Freesync is BROKEN

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Synoxia, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,371
    Likes Received:
    587
    GPU:
    Redacted by NDA
    Its lowering in height?
    Cool feature!
     
  2. Maddness

    Maddness Master Guru

    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    216
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW
    Sorry, i don't quite get what you're saying.
     
  3. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,371
    Likes Received:
    587
    GPU:
    Redacted by NDA
    Descent/descend is to lower, Decent is pretty good.
    :)
     
    Maddness likes this.
  4. Maddness

    Maddness Master Guru

    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    216
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW
    Thanks man.
     
    Mufflore likes this.

  5. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    Nope i don't. You own my same monitor and your freesync behaviour is perfect! Did you install the drivers? Are you on windows 10? Installing xg2401 drivers on windows 10 is tricky and it recognizes XG2401 as HDMI, not DP. On windows 7 driver install works fine.

    Also, can you retest this? Include GPU, windows and driver version please.
     
  6. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Master Guru

    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    161
    GPU:
    GB RX 5700 XT OC
    Windows 10 1809
    Driver installed but as you said it shows as HDMI
    RX 580 19.6.2

    I retested it at 30FPS and works the same as in my previous video.
     
    Synoxia likes this.
  7. Caesar

    Caesar Master Guru

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    288
    GPU:
    GTX 1070Ti Titanium
    AMD is working on some epoxy-like glue :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
    sykozis likes this.
  8. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    Thank you.
    Uhm, i should test 1809 but i am lazy for it... When you upgrade to 1903 test again and let me know. What is your CPU? I am pretty convinced something is wrong with vega/my specific unit.
     
  9. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    @MaCk0y Which cpu are you using? Are you using the included xg2401 displayport cable?
     
  10. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Master Guru

    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    161
    GPU:
    GB RX 5700 XT OC
    4690K. About the cable I am not sure. I think had changed it because I needed a longer one.
     

  11. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    K, can you use RTSS to cap the framerate in a game and show me your OSD?
     
  12. Kamil950

    Kamil950 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 7850 1GB
    Did you try Radeon Chill with MinFPS == MaxFPS (maybe for example at least 2, 3 or 4 FPS less than Hz of monitor)??

    Chill is recommended to use with FreeSync by creator of Chill maybe.

    Chill can sometimes reduce input lag maybe.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/aikbf2/freesync_vs_gsync_compatible_nvidia_cards_have/eeqphae/

    I found it here - https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/aiup4h/battlenonsense_claims_radeon_chill_causes_the/eerb61q/

    Link to original comment on YouTube can be find here and link to other video about Chill and lower input lag - https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/aiup4h/battlenonsense_claims_radeon_chill_causes_the/eereok4/
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2019
  13. Pyrage

    Pyrage Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    580 CF@ 1470
    Well, I'm using a RX 580 with a AOC g2460pf monitor, and sometimes I can see some minor tearing at random parts of the screen (usually the lower part). This is very game dependent though. With some games, Freesync will work flawlessly no matter which setting I use. Some require tinkering with vsync/fps cap, and some of them will sadly just not work properly. This probably happens because of issues that freesync cant fix such as game engine or CPU-heavy games.
     
  14. Richard Nutman

    Richard Nutman Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700 XT
    I can't get the pendulum or windmill demo to look smooth at all. But Doom and Rage2 runs smooth as butter.. DX vs Vulkan issue ?
    RX580 + Gigabyte Aorus monitor, 19.6.2 drivers.
     
  15. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    I've contacted both AMD and Viewsonic support. They are investigating on it.

    Right side is AMD monitor, this issue is present.
     

  16. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,988
    Likes Received:
    500
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    So, RTSS > FRTC / Chill
     
    Fox2232 likes this.
  17. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,874
    Likes Received:
    1,543
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    More like Frtc > rtss
     
    Synoxia likes this.
  18. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,988
    Likes Received:
    500
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    I mention that based on the video that input lag is greater with FRTC vs RTSS.
     
  19. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,109
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    Yes. And it makes sense. RTSS will prevent pre-rendering. FRTC still allows it. Basically, with RTSS you get what would be a flip queue size of 0, while with FRTC it's still at least 1.

    In general, FRTC does not add lag, but it also doesn't reduce lag. It's completely neutral. RTSS reduces lag by at least 1 frame. A built-in limiter can reduce lag even more than RTSS.
     
  20. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,988
    Likes Received:
    500
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    According to the vid linked above, FRTC adds significant lag compared to RTSS.
     

Share This Page