Forceware 180.48 WHQL ftw ;-)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Mistajista, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
  2. WaroDaBeast

    WaroDaBeast Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte HD7950
    Never thought it was gonna happen, but I'm actually very pleased with these drivers. All of the games I have tested so far (Need For Speed: Prostreet, F.E.A.R., UT2004 — ABOUT FRIGGIN' TIME —, Virtua Tennis 3, PES 2008, Age of Empires III) are stutter-free, and I get way less video corruption when searching.


    EDIT: Plus Quake IV.
     
  3. dickparker

    dickparker Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA GeForce 6800 Ultra 256mb
    Cannot use multi-monitors with 180.48

    I have been unable to use multi-monitors with 180.48 on 8800 Ultra cards. In fact, even though guru3d advertises it in their info on the driver, I cannot find a similar claim in the release notes. If I have missed it there, please point me to it. Any other help appreciated, too.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2008
  4. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    all the games you mentioned play completely stutter-free for me with this driver. except NFS-ProStreet, which just shows how bad optimized the game is. still, it runs better with this driver than with previous ones.
     

  5. maleficarus™

    maleficarus™ Banned

    Messages:
    3,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX460 800/1600/4000
    Truth is anything over 60 FPS you're not going to really notice--the human eye can't see more then that anyways. That is why 60 FPS has always been the golden egg for frame rate for PC gaming...You can for sure notice 30 to 60 though. The golden rule is 30 is the minimum frame rate with 60 being prefered.
     
  6. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    354
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    Please don't start the "what the eye can see" thing here.

    Not everyone can only see 60hz. Many including myself can see the difference between 85hz and 100hz especially in older games where the fps is always maxed out. Try a fast game like Half life death match at 60hz then try 100hz. I gaurantee you will see the difference.
     
  7. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    here we go again...
     
  8. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    OMG not this again...

    FPS and Refresh Rate are not the same thing.....
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2008
  9. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    354
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    You already know what I mean...

    I'm not talking 30fps at 60hz here, I'm talking in-sync, no slow-down e.g 100fps@100hz or 60fps@60hz.
     
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah I hear what you're saying, but for all intents and purposes that's only relevant to an LCD monitor with vsync enabled.. Vsync is used more effectively on an LCD for that reason to prevent screen tearing.

    In the case of a CRT it would be 85fps or more... - who wants to game at 60Hz on a CRT?

    I can feel myself being sucked into this discussion though I try and fight it..lol
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2008

  11. WaroDaBeast

    WaroDaBeast Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte HD7950
    Er, yeah, I get that in the cut-scenes, but it doesn't really matter. But yeah, shame on them, since it's gone even in PES 2008.
     
  12. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    354
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    I didn't mean v-sync (I never use it). I mean as in fps and hz at same frequency with no slow-down to emphasize the difference when comparing e.g 60 vs 100. Which is also why I suggested Half life as nearly everyone should be able to run this game at 100fps@100hz (providing monitor supports it). Config tweaks are needed to run at 100fps with my own cfg set to 101fps just to make sure I get full 100fps. Yes, to me it's that important!

    I'm obviously a crt gamer. I'm using 22" sony atm, with a 17" back-up.

    As far as I'm concerned a high quality crt is still the secret weapon of hardcore gamers.

    I've nearly always gamed at 100fps/100hz so for me I can definately see the difference. I'm sure long time veteran first person shooter gamers will agree (Getting 100fps in games like quake 3 was obsessive for some, me included).

    Unfortunately, with the latest games I've had to lower my standards as my hardware just can't run stuff like Crysis, Far Cry 2, Fall Out 3, Stalker etc at 100fps.
     
  13. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah I still prefer a crt also. Can't run 100Hz at my res though (1600x1200)....
     
  14. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    354
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    yeah, stuck at 85hz here at 1600x1200 :/ 1280x1024@100hz is my usual online gaming res (hl:dm, cs:s).

    stuff like COD4 and FO3 run nicely at 2048x1536@60hz.
     
  15. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    I'm also still playing on CRT. but it won't be for long. I'm gonna change to a 22" LCD since my old IBM P260 is fading out.
     

  16. DaddyD302

    DaddyD302 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Aorus Master 3080ti
    The last 2 WHQL sucks. I just don't understand why it refuses to get off 2d mode, it's constantly in it. Sometimes when it feels like it, it'll turn over to 3d mode, other times it's stuck in 2d mode and clock. Is there any way to force the clocks to stay in 3d mode or 3d mode speed?
     
  17. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,084
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    My GTX 280's in SLI and single card do the same thing. For example, I was playing Fallout 3 and it went to desktop, back into game and I went from Solid 60 FPS Vsync to 12 FPS stuck in 2d clocks. The only way I can fix it, is a reboot. I'm thinking Rivatuner may be able to force 3d clocks always, but I'm not 100% positive and have not tried it myself.

    It does this on any 180 driver I've tried including this WHQL set. It's sad really because these drivers perform/look great otherwise. If anybody has some insight on this please do share and thx.
     
  18. keineangst

    keineangst New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xBFG GTS 512 (g92)
    Fallout 3 is kaput

    dude nothing is working with Fallout 3, it seems we got ripped. Let's see if Bethesda releases another patch. Drivers are fine...
     
  19. Broseybrose

    Broseybrose Master Guru

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1060 6GB SC
    I installed 180.48 for Vista32 three days ago and have been gaming with Fallout 3 and Dead Space and I'm SO satisfied with the results ;-) that I'm keeping them over the 178.15s that I've been hanging on to for months. Grew quite attached to that set. But then again, its only been three days, I may have to go back if a problem pops up.

    I'm not much of a benchmarker, but they don't crash, look great and are fast, and are the latest revision. If I decide to install a driver, as long as I have no problem it after installation, then that's my new driver. :)
     
  20. The Monkey Frog

    The Monkey Frog Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 9600GT 512MB
    people have been complaining about these drivers being no good with 9600GT.....been perfect for me
     

Share This Page