never bothered with Freesync in the past and I wasn't interested in these features but recently I started playing a few 3d shooters (just for fun) and I've noticed quite a lot of tearing even if my FPS is above the refresh rate of my curent monitor. (75 Hz).

I would like to get a cheap Freesync monitor 40-75Hz refresh rate that can be tweaked to 30-80Hz ...

My simple question is what happens if game framerate goes above 75 or 80 fps lets say 100 fps will I see tearing ? or Freesync will automatically cap it at the maximum refresh rate of the Freesync monitor ?

Thank you !

Bernek

2. Fox2232

Fox2232 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    -NDA +AW@240Hz
    Cap your fps. Usual target fps is maximum freesync refresh - 2. And then you do not need to see v-sync behavior or tearing.
    But today even 144Hz Freesync screens are quite cheap...
    HP 25x
    Acer KG241Pbmidpx
    AOC G2460PF
    Viewsonic XG2401

While I would advise you to always cap fps somewhere where your system produces frames at steady rate (stable frametimes), you can use cap at above your HW capabilities as long as you have monitor with high enough maximum FS range.

As example:
    100Hz limit means that screen can display frame every 10ms.

You can have 95fps average, but some of frames may have frametime below that 10ms. In that case you run into situation where that particular frame was already above FS range and was V-Synced. (waited for start of refresh window)

It is always better to have space (in terms of minimum time between screen refreshes), because then you are sure that frames can be displayed moment rendering is done.

Maddness and z8373767 like this.
  3. z8373767

z8373767 Member Guru

GPU:
    Fury Nitro 1070/600